We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in heart of Munich”
Review of CORTIINA Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
CORTIINA Hotel
Ranked #14 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in heart of Munich”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

When we fly Lufthansa, we always make a point of stopping over a day or two in Munich on the way to wherever we are going next. We stayed at the hotel for the first time last week, during Octoberfest. The hotel is clean, comfortable, centrally located (walking distance to everything), and very beautifully designed. Our room was extremely quiet despite the riotous activity on the streets. Most of all, I want to commend the helpfulness and wisdom of the staff, who got us to all our local destinations with great tips and directions. The bar is excellent. For Italian coffees, the Bar Centrale across the street opens at 8am -- first rate caffe latte, Italian style.

Room Tip: The "apartment" rooms are off the street, and equipped with a full kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MirugaiT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    483
    254
    40
    19
    13
See reviews for
120
320
59
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
138 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Small boutique hotel located just one block away from the Marienplant. It's steps away from restaurants, minutes from subway, open market, beer garden, shopping, department store!
Room was clean, simple, no frill. No gym type of facility.
Breakfast was decent.
Service @ front desk as well as the restaurant were attentive. Waiter n waitress remember what we ordered for drinks by 2nd morning.
If I have to complaint, it's the pillow, It's pretty lame! Time to invest some sleep quality fluff!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dry_surfing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

I agree with previous reviewers that this place is stylish, cool, and beautiful. We were in room 511 and it was palatial, with a gorgeous bathoom and luxurious linens. A beautiful mix of old and new. My favourite thing about the hotel was its location, we were here on an extremely short stopover of less than 24 hours and we were able to soak in a lot of central Munich's charm including Marienplatz, the market and the Hofbrauhaus all in a short space of time. If you are here for a longer trip, you might want to consider a less expensive location but if you want to be in the centre of it all this is the place to be.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chula_Banana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
90 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

This is a small but clean and stylish hotel only a few blocks from Marianplatz and access to all touristic points around Munich either by foot or U-Bahn. I would highly recommend for both business and pleasure travelers. We asked for a room facing away from the street and it was extremely quiet. However, there was little natural light in the room and the room did not have a comfortable chair to sit in for just relaxing. Next time I would consider a larger room facing the street.Overall a very good experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank world_citizen61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Its a cool boutiquey place. They do a lot of things right, but they miss it on little stuff. The rooms are very good. Big, spacious and appointed properly. They have the traditional German bed, no blanket but a square pillow and a heavier duvet kind of cover. I love this design. The hotel overall is contemporary with a reasonably well thought out look. Location is good, very lose to Marienplatz, and S and U bhan stations. Wood floors in the room with cool looking area carpets that make you feel at home. I really enjoyed working in this room. Free bottle of still water - and a well appointed Mini bar with extra Ritter chocolates. Free Wi-Fi (nice!) - but s-l-o-w and which your exchange email will get certificate errors when you use it (improperly configured proxy). My room had a ton of small problems. The sink and tub drain very slowly. The electricity won't stay on, you have to keep removing your card and reinserting it into the power slot. The air conditioning wont get the room below 21. The staff explained all of this as "that is how it is here...". Ok. But I like a colder room and working plumbing. The soap is in dispensers bolted to the wall and recessed about 12" into the tile. Hard to use. Breakfast is 19e, cheap by Germany standards, and pretty good. Service by the staff was excellent, even though they fixed none of the defects in the room, they were fast and friendly. Based on these problems I could not recommend this hotel, unless lots of little niggles do not bother you.

Room Tip: Get a room in the new part of the hotel. Has a separate entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swixo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

As we turned into Ledererstrasse, I was a bit concerned that there seemed to be a lot of table-dancing on offer in the area - I wondered if we hadn't picked a bit of a dud with this hotel. But never fear - the rest of the street was lovely, and you just had to ignore the bright pink van that regularly advertised the entertainment on offer down the road. The Cortiina itself was just amazing. The service was exceptional - the perfect combination of professional, but also light and friendly - and the room was spacious, with some funky minimalist furnishings that actually had me exclaiming as I entered the room! I couldn't believe that we had such a lovely room for such a reasonable price. I absolutely adored this hotel, and found it to be a great location for exploring Munich. Do yourself a favour and stay here!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

This place is just amazing! From the welcoming friendly staff to the "living room" style accomodations, from the very jammy and individual breakfast offer to the bar, which is run by highly professional bar keepers and is busy till late night....there is no single item I did not like! This is the kind of boutique hotel which has a level of perfection combined with true and sincere hospitality that is hard to find. And a outstanding atmosphere and design furniture. Highly recommended and one of the best hotels I stayed at lately (and I am travelling a lot...). Dear team of Cortiina, you are doing a fantastic job - great!!

Room Tip: Deluxe room with kitchenette...45sqm...so fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eva_Maria_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#15 of 383 in Munich
1,943 reviews
0.2 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#13 of 383 in Munich
723 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#11 of 383 in Munich
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
0.9 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#7 of 383 in Munich
1,532 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 383 in Munich
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CORTIINA Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CORTIINA Hotel

Property: CORTIINA Hotel
Address: Ledererstr. 8, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — CORTIINA Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The design hotel CORTIINA opened in 2001 in the city centre of Munich and extended its room portfolio six years later with spacious deluxe rooms with seperate kitchenette. CORTIINA Bar & Restaurant attracts with its cocktail creations hotel guests and local revellers equally. Exclusive and charming CORTIINA Hotel welcomes guests from all over the world in the city centre of Munich. The clientele is as manifold as the hotel itself: international, modern and with love for design and detail. Business travellers, tourists and fans of architecture enjoy the simple elegance of 75 rooms. High-quality regional materials like bog oak, Jura natural stone, linen and bronze create a warm and comfortable atmosphere. With its excellent service team the design hotel offers a true home away from home to its guests. The CORTIINA Hotel was chosen by German Vogue as "hotel of the month" and was also added to the list of "Top Ten Boutique Hotels" by the Manager Magazine. The CORTIINA Hotel and the unique CORTIINA Bar & Restaurant are must-sees for design lovers and gourmets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your CORTIINA Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing