We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place worth visiting !”
Review of LOUIS Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
LOUIS Hotel
Ranked #12 of 390 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2010

Extremely helpful personnel trying to cope with almost any guest-wish while the management is obviously not only trying to keep a minimalist design but also a very minimal staff , which inevitably leads to delays in procedures that are being dealt with much quicker in other 5 star establishments.

Nevertheless the design, the unbeatable location, the nice rooms ( go for the market view ones ) as well as the friendly and helpful staff make the Louis a place worth visiting while being in Munich.

If you are not very much fond of a strict Asiatic fusion cuisine then go out for dinner since the menu ( also room service ) is ) is completely Far East focused and I would therefore suggest you to ask the concierge to book for you a table at the very trendy “Brenner Grill” which is within an easy 5 minutes walk away from the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ansofitsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louishotel, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at LOUIS Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2011

Dear ansofitosi,

thank you for your comment.

We always try to provide an optimally staffed house, we are very sorry that you met us at a situation where there seemed to be a shortage, it happens very rarely.

Among the numerous excellent restaurants round the Louis Hotel –of course bedsides of our own Japanese restaurant „EMIKO“ - you made a good choice by going to eat at the „Brenner Operngrill“! They serve one of the best steaks and fillets in town.

We would be happy to see you soon again at the Louis Hotel and the restaurant „EMIKO“.

Kind regards,
Doina Kocherhans
Communication Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (774)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

475 - 481 of 774 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2010

The hotel lies in the very city centre, overlooks Viktualienmarkt, a lovely square that hosts an upscale fruits and vegetables market. It is furnished modernly and has a very ppular japanese restaurant that brings lots of people to the hotel creating always a lively atmosphere in the lobby. Rooms are minimally and tastefully furnished, you can even recharge and play your I-Pod there! Not to mention free wireless internet connection. Service is impeccable. After staying there for over 2 weeks for work, I felt like home. There is also a gym and a sauna on the top floor and a terrace overlooking the skyline of the city centre.
In sum: location cant be beaten, you can walk absolutely anywhere and public transportation-underground- is 2 mins walk away. Service is great and rooms are lovely and quiet (especially if you choose those overlooking the courtyard)
Expensive, but absolutely worth it.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silvergirl_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louishotel, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at LOUIS Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2011

Dear silvergirl_it,

that sounds wonderful! We are very happy to hear that you felt like home during your two week stay. That’s exactly what we wish to achieve.

It would be lovely to see you soon again,
best wishes,
Doina Kocherhans
Communication Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2010

We booked the hotel for three nights and enjoyed a low rate which, when taking the excellent breakfast (with plenty of vegetarian options, a mix of modern and tradtional foods) into account, made our stay very good value. The young staff were unfailingly friendly, and the design, with lots of natural wood and stone, very pleasing. Visitors wishing for a plush sofa they can sink into may disappointed by the bedroom furniture, but if lounging in a gemutlich room is not your top priority, and you enjoy clean modern lines with restful, natural colours (and no traddie fabrics), you will probably like the Louis.

PS. A general question: why do all Munich's large hotels charge large sums for Internet access?

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prawn-need
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louishotel, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at LOUIS Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2011

Dear prawn-need,

we are glad you liked the Louis Hotel and it’s interieur and selected furniture on which we set high value.
Regarding your question about the costs for internet access: We don’t charge anything for it anymore, it is absolutely free of charge.

We hope to see you soon again at the Louis Hotel,
best wishes,
Doina Kocherhans
Communication Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2009

Excellent three night stay at this hotel. Newly opened this year so wonderfully clean and fresh. Absolutely superb location. We went for the xmas markets so with Marienplatz so close it was a great choice for shopping and enjoying a winter city break in Munich, walk anywhere. Staff were very efficeint and pleasant. We had a "market deluxe" room which overlooked the market. At 42m2 this was a great size with understated, modern design yet very warm decor and furniture, wonderful wooden floors, heating/aircon. Great view out over the Viktualienmarket. Check out the Design Hotels website, got a great deal.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DubaiNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louishotel, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at LOUIS Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2011

Dear DubaiNZ,

thank you very much!

The wood of the floor in our rooms is made of pure oak, which is oiled and not lacquered. We use a special, bergamot flavoured oil for this. And maybe you senced it as well: The floor always feels warm and is extremely comfortable when you walk barefoot on it!

Kind regards,
Doina Kocherhans
Communication Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2009

No doubt the location of the hotel is perfect! Easy public access: airport train line just a few minutes walking, restaurants, shops, bars all walking distance.
Hotel itself is very new, you still can smell the paint. Check in very quick. Friendly and young hotel staff. The room is very cosy, high quality material were used in the room, perfect finished! The only few small things I did not like at the hotel was very bright lighting in the corridors ( so bright that eyes hurt a few seconds before they get used to the such a bright ligt, pity they did not install dimmer for lighting in the corridors) and cosmetic products are the ones you usually will find in the chain hotels, they definately could find better cosmetic products to suit such a nice hotel! But it is definately great hotel and I will try to stay here whenever I visit Munich.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arturas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louishotel, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at LOUIS Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2011

“Very cosy...”

Dear Arturas,

thank you for your feedback.

We appreciate that you noticed the high quality of our interiour, which was specially manufactured only for us.
Regarding the amenities in the bathroom: They were replaced meanwhile by high-class products from REN Skincare, which uses hi-tech bio actives and is free from skin-unfriendly ingredients.

We hope to see you soon again in Munich at the Louis Hotel!

Best wishes,
Doina Kocherhans
Communication Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2009

The hotel is located right in front of Viktualienmarkt and only steps away from Marienplatz - the perfect location for visiting Munich.
My Courtyard Deluxe room was very quiet - in fact I didn't hear any noise from either outside or inside the hotel during my entire stay. The furniture was handcrafted and very trendy, yet cozy. Nice bathroom too with a separate toilet.
Check-in and -out was very efficient - the front desk staff was extremely friendly.
I didn't try breakfast or the restaurant so I can't comment on these.
A place I can only highly recommend and to which I would return anytime, whether for business or leisure!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goldfesch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doina K, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at LOUIS Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2011

Dear Goldfesh,

thank you for your feedback.
We would be very happy to welcome you again soon at the Louis Hotel.

Best wishes,
Doina Kocherhans
Communication Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2009

Location, location and location. This new and rather small (72 rooms) design hotel is right in the middle of Munich, directely at the Viktualienmarkt. There could be no better location for a Munich hotel. You will be able to walk to almost all sites in the Munich city center. Even the Marienplatz is only a minute stroll away. One side of the the hotel faces directly towards the Viktualienmarkt, the other side is facing to a small and quiet courtyard connecting the Viktualienmarkt with the Rindermarkt. If you are prone to noise, stay backwards. If you prefer a room with a view, go for the front but expect to pay a higher rate. We took advantage of the opening special with a courtyard superior room at 195 Euros. One day before Oktoberfest this was a real bargain! My absolute favourite Munich hotel, the Mandarion Oriental was charging more than twice as much, so we decided tor try the just recently opend Hotel Louis. The Hotel Louis claims itself to be a 5 star hotel. The 5 stars are justifeied, but teh hotel plays not particular in the ethe sam league as The Mandarin or The Charles, but still it is a very nice hotel. Our welcome at the front desk was friendly and efficient. We were escorted to our room while they took care of our luggage. The lobby is quiet small but nice and cosy. Erything is dominated by handcrafted furnishings from nut and oak wood, natural stone. Our bathroom was a little bit on the smallish side, but had a large window to the bed-room. In the room they offered an I-pod docking station, LCD TV as well as a DVD Player. Do not expect Bavarian "Gemuetlichkeit", but be prepared to find a unique and stylish boutique hotel. There is enough Bavaria just outside the hotel. The breakfast in the morning was big plus. They offered a lot of local products from the market combined with a nice and friendley service and a great view of Viktualienmarkt. It took as 2 hours to complete bthe yummy breakfast. I would recommend this hotel, especially at a rate between 200 and 300 Euros. If they charge much more, I would rather prefer to stay a my all time favorite, the MOMUC.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YoshiDus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louishotel, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at LOUIS Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2011

Dear YoshiDus,

thank you for this wonderful comment about our Hotel. You described it the Louis Hotel such a lovely way, we really appreciate this.
The location of the Louis, in the middle of plenty of „Bavarianity“ indeed is remarkable. Also we are happy you enjoyed the special vegan breakfast that much!

Kind regards,
Doina Kocherhans
Communication Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.2 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#13 of 390 in Munich
2,078 reviews
0.2 mi away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#11 of 390 in Munich
867 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 390 in Munich
1,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen
0.3 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#9 of 390 in Munich
1,096 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#3 of 390 in Munich
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LOUIS Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LOUIS Hotel

Address: Viktualienmarkt 6, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 390 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: £208 - £391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — LOUIS Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Many great ideas arise from the heart. This is also true for the LOUIS Hotel, located in the heart of Munich, right on the Viktualienmarkt. The elegant Kull & Weinzierl boutique hotel opened its doors in September 2009 – panoramic view included. With one of the most prominent Munich sights right on its doorstep and the others in walking distance, the LOUIS Hotel is the perfect starting point to discover Munich’s opera, theatres, the Maximilianstrasse, the Fuenf Hoefe shopping arcades and the many restaurants. In 72 rooms globetrotters feel at home. Carefully selected details and high quality materials create the perfect place to relax. The handcrafted interior is best described as elegant, high class, modern and relaxed – with great attention to detail. Handmade furnishings from nut and oak wood, natural stone and elegant tiling, that are reminiscent of the Parisian Metro, make your stay an unforgettable experience. There are two additional quite and bright meeting rooms with daylight and a Japanese restaurant & bar, EMIKO. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your LOUIS Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing