We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really good business hotel in the heart of Munich”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of CORTIINA Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
CORTIINA Hotel
Ranked #14 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Really good business hotel in the heart of Munich”
Reviewed 24 January 2013

The hotel is centrally located in the heart of the city center close to Marienplatz from where it is convenient to travel to/from with U-/S-bahn. The staff is very friendly and the rooms are really quiet despite the fact that the hotel is in the middle of the center close to many restaurants and beer halls etc. I got upgraded and received a suite which was very kind of them (payed for a single room). The rooms are clean and modern with nice design. The breakfast is a bit expensive (19,50 Euro) but it is really good and one can get as many cappucinos as one would like to have. A great choice in the city center if in Munich for business. The hotel is not so "charming" if a couple on a romantic weekend but it is moderna and has a great location. I will stay there more times when in Munich for business.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MadeleineStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    479
    246
    40
    18
    13
See reviews for
120
315
57
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

This hotel provides comfortable well appointed rooms, a nice buzz, and helpful
personnel. My bedroom was a single and on the rear of the hotel which made it quiet. The bed was very comfortable. The breakfast is expensive. However, it was excellent with as many delicious lattes as one could want. Eggs are cooked fresh for you and the cheeses and breads were outstanding.

We enjoyed our five day stay and would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderingdancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We stayed three nights here, deciding on the Cortiina after a lot of research! I think accommodation in Munich is generally pretty expensive, but even so, there wasn't much to rave about here.

Pros: location is great, really near to Isator station which makes for smooth journey in from airport on line S8. The hotel isn't on a main street, just one back from Tal, so not too noisy - at least at this time of year. Nice snug bar area, with fire lit, good coffee. Stylish interior and friendly, helpful staff. Free in-room wifi.

Cons: our room (610) was in the attic space so had limited views from velux windows. The room heating was really hard to get working and we were quite cold. However, we asked for two more duvets (you get two single duvets on the double bed) and they arrived quickly. The bathroom did have underfloor heating but it was on in the morning only.

There was a complimentary bottle of mineral water on day 1, but not replenished once we'd drunk it. Same with vanity kit in bathroom - once cotton wool pads were used, they weren't replaced. Not huge things, sure, but I think they just show that management don't have their eye fully on the ball.

Breakfast was really disappointing and expensive for 19.5 euros per person. Not much pride taken in setting food out - for example, the sliced lemon served by the salmon was old, curled and dried out. The cold meats looked like they had just been emptied out the packet they came in. The fresh bread was excellent however, as was the fruit.

We cut our losses after the first morning and had wonderful breakfasts cooked to order for half the price at the Cafe Centrale across the road (use the 10% disc card in your room). Great freshly squeezed oj, fab coffee and eggs. You can pick up a paper from the hotel reception on the way over.

Although it didn't bother us, there is a lap-dancing club directly opposite the hotel, but area was generally great with plenty shops, cafes and restaurants close by.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MortonFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013 via mobile

We spent just one night in Munich this time, but were more than satisfied when we arrived at this hotel. Location is very good, a short walk from the Marienplatz (city centre), and the design of this hotel is very striking. Rooms are modern in design, yet very warm and comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful, WiFi is free, and the restaurant with gaslit fireplace is a cool place to hang out. We especially enjoyed the chocolate dessert served here, even inviting our friends who were staying elsewhere in Munich to come join us by the fireplace. Great little hotel.

Note, we were a little disappointed with breakfast. Quite pricey and not very satisfying - just one small glitch in our stay however.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnViper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg
Level Contributor
62 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

I stayed in Hotel Cortiina for one night on a business trio in September 2012. The hotel is very stylish with excellent designs and located very centrally but quit at the same time. When I reserved the room I was "warned" that the room would be very small and it was small indeed but it was spotless and still had all the comforts and was rather beyond my expectations. The staff was attentive and helpful, too and they served a pricy but excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sodasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013 via mobile

Our room 411 was very large and modern. Loved having a bathtub. Location could not be beat in terms of marienplatz (the center of town plaza). Breakfast and lounge were fabulous. The only detriment I found was the Internet was spotty and slow at times

Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank lisamWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Pros: helpful staff, clean room, central location, relatively stylish and comfy, free wifi.
Cons: shockingly noisy
This is tough. The hotel is excellent but I cannot give it that rating. The staff was very friendly and quite helpful. We had two rooms in the "annex'" which is a separate adjoining building that contains four rooms, as well as some unrelated business space. Thus, getting from the street to the rooms was kind of odd (either direct entry from the street or through some of the back corridors of the hotel). The front room was very nice indeed -- quite large, big comfortable bed and a bathroom with heated floors. The rear room was also comfortable, but very oddly laid out - kind of L shaped, with the door at the angle which, when opened, cut off the two halves of the room. Nonetheless, if that was all, it would rate four stars (overall quite good, with a couple of oddities). But the noise in the front was just dreadful. There is a bar just across the street called the Rock Box and another right under the room called Americano. Right under the windows of the room are benches. People leave the bars to sit on the benches and smoke. Drunken 20 year olds would sit on the benches and scream (no exaggeration) at each other. Until 2:45 am. Every night. Despite two rows (!) of double paned windows in the room, it was shockingly loud. I can only imagine what it would be like in the summer when you need open windows. The back room, facing the hotel courtyard, was quiet. I admit I did not ask to change rooms, which I certainly should have done. But I cannot have been the first to have this issue. Lest you believe that it won't happen to you, from what I can tell, there is also a bar on the front side of the hotel, so I am going to imagine it is no better there either, Courtyard facing room is your only option...but in warm weather it appears that the hotel bar has a seating area out there, so my guess is that it is noisy there in the summer months. Alas, despite a central location, nice rooms and a helpful staff, I won't stay there next time.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gregory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristina E, Manager at CORTIINA Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Dear guest,

thank your very much for your feedback and the time you took to share your impressions on tripadvisor.com.
In this area many “places-to-be” a settled like restaurants and bars, so it happens to be very crowed on the weekend and disturbance cannot be avoided at all times. But we also have rooms with view to the cortyard which are more quiet. For the next time just let us know that you prefer a quiet room and we will block a room for you.
We thank you for your positive comments on our service staff and clean rooms. We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Please feel free to contact me directly for any future reservation so I may personally look after your booking

With best regards,

Kristina Eder
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#16 of 382 in Munich
1,875 reviews
0.2 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#15 of 382 in Munich
707 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#12 of 382 in Munich
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
0.9 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 382 in Munich
1,414 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Blauer Bock
Hotel Blauer Bock
#19 of 382 in Munich
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CORTIINA Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CORTIINA Hotel

Property: CORTIINA Hotel
Address: Ledererstr. 8, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — CORTIINA Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The design hotel CORTIINA opened in 2001 in the city centre of Munich and extended its room portfolio six years later with spacious deluxe rooms with seperate kitchenette. CORTIINA Bar & Restaurant attracts with its cocktail creations hotel guests and local revellers equally. Exclusive and charming CORTIINA Hotel welcomes guests from all over the world in the city centre of Munich. The clientele is as manifold as the hotel itself: international, modern and with love for design and detail. Business travellers, tourists and fans of architecture enjoy the simple elegance of 75 rooms. High-quality regional materials like bog oak, Jura natural stone, linen and bronze create a warm and comfortable atmosphere. With its excellent service team the design hotel offers a true home away from home to its guests. The CORTIINA Hotel was chosen by German Vogue as "hotel of the month" and was also added to the list of "Top Ten Boutique Hotels" by the Manager Magazine. The CORTIINA Hotel and the unique CORTIINA Bar & Restaurant are must-sees for design lovers and gourmets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your CORTIINA Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing