We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location and Service”
Review of LOUIS Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
LOUIS Hotel
Ranked #13 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2013

The location between the Victualingmarkt and Marienplatz and 1 block to the subway was really perfect. It is also walking distance to a lot of great restaurants. The hotel is new, nicely decorated and although the rooms are not huge, the space is maximized and you have everything you need. We stayed there 6 nights and I would not hesitate to stay there again. I thought the desk staff was extremely helpful. They all spoke excellent English and went out of their way to help us. You need to put a flag out to get your room serviced in a timely fashion. Otherwise it could be late afternoon before they come.

We only ate at the Japanese restaurant for breakfast. The service was very very slow. The wait staff was very nice but you shouldn't be in a hurry. It was also expensive. The buffet was OK. It had some unusual Asian and vegan options. You can order eggs but you need to be very specific in what you ask for. I had one good omelet and two days later I got basically hard fried eggs in the shape of an omelet with no cheese in sight. Don't even try the restaurant if they are very busy. They served us in the lobby and it was 30 minutes before we got coffee. They totally forgot about us. Cheaper options are a cafe in the market which has several nice continental breakfast options with muesli and great croissants. There is also a Starbucks on the corner and a bakery in the market. The cafe was half the price of the breakfast in the hotel.

Overall, the hotel is a great find for its location, amenities, service and value. Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Higher floors especially on weekends since the restaurant in the courtyard is fairly busy and noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IhrManagementTeam, Manager at LOUIS Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear guest (Kimberton),

we would like to take the opportunity to thank you for your visit and your positive feedback. Regarding the slow breakfast service we would like to apologize for this experience, however are glad to inform you, that we reviewed this matter with the relevant team in order to avoid such situation in the future.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Jens Gmiat
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (753)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 753 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

As mentioned in many previous reviews the location could not be better situated in Munich. We had a wonderful view overlooking the market and a very large room tastefully decorated and uncommonly large by European standards. The entire Hotel was very upbeat and stylish and reflected in the design of the furnishings of the room which yet again were extremely comfortable and accommodating for travel. I can not begin to express more thanks to the staff who went out of their way to help us with any questions or problems we had during our stay. Even to helping us understand our delivered rental car on our day of departure as the delivery driver spoke no English. Unbelievable help from a very friendly and willing staff. Our stay could not have been more ideal!

Room Tip: Definitely choose a higher floor overlooking the Viktualienmarket.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C Philip V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IhrManagementTeam, Manager at LOUIS Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear guest (C Philip),

Thank you very much for staying with us and your fantastic feedback regarding the product and our service. Your feedback is very much appreciated and a motivation for the entire team.

We are looking forward to your next visit and wish you meanwhile all the best.

Warm regards
Jens Gmiat
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

As others have noted, the location across from the Viktualienmarkt in the center of old Munich is near-perfect. A short walk from the Marienplatz and many other attractions, it's in an area filled with great shops and restaurants.

The hotel was clearly designed by architects with a high level of aesthetic sensibility. Design and finishes are exceptionally well thought out--it's not your typical modern hotel, but one with a unique style of its own.

The staff were always helpful and the high level of service matches high level of design. And don't miss the Japanese restaurant--dinner there was a highlight of the stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IhrManagementTeam, Manager at LOUIS Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear guest (Robert H),

on behalf of the entire team I would like to thank you for your visit and your nice feedback. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were pleased with our services

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Jens Gmiat
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed for two nights right after Oktoberfest and couldn't have more pleased with our selection. It is wonderfully situated overlooking the Viktualienmarket, a one minute walk to Marienplatz yet quiet and off the beaten track. The hotel is very stylish with spacious rooms very tastefully decorated. A very large bath with full shower/tub added to the roomy feel. We had a great view of the market and we were surprised that the room was so quiet. We enjoyed a great meal in the Japanese restaurant on site and judging from the number of patrons on a weeknight it must be one the THE places to dine in Munich. We had a great stay!

Room Tip: Don't be afraid of a room overlooking the market - we enjoyed the view and did not have issues w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maggie44113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The location of the hotel is absolutely great! It is close to the metro station, to the central Marienplatz square, to the plenty of bars and restaurants and shopping areas.
Inside of the hotel you will be attended by the friendly personnel, cosy atmosphere, easy and stylish design.
The rooms (at least my) are extremely large and with a very nice view to the market place.
The breakfast is extremely nice and rich - what is usually expected from German Hotels.
The only few disadvantages are:
- the quality of speeling could be better. The bed was not comfortable enough,
- there are no small items for personal care such as soap, creams etc. so you have to use the big bottles fixed at the wall.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RussianConnection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed with the family (boys 14, 12) for a Saturday night in October. As many reviewers have pointed out, the location is great (though finding the hotel on a busy Saturday took some extra time). We particularly enjoyed the closeness of the Marienplatz Subway. Rooms are modern, with possibly the best sound proofing between the bathroom and the room itself which I have experienced anywhere. You can just hear the chimes of the near-by church, but I this did not disturb me during the night even if I am light sleeper.

I would really have liked to give 5 stars for the service, but they just miss the mark. Service attitude was excellent throughout the staff. Our last-minute requests concerning the rooms were attended. The maitre also arranged a table for us for dinner in the full restaurant even if we had failed to make a reservation. I was allowed to use the shower in the "wellness center" after check.out etc.

However, in the service delivery there were a few small shortcomings. Nothing dramatic, but a five star has to feel five star each moment. The rooms were not ready when we came (we were early), and they promised to take the luggage up once they were. However, one bag (with valueables) was missing. They found it pretty quickly, but this shouldn't have happened. The waiter we had for dinner had great attitude, but we were not able to understand all he said, and not being totally proficient in Japanese cuisine either, we ended up with partially the wrong order.

Room Tip: Courtyard side is quiet, at least
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juice1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

The hotel is gorgeous. Rooms are contemporary and beautiful. But the location makes this. Smack in the middle of everything and train station is two minutes away and links to pretty much everywhere. You can't go wrong this with hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamesey351985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.2 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#14 of 385 in Munich
2,033 reviews
0.2 mi away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#12 of 385 in Munich
845 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#10 of 385 in Munich
1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
0.8 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 385 in Munich
1,570 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LOUIS Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LOUIS Hotel

Address: Viktualienmarkt 6, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: £213 - £405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — LOUIS Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Many great ideas arise from the heart. This is also true for the LOUIS Hotel, located in the heart of Munich, right on the Viktualienmarkt. The elegant Kull & Weinzierl boutique hotel opened its doors in September 2009 – panoramic view included. With one of the most prominent Munich sights right on its doorstep and the others in walking distance, the LOUIS Hotel is the perfect starting point to discover Munich’s opera, theatres, the Maximilianstrasse, the Fuenf Hoefe shopping arcades and the many restaurants. In 72 rooms globetrotters feel at home. Carefully selected details and high quality materials create the perfect place to relax. The handcrafted interior is best described as elegant, high class, modern and relaxed – with great attention to detail. Handmade furnishings from nut and oak wood, natural stone and elegant tiling, that are reminiscent of the Parisian Metro, make your stay an unforgettable experience. There are two additional quite and bright meeting rooms with daylight and a Japanese restaurant & bar, EMIKO. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your LOUIS Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing