We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My best night out in Munich yet!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cavos Taverne - CLOSED

Cavos Taverne
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“My best night out in Munich yet!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

Wow - what an experience! We went here as a group of 8 on a Thursday evening. Booked a table for 8.30pm. The place was busy & filled with some of the prettiest boys & girls I have seen but our group had plenty of room. We shared a selection of starters & were not disappointed, bulgar wheat, tzatziki, zucchini fritters, garlic bread, houmous were among my favourites. I ordered sea-bream, rice & salad for main - the fish was out of this world!
Anyway we had a really enjoyable meal with wine & a few shots of ouzo. We didn't feel rushed at all, in fact the service was very good considering how busy it was. From about 10:45 or so music crept up a little louder and louder - really funky club music - then one by one everybody started dancing ON THE TABLES - yes this is allowed and indeed encouraged here!! Later the staff brought out boxes upon boxes paper napkins for us to toss & throw - crazy party!!! Awesome.
We paid before we left just after midnight & including tip this all still only cost 50 euros each!!!
This is on my favourites list - I can't wait to go back!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ladymacbeth_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    39
    18
    18
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zürich
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good food, fun - but, a lot of waste and just gets too much”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

It really was a unique and fun avenue - after dinner, they turn down the lights and bring out boxes upon boxes and boxes filled with white napkins. Then you just chuck them all at one another, crushing glasses, spilling drinks and climbing onto tables to dance the night away, whilst smashing more glasses.
The music was a bit dull at first, weirdly rhythmed Greek gypsy music, but then it got into the more familiar hits and everyone was having a blast.

The food was decent enough - we were there with a group of about 10 people and they were weirdly efficient with the service. Everything was brought out at the same time for everyone, all orders were perfectly executed and the food was not cold, nor overcooked, just right.

That's saying a LOT when you deal with large groups and groups of people all wanting food, whilst all at the same time, 200 other people are trying to get in,

I admit, it was fun at first, but then it got a bit boring - it was hot, crowded and no room to dance. It was one of those places where everyone thinks they're super hot and so everyone tramples over each other, constantly walking around to go somewhere. It was sticky and dirty because of the constant smashing and spilling of glasses and drinks.
It's also not that great economically nor environmentally nor health and safety wise to be tramping constantly over broken glass, wasting armloads of napkins per person - all in the name of just throwing them about for fun and giggles.

It really is the sort of place where upper classes of society let their hair loose to compete their prowess with each other and the sort of place where expense and wastefullness does not even occur in the minds of these people.
It just isn't nice to needlessly waste things like that .......

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank foreignasigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington dc
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“if you want to be in...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

... go here but know you are here only to make the owner money... the food was decent enough but i can't remember the last time i was ACTUALLY rubbing shoulders with my neighbor... forget intimacy or a nice private conversation... if you are going with a larger group, this place is definitely a better choice...

the wait staff was pleasant enough but they do want you out as soon as your "seating" has expired - our table was from 645-845p... at 846p we had already vacated the table... cavos is in the business to make money...!!! otherwise, i see no reason why one cannot eat at one's own pace or have more privacy...

lastly, even thought there are attractive looking people at cavos, they probably feel just as cramped and rushed as the rest... beauty, here, gets you no special treatment...

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank poonhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Avoid this Place”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013 via mobile

We were a party of six and finally wanted to go to this restaurant as everybody was talking about it.
Well we had a reservation and we received our table instantly.
The place was very crowded. Mainly with young people who want to belong to munich's celebrities.
The waiter was impolite so the service was terrible.
The food was ok and not overpriced at all but you get way better food at other greek restaurants.
As we got our entrees on the table we had no cutlery. So we had to wait for 5 minutes until we could begin eating.
After we finished our meals we received a free bottle of ouzo and six shot glasses. 5 of them were dirty!! There was still dark liquid (some other liqour) inside. That was so gross!

I definitely can't recommend this place. Go to some other greek restaurant. You will receive way better service in a much nicer atmosphere.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AppleNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llucmajor, Spain
Level Contributor
485 reviews
348 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Too much glitzy glitzy and wannabe famous”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2012

Whilst the food, when finally served, was not too bad, the whole to do before getting seated, having to rush through the meal whilst you had the feeling you were eating in the middle of times square, did not install much joy in most of us - big group of over twenty!
come 10 pm it's party in the whole place - if that's what you want, this is the place! But a quiet decent meal is not what you get here! Choice of wine: lousy! Expensive cocktails: ample!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Wolfgang H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cavos Taverne also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing