We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect location. groovy modern bavarian hangout”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of CORTIINA Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
CORTIINA Hotel
Ranked #12 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“perfect location. groovy modern bavarian hangout”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

Cortiina is RIGHT in the middle of all that a tourist could hope for in munich. Lovely marien platz, the neu town hall, all the beer halls and baroque cathedrally action, the viktualien market is all within a very easy walk.

Hotel is euro modern and clean and very much in the Ian Schrager mode. Anyone who has stayed in the Hudson in nYC or the Mondrian in LA will feel quite at home. Excellent beds, excellent bedding, nice big cool bathtubs. Do yourself two favours if you come to this town. Go to the ALte Pinakothek and be prepared for incredible art- and go have a beer and a wurst at the chinese pagoda inthe english garden. FUN!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elgringogordo61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    480
    247
    40
    18
    13
See reviews for
120
315
58
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

Beautifully styled rooms which are unfortunately on the small side.Booked a standard room and was disappointed with the size. For me the best thing about this hotel was the great central location and the professionalism of the staff. Breakfast is also excellent, both the buffet and the cooked items - good quality ingredients are used and the coffee is made to order - one of the best hotel breakfasts I've had and again the staff were superb. Like a previous reviewer was disappointed that the cosmetics were screwed to the wall.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zinfandel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Jordan, Utah
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

The staff was PERFECTION. They where amazing, well informed, so helpful and kind. What a great group. We where so close to the Hofbrau House I could have thrown a stone and hit it. The front desk said that the noise in our room (322) could be an issue but we didn't hear anything and I am light sleeper. Probably not the best for Oktoberfest season if you aren't there for a night out! The room was large, with a large deep tub. It was perfect in every way. The only reason I did not rate it at as "Excellent" was because we where held up in another country and could not make our first nights reservation and when we called to let them know they still charged us because it was after 6pm (it was 6:30pm and I was on a plane until then!!!). Fair enough, I know it is a business but I almost cancelled our whole reservation over it and I am glad I didn't. And the customer service made up for the disappointment.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GingerLover15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

We had a lovely stay at this hotel! It has a perfect location in the heart of Munich in a nice area with the famous Hofbräuhaus almost across the street.

I really like the interiour at this hotel. It is trendy and romantic, ecspessially the bar area in the evening, perfect for couples;) The bar makes really good cocktails, and you can enjoy them in these cool retro looking chairs. The room was also very nice! Very mordern. Comfortable bed with this awesome "walk in bathroom". Lovely with a large bathtub with room for two ;-)

(Just one thing- event though the breakfast was good (and you could) enjoy it in the nice backyard), it was too expensive. Ca. 20 Euros for two per day. However, you will find many restaurants close by which can offer you breakfast for less money.)

All in all I really want to recommend this hotel for both couples and singles staying in Munich. We had a great holiday here. Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

This was my first trip to Munich. Hotel staff greeted me very warmly. Room size was on the smaller side, but i'm not there to stay in the room anyway so that really didn't bother me. The toiletries in the bathrrom were very nice. I would agree with another reviewer that the air conditioning could use a boost. You can't beat the location. it is about 100 steps from the Hofbrau Haus. Can't beat the free breakfast. I'd stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard, not the main street. My room was very quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pflyerscubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
144 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

The Cortiina is a fairly good boutique hotel.
But in a town with Rocco Forte's The Charles, Mandarin Oriental, etc, it should be a lot better.

Room was small, but decor was nice.
Fairly clean, but could be cleaner.
Service is ok, competent, but not particularly friendly or polite.
Don't know why a single room had a queen bed with a single duvet.

Bathroom design was very nice, and I should be raving about the REN products, but the dispensers screwed to the wall just feel cheap and I find the idea of dispensers in hotels offensive. Towels are very old and worn out.

Breakfast was excellent. Very very good.

Dinner was ok. Very interesting, but not amazing.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lapis-philosophorum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

Stayed at the Cortiina two nights August 2012.
We arrived on an early flight in to Munich very tired and the Hotel looked after our bags while we wandered the streets to find breakfast. The room became available early thankfully. The Hotel AirCon requires attention as it could not keep up with the sun on the window heat load. We ended up opening the room windows, this provided a pleasant stay as the temps in Munich are a pleasant 14 to 21C.
Breakfast was excellant and the Desk staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
I had trouble with the WiFi internet connection. The staff helped me to trouble shoot my PC and in the end my PC Wi Fi switch was off. Staff surfed the net for a solution and provided me with ipad to use in the interum.
Ideal location in Old Munich close to all attractions. Room was excellent and I would stay at the Cortiina again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nik1855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#15 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,881 reviews
0.2 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#16 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#13 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
0.9 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Blauer Bock
Hotel Blauer Bock
#18 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CORTIINA Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CORTIINA Hotel

Property: CORTIINA Hotel
Address: Ledererstr. 8, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — CORTIINA Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The design hotel CORTIINA opened in 2001 in the city centre of Munich and extended its room portfolio six years later with spacious deluxe rooms with seperate kitchenette. CORTIINA Bar & Restaurant attracts with its cocktail creations hotel guests and local revellers equally. Exclusive and charming CORTIINA Hotel welcomes guests from all over the world in the city centre of Munich. The clientele is as manifold as the hotel itself: international, modern and with love for design and detail. Business travellers, tourists and fans of architecture enjoy the simple elegance of 75 rooms. High-quality regional materials like bog oak, Jura natural stone, linen and bronze create a warm and comfortable atmosphere. With its excellent service team the design hotel offers a true home away from home to its guests. The CORTIINA Hotel was chosen by German Vogue as "hotel of the month" and was also added to the list of "Top Ten Boutique Hotels" by the Manager Magazine. The CORTIINA Hotel and the unique CORTIINA Bar & Restaurant are must-sees for design lovers and gourmets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your CORTIINA Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing