We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place in a quiet neighborhood”
Review of Garden House

Garden House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Garden House
Ranked #46 of 68 Munich B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 January 2013

I booked a week here for just after Christmas and through NYE. It was a bit difficult to find, especially at the time of night we were arriving. We had to ring the bell a few times, I called both numbers and eventually by boyfriend had to yell up to people (who probably weren't even associated with the hotel) to get someone to come down to let us in. So that was not off to a good start. The only reason we booked this hotel was because they said there was access to a kitchen. When we were shown our room we put our bags down and the man began to show us "the kitchen" which was just a microwave and a coffee pot. Not exactly what we were expecting. Luckily, we were told that we could move downstairs after NYE where we would have a private kitchen and bathroom. That room wasn't as nice but it was definitely a step up from where we were before.
The staff is really nice, when you can find them. We had to leave very early in the morning and couldn't find anyone to give the key back to so we just ended up leaving it outside the door. This hotel is pretty far from the center, but luckily close to a metro, train and bus stop. Unfortunately there is nothing really to do in the neighborhood around the hotel so that was a bit of a disappointment.
I would try to find something more central if I am ever in Munich again, but this was definitely a very nice hotel and not super expensive.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with an actual kitchen if that is what you are looking for.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alli8489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
There are newer reviews for Garden House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2013

A little bit distanced from city center, but good and fast connection with 4 5 stations and good Munich metro line

Warm welcome from the patron, a nice small room for 2, very clean bathroom, and a pleasent garden when you wake up in the morning a nice start. We were hosted with a smile and cannot say anything bad. I saw some big rooms with better view then ours was

Vojislav

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vojislav J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

My advice would be to start looking elsewhere immediately, this place isn't worth your consideration.

My wife and I travelled to Munich on for a Christmas break with two friends. On arrival we were told that the apartment we had booked (Eastpark Apartment) was unavailable due to an electrical fault (we revived no notice of this from the owner prior to arrival). We were offered this as alternative accommodation or our money back. Which left us with little option but to stay there, not easy to find alternative accommodation with no internet on the 22nd December !

The photos on here are incredibly flattering. This is a basement apartment (beneath a children's play-school) with no windows, the apartment is dirty (we had to clean it on arrival), the furnishings are outdated / worn out, all the rooms smell very strongly of cigarette smoke (despite this being advertised as non-smoking accommodation). This was a particular issue to me as my wife was 5 months pregnant and we had specifically selected non-smoking accommodation. When I challenged the owner, I was met with a resolute "no one smokes in there", I can tell you for a fact, they do...... all the time !

This B&B is far cheaper than the accommodation we had booked, when I asked the owner for a refund of part of the fee, I was told 'no way'. Makes you realise how much you are in the hands of the owners of these properties when selecting self catering apartments. The owner of this place is completely unreasonable, and pretty unpleasant. He complained that I was spoiling HIS christmas vacation by phoning him to complain!). I will be very wary in future, and take a lot more notice of the reviews on here.

We enjoyed our Christmas in Munich, one thing the apartment did was inspire us to get out and enjoy the city as much as possible, we didn't want to spend any more time than absolutely necessary in the apartment.

In short, if you are a group of lads on a stag weekend and this place is going particularly cheap then go for it.

If you are a couple or family that would like a nice, comfortable experience, then do yourself a favour and skip this page and stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: All rooms smell of smoke......all are equally unpleasent.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

The 4 of us booked to stay in a "luxury" apartment over Xmas to have a Xmas away from the family before my friends wife, who was 5 months pregnant at the time had her child.
On arriving, Jamie, met us at the apartment to tell us that the electrics had gone and we had to stay in another place - the garden house - it stank of smoke, was not cleaned and the furniture is awful and really old and in need of replacement.

We complained straight away and he said that he was doing us a "favour" by putting us in there! Jamie was really unpleasant and when we said my friends wife was pregnant and couldn't stay in a room that stank of smoke, he replied, " open a window!!" he offered to give us all our money back, but there was literally nothing left in the price bracket we had paid for the luxury apartment and besides we wanted to stay in an "apartment" so that we could have a Xmas dinner together etc. rather than stay in rooms in a hotel. We were between a rock and a hard place and Jamie gave us no forwarning. He didn't even try to get the electrics fixed in the apartment we paid for and was only interested in getting to Berlin for his holiday.

Suffice to say, we even had to clean the apartment!! The Hoover was broken!! and had to make do. We had a good Xmas, but Jamie had a real part in taking the shine off of it. We were not even offered a discount. I would have to say, strongly think before taking any place with these guys!

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

I booked a room with Garden House (a.k.a. East-park Apartments) via an online booking website, which advertised free breakfast, free wifi, airport shuttle service & close proximity to a metro station (all of which are important to me). When I showed up, I waited outside for ~2.3 hours (~50degF or 10degC) until the managers of the apartment/house showed up. While paying for the room (which you do upon checking in), I inquired what was included in the free breakfast & at what time it was served, as well as the airport shuttle service. The man looked at me and said he did not know what I was talking about. Even after I showed him my itinerary that said all that was included, he said "That's not on my paperwork here in front of me." He offered to take me to the airport for 40 Euros (~$50), but I politely declined because I knew I could get myself there for less than 5 Euros!! Breakfast was not included (I was really glad I had brought some fruit, protein bars and nuts), and they did not even advertise that one would be sharing the bathrooms (two rooms with a toilet & sink, but only one shower) with all the other occupants (up to 10 when I was there). The two things that were accurate in their ad that I valued was free wifi and the closeness to a metro station. The only other thing that I can say that is nice is that the two managers were polite, but I thought it rather odd that the man who checked me in was fired within 2 days. I would *not* recommend this establishment, nor would I ever stay there again, based on the false ad of their features, and that they did nothing to make up for the false ads. This was the first-ever disappointing lodging experience in Europe out of many trips to several countries! I consoled myself that I was only there two nights & that I would never stay there ever again, though it also left a "bad taste in my mouth" for Munich.

Room Tip: Do not stay there! It's just a basement of a building made into a house with several rooms rente...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
Thank plasson2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
1.3 mi away
Central Hotel-Apart
Central Hotel-Apart
#149 of 385 in Munich
176 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel S16
Hotel S16
#351 of 385 in Munich
91 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel Nymphenburg
Hotel Nymphenburg
#216 of 385 in Munich
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel am Viktualienmarkt
Hotel am Viktualienmarkt
#109 of 385 in Munich
324 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel am Ostpark
Hotel am Ostpark
#12 of 68 in Munich
46 reviews
5.4 mi away
Pension Belo Sono
Pension Belo Sono
#15 of 68 in Munich
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden House

Address: Halfinger Str. 47, 81825 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Munich
Price Range: £75 - £257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Evoline ltd so you can book your Garden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing