We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish hotel in the centre”
Review of LOUIS Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
LOUIS Hotel
Ranked #12 of 389 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2012

I stayed in this hotel alone, for two nights before going skiing with friends. It is very central. I had a room on the top floor facing the courtyard. You can see the church towers from the window. The room was well appointed and though not large, very comfortable. The bed and pillows were excellent. The bathroom was large and very well equipped. I can't fault the room. The public areas are good though rather small. The bar is great and the cocktails interesting. I liked the fire to sit by while having a drink. The breakfast was very good with some interesting dishes as well as the usual. Freshly cooked eggs were offered. My only criticism was that on arrival there was none to help with my bags. I'd still recommend it though.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank m0ntesansavin0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doina K, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at LOUIS Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Dear m0ntesansavin0,

thank you very much for your comment.
We are happy to hear you tried some of our special cocktail creations at the EMIKO bar, which are very recommendable.
We would be happy to welcome you soon again at the LOUIS HOTEL.

Kind regards,
Doina Kocherhans
Communication Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (762)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

411 - 417 of 762 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2012

A lovely hotel right in the heart of Munich!
Easily accessible by the S-Bahn from the airport and the U-Bahn which takes you all around the city. Shopping street is nearby. We stayed in the Courtyard Deluxe Room. We had a nice view of the clock tower. The room was very spacious and the beds were comfortable. My only gripe was the pillows. I had an extra bed for my toddler and it was also very comfortable. He had a good night's sleep on all 5 nights while we were there. Service was prompt.
Breakfast was not provided in the room rates and the buffet breakfast was expensive. Only kids under 6 eat for free. But you can try it out because the food is good. otherwise, there are bakeries around the corner and the market's just across the road. extremely convenient.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay at this boutique hotel and I will no doubt stay here another time if I were to visit Munich again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank msbeatrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doina K, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at LOUIS Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Dear msbeatrice,

Thank you very much for your nice comment. We are happy you felt comfortable at our house and hope to welcome you soon again at the LOUIS HOTEL.

Kind regards,
Doina Kocherhans
Communication Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Perfect location for exploring Munich. In the heart of old-town Munich, the Marienplatz U-Bahn/S-Bahn station is literally just around the corner with connections to anywhere in the greater Munich area. What really sets the Louis apart from other hotels in the area is its "design hotel" ambition. Our markt-view room was unique & stylish, yet comfortable, with recessed closet space and plenty of great looking/smelling natural wood furnishings. The staff were friendly, approachable, and very accommodating! A highly recommended experience.

A word for those arriving by auto: valet parking is an option--one might find it easier to leave the car at the Rindermarkt entrance while unloading/loading baggage than at the front entrance on Viktualienmarkt, as the Viktualienmarkt is technically a pedestrian zone that is patrolled rather vigilantly by the Polizei.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrillVogel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doina K, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at LOUIS Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2012

Dear GrillVogel,

Thank you for your feedback.
We are happy you liked our interior design. All the furniture was specially made for us.

We would be happy to see you soon again at the LOUIS HOTEL.

Kind regards,
Doina Kocherhans
Communication Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

I come to Munich at least 2-3 times a year for work and usually stay at the Cortina (Louis's sister hotel). My co-worker let me in on the secret that the Louis is nicer than the Cortina, bigger, and has an equally lovely staff. Also the decor is comfortablly modern without being stark. The plank floors make it.
Prices are mid and to be expected for a spot just steps to Marionplatz and a mere stumble from the beer garden.
They have a nice breakfast, a decent bar, and if you come home at 3am after too many Jager shots they will in fact open the locked doors with a smile and chuckle.

Room Tip: Seem to be all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Soggy_Portlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doina K, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at LOUIS Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2012

Dear Soggy_Portlander,

thank you for this great comment.
We are happy you felt this comfortable at our house and hope to welcome you back soon again at the LOUIS HOTEL.

Kind regards,
Doina Kocherhans
Communication Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

I stayed at the Louis Hotel a number of times this past summer. The staff is incredible: friendly, helpfu. The Louis Hotel has some of the best service I have seen in a long time---and what is refreshing it is from a young staff that seems really excited about being in the hotel business. The hotel breakfasts are sublime. I could have eaten them morning, noon, and night. The restaurant windows overlook the Munich's food market, so every morning you can see people setting up their food stalls which is charming.

The rooms are nice with a great storage/wardrobe system which is incredibly efficient in its use of space while providing a lot of closet space. There is a little gym that overlooks local rooftops and you can head out into Munich's streets for a nice job.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lenorenewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doina K, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at LOUIS Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2012

Dear lenorenewyork,

thank you for this nice comment. It is a pleasure to hear you liked and esteemed our staff.
We hope to see you again in Munich at the LOUIS HOTEL soon.

Kind regards,
Doina Kocherhans
Communication Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Stayed for a quick overnighter. Place is in a great, great location in the centre of the city close by to markets and shops – ideal location for a weekender in Munich. Not sure where you would park if you had a car, but that was not a problem for me and taxis. Hotel is very stylish and contemporary. Young, trendy looking staff were very friendly and efficient. Lobby area is small with a bar and seating area overlooked by two modern fireplaces. Cosy. Restaurant alongside is Japanese/Euro contemporary. Didn’t have dinner there but the menu looked very interesting. Breakfast was good, but nothing special. Room was large and modern, with bath/shower, separate WC. Room also had a safe and free wifi for guests. High end toiletries provided (Ren) which added to the whole sophisticated feel of the place. All in all a very nice experience and yes, spotlessly clean. Hotel is part of the Design Hotels Group which specialises in upmarket boutique style places. Whilst not quite boutique, the Louis is small enough to feel like one coupled with some character. Will come back for a long weekend and stay here. What more can I say.

Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
Thank Malim27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doina K, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at LOUIS Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2012

Dear Malim27,

thank you for your comment.
We are very happy to hear you had such a good time at the LOUIS HOTEL and would be very happy to see you again at our house soon.

Kind regards,
Doina Kocherhans
Communication Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

This hotel is in a great location, next to the Marienplatz and Viktualienmarkt. We requested a room that overlooked the Viktualienmarkt upon booking, and that is what we got. However, you cannot hear much noise from the street and market - when the windows are closed, it is very quiet. The room was very clean and nicely furnished.

Breakfast is good, but expensive. It is a buffet of Japanese-style bites, fruits, pastries, sausages and cheese, and then you can order eggs prepared as you like.

My only complaint is that it is nearly impossible to hear someone knocking on the door, and our maid walked in on us several times before realizing the room was not vacant. Also, laundry services were very expensive.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the Viktualienmarkt
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DixieLee2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doina K, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at LOUIS Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2012

Dear LBranden,

thank you for your feedback.

It’s true both, our doors as well as our windows are extremely good isolated. The doors are very heavy and thick due to their high fire protection. The windows are on a very high noise protection level, that’s why the rooms to the market are very quiet too.

We would be happy to welcome you again at the LOUIS HOTEL soon.

Kind regards,
Doina Kocherhans
Communication Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.2 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#14 of 389 in Munich
2,061 reviews
0.2 mi away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#11 of 389 in Munich
857 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 389 in Munich
1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen
0.3 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#9 of 389 in Munich
1,080 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LOUIS Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LOUIS Hotel

Address: Viktualienmarkt 6, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 389 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: £191 - £413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — LOUIS Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Many great ideas arise from the heart. This is also true for the LOUIS Hotel, located in the heart of Munich, right on the Viktualienmarkt. The elegant Kull & Weinzierl boutique hotel opened its doors in September 2009 – panoramic view included. With one of the most prominent Munich sights right on its doorstep and the others in walking distance, the LOUIS Hotel is the perfect starting point to discover Munich’s opera, theatres, the Maximilianstrasse, the Fuenf Hoefe shopping arcades and the many restaurants. In 72 rooms globetrotters feel at home. Carefully selected details and high quality materials create the perfect place to relax. The handcrafted interior is best described as elegant, high class, modern and relaxed – with great attention to detail. Handmade furnishings from nut and oak wood, natural stone and elegant tiling, that are reminiscent of the Parisian Metro, make your stay an unforgettable experience. There are two additional quite and bright meeting rooms with daylight and a Japanese restaurant & bar, EMIKO. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your LOUIS Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing