We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Strategic location, good for short stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of LOUIS Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
LOUIS Hotel
Ranked #16 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Strategic location, good for short stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel is situated in the heart of the old center of Munich. Surrounded by old churches and attractions, also right across from the Viktualienmarkt. The location enabled us to see all the must-sees within our short period of time.

Despite being in the middle of all the hustle and bustle, the rooms were very sound proof. We stayed in the junior suite which was very spacious - something that I didn't find in other hotels in Munich.

No parking facilities in the hotel itself but the concierge can get you a $16 flat rate for the parking lots right across the road.

Coming from a cosmopolitan city in Asia I can't say I was a fan of their restaurant's take on modern Japanese cuisine. For that price I would have enjoyed a good hearty German meal somewhere else in the vicinity!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren_l0ves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    450
    198
    46
    9
    6
See reviews for
114
288
46
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

This hotel is impeccably located on the Viktualienmarkt in the centre of old Munich. All attractions in the centre of the city are within easy walking distance. At Christmas Market time you are in the heart of the action. The staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms wonderfully comfortable and clean. This is a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwydion H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Perfect location, helpful staff in reception desk. Standard hotel rooms ( 200 eur with breakfast ) clean but no view and very small bathroom. Breakfast service not properly organized - for fried eggs we were waiting over 20 minutes .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aga p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

From the location, at the Viktualienmarkt - very close to Marienplatz, to the facility, we found most everything about the Louis Hotel to be fabulous. We had an excellent, large, well appointed room (it is a clean, modern design with little clutter - some may find it stark, we found it delightful) overlooking the market and loved it. The staff was very good and the amenities provided top notch. This is an excellent hotel in a wonderful location. The in house restaurant, Emiko, was quite good. We ate there on our first night in Munich, after flying over, and found it to be quite enjoyable (a little pricey, but not unexpected). The sushi and other offerings were fresh and well presented. The hotel is very easy to get to and within an easy walk of just about everything on our agenda for Munich (and otherwise very close to the U-Bahn station). Our only complaints, the bed was a bit hard and the use of two comforters (one for each half of the bed) was odd and a little hard to get used to - but we did. We would certainly stay at this fine property again.

Room Tip: If you can get a room overlooking the Viktualienmarkt, by all means, do. The view is great and it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

I can not say enough about the Louis Hotel. We stayed for 5 nights in June, my wife and I and 2 children (ages 5, 3). Though clearly not a hotel catering to children, the Louis Hotel and staff really made us feel at home.

The hotel location could not be more central to the main square and the metro. There also is a convenient exit that leads right out to the Viktualienmarkt. The hotel staff was great. We arrived early, around 8:30am and we expected to not check in until the afternoon. However, the staff told us to come back in 30 minutes and our room would be ready - exactly what we needed after 19 hours of flying! Plus, they upgraded us to a larger room!

The room itself was gorgeous and very large. The decor is modern and unique. I agree with other...the pictures online don't do it justice. I still miss the heated bathroom floors.

The breakfast may be a little pricey but had one of the best and most creative breakfast buffet I have ever seen. Worth it.

Every member of my family agrees that the thing we miss most about Munich is the Louis Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKJKJKEK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

For starters, the location is fantastic. Walk out of the hotel and you are at the Viktualienmarkt, and just steps away from Marienplatz. The staff was welcoming and helpful. I needed assistance purchasing something and one of the women walked across the street to help me. The rooms were perfect. And large, with a sleeping area and a "living room" separated by a desk. The bathroom was beautiful. Clean, elegant, and again, very good sized (especially for Europe). It had a nice large tub that I relaxed in after walking around the city for a day. I absolutely loved the design. A perfect clean, modern, elegant design with warm tones and finishes that made it very comfortable. I took some photos, but they really don't do it justice. I really couldn't have been happier with my stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hawwod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.2 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#15 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,880 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#14 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#12 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
0.8 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LOUIS Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LOUIS Hotel

Property: LOUIS Hotel
Address: Viktualienmarkt 6, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — LOUIS Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Many great ideas arise from the heart. This is also true for the LOUIS Hotel, located in the heart of Munich, right on the Viktualienmarkt. The elegant Kull & Weinzierl boutique hotel opened its doors in September 2009 – panoramic view included. With one of the most prominent Munich sights right on its doorstep and the others in walking distance, the LOUIS Hotel is the perfect starting point to discover Munich’s opera, theatres, the Maximilianstrasse, the Fuenf Hoefe shopping arcades and the many restaurants. In 72 rooms globetrotters feel at home. Carefully selected details and high quality materials create the perfect place to relax. The handcrafted interior is best described as elegant, high class, modern and relaxed – with great attention to detail. Handmade furnishings from nut and oak wood, natural stone and elegant tiling, that are reminiscent of the Parisian Metro, make your stay an unforgettable experience. There are two additional quite and bright meeting rooms with daylight and a Japanese restaurant & bar, EMIKO. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your LOUIS Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing