We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious, Authentic German Grub!”
Review of Palais Keller

Palais Keller
Ranked #428 of 4,125 Restaurants in Munich
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Palais Keller was our favorite restaurant in Munich that we tried. We loved it so much that we ate here 4 times over a 5 day trip... Yes, we REALLY liked it. The wiener schnitzel was the best we had in Germany and Austria, the warm pretzels and mustard to start were delicious, and the apple streudel was divine. Service was excellent and we loved the cozy cellar atmosphere. We can't wait to return to Munich and eat at Palais Keller every day!!

Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita_Wandinger, Guest Relation at Palais Keller, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear Rachel L,
Thank you for commenting on your visit of our Palais Keller. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the variety and quality of our food as well as the cozy interior. We gladly forwarded your kind notes on our service to our Palais Keller team.
Thanking you again for your time and hoping to welcome you back to the Palais Keller very soon, we remain
with kindest regards
Anita Wandinger
Guest Relation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

We are vegetarian but wanted to have some German food, but it is difficult sometimes to find vegetarian options in Germany. Palais Keller has three Mains plus a special that were all vegetarian. We had mushroom soup, which puréed, creamy, and delicious. Then we split the special Bavarian cheese appetizer which was kind of like a sharp cheese ball that was served with rye bread. Salads came next as they were part of our main we ordered. The salad was beautiful and delicious. Then we both had their special Käse Spätzle, also very good. Ended with Kaiserschmarren, a delicious dessert that is kind of like an oven pancake cut up into bits, covered with powdered sugar, and served with applesauce. The service was friendly and the space atmospheric. The portions are huge! We had to take half of our mains plus most of the cheeseball home, but they packaged it up nicely. My only complain is that they charged 11 euro for a liter of Evian, and 6.5 for a half liter. That seemed over the top to me. A nice evening overall.

Thank Damommachef40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita_Wandinger, Guest Relation at Palais Keller, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Dear Damommachef40,

thank you for having taken the time to express your experiences in our Bavarian Palais Keller. We are glad that you enjoyed our vegetarian dishes from appetizers to desert so much and even took some food home for later. Thank you for your kind words regarding our employees, the atmosphere and the quality of the served food. It is good to read how enjoyable everything, even the decoration of food and package, was for you. However, we are sorry that the price for water seemed inappropriate for you. We understand that the price may seem high at first sight, but please be assured that the rates are overall comparable to those of other 5 star hotels, and that they conform to the common and necessary calculation.

We hope that the positive memories prevail and that we can welcome you back to the Hotel Bayerischer Hof soon.

Until then, we remain with kindest regards
Anita Wandinger
Guest Relation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2016

We attended an event with 40+ guests and I have to say that the food was excellent. That is often not the case with a large group, even at some “name” restaurants. There was a choice of five different main dishes, more than most places will do for a large group. I had Arugula salad with grilled goat cheese and a Beef Tenderloin.
The salad was great, very fresh and the fried goat cheese was warm so it had not been prepared way ahead and sat around. Delicious. The tenderloin was a great piece of beef, tender, tasty and cooked just right. It was served with with excellent roasted potatoes but unfortunately the tomato was mealy and tasteless – one bite and I was done with it, and it as very surprising to me because the standard of cooking was so high for the rest of the meal. All the folks around me were happy with their meals and I heard many positive remarks, especially regarding how well the staff handled the many guests all at once.
Overall, the service was very good. The staff really hustled and despite people shouting drink orders left and right, they hopped- to and were very efficient. The Keller has a very nice Gewölbe and feels very cosy.
I’ll certainly return for a meal there.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MunichEricJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innegrit_Volkhardt, General Manager at Palais Keller, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing such a detailed review about our Palais Keller on this platform. We welcome our guests' feedback, as it helps us to further improve our service.

The high quality of our dishes is of great importance for us and most certainly will not be affected by the number of guests in our restaurant. Our staff works very hard to provide a great experience for our guests, and reviews like yours motivate them to try even harder.

It's also great to read that you liked the design and atmosphere of our Palais Keller. The restaurant has a fascinating history: it was used as a salt deposit over several centuries. It's a natural source of cozy warmth in the winter, and it stays cool in the summer.

We would be very happy to have you as our guest again!

Yours
Innegrit Volkhardt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2016 via mobile

We went with my family on dinner time before going to the theater.

We were 12 people and we all got our meals in different moments, being over 20 minutes between the first and the last one.

Food wise the meat was dry and the fish too salty.

On top of that our waitress never asked for feeback and did not apoligise for the bad timing.

Overall a terrible expierence and not recommended!!

Thank Joaquim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2016

We were two couples eating dinner here after a long day of travel. The goulash that I ordered was uninspiring and the toughest meat I have had in recent memory. The service was extremely slow and we were constantly pressured to order more items especially dessert which we intended to skip. The others at our table would rate the food better than me, but we all agreed that the service pitiful.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 10071stevep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innegrit_Volkhardt, General Manager at Palais Keller, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2016

Dear guest,

thank you very much for taking the time to describe your recent stay with us on this homepage. Your opinion is an important tool to control our quality standards on a daily basis.
Firstly, we are pleased to read that you considered our Bavarian restaurant Palais Keller for your dinner.

Therefore, we regret that both your food and service in general could not meet your expectations. Please be assured that the experiences you describe do not at all meet our high quality level and furthermore please accept our sincere apologies for any inconveniences that occurred.

We already talked to our restaurant supervisor about the incidents in general to make sure that comparable occurrences do not happen again in the future.
Please be assured that it is one of our highest aims to offer you individual service instead of pushing you to any order.
Accordingly, we would be very happy if you could tell us more details about your visit at our Palais Keller, for example at what date and time you were our guests, which dishes you and your companions ordered and maybe even the name of our colleagues that were involved.
Thank you very much for your efforts in advance.

Dear guest, we would be very happy to welcome you again at Palais Keller and in our house in general in order to prove that we can be a better host than you had to experience.

With kindest regards
Yours

Hotel Bayerischer Hof
Gebrüder Volkhardt KG

Innegrit Volkhardt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Palais Keller also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Palais Keller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing