We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms and location”
Review of CORTIINA Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
CORTIINA Hotel
Ranked #13 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
106 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Nice rooms and location”
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

Below are my conclusion on the hotel:

(A) location: the hotel is ideally located within walking distance of most sites.

(B) staff: friendly staff, although a bit arrogant at times.

(C) common areas: almost non existent. Small front desk and small bar with a sitting area next to it.

(D) rooms: the hotel is scattered around three independent buildings. Therefore, depending on where your room is, you will be in a building different than the one where the front desk is. Our room (a so called "business suite") was very spacious (almost has the size of an apartment), although there were signs of tear and wear in the fixtures and fittings.

(E) breakfast: small and very expensive for what you pay (it costs approx. 20 euros per person).

Conclusion: I think I would stay here again if no other places are available, as it is quite expensive without having breakfast generally included in the rates.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank CanarioViajero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    481
    250
    40
    18
    13
See reviews for
120
317
58
195
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Stayed in the Cortiina Hotel from 29th Dec – 2nd January with my partner and another couple. We booked the hotel based on the trip advisor reviews and the price was very reasonable for such a central location.

I’ll start with the good points first seeing as there aren’t many!

Check in was quick and efficient and the bar/restaurant area are very nice.
The maid service was excellent and our room was cleaned every day we were there. On one day we were only out for an hour but our room had been cleaned by the time we came back which we were really happy with.
The room itself was lovely, we were on the first floor at the end of the corridor. Decor was very modern and clean and fresh bathrobes and slippers were provided.
The location is great, just a couple of minutes walk from Marienplatz and Hofbrauhaus and the closest tube/train station are just around the corner.

Now for the negatives!

On our first night we came back from having a meal at around midnight to find the room was extremely hot. We turned the air con down to the lowest setting but it still continued to blast out hot air. We called reception and they sent someone up to take a look, we were told to turn the heating down – which we had already done a couple of hours before! Eventually we switched it off completely but the room still wasn’t cooling down so we tried sleeping with the windows open, however there was alot of noise in the streets from drunk people and bin lorries etc so this on lasted 10 minutes before we had to close it again.

Eventually at 4am we phoned reception again and were told to turn the heating back on and after 5-10 minutes the temperature would go down, we did this and after half an hour we couldn’t take it anymore as the room was just getting hotter and hotter and there was no sign of the sudden switch to cool air that we were told about. The receptionist told me to wait a little longer to see if anything happened and that in the mean time he would have a ‘look at his computer’ to see if there was anything he could do. He also said there had been major problems with the heating for the last few days and others had also complained. I called back at around 5am when there was still no change in the heating, and was simply told that there was nothing more that could be done and could I hang on until 6am when his colleague started work. We were absolutely furious by this point as it was 5am and we’d had no sleep what so ever. In the end we tried opening the windows again as the street noise had calmed a little and eventually managed to fall asleep due to sheer exhaustion.

When we woke up, our friends who were staying on the floor above called to say they had had the exact same issue and had been up until 6am due to the heat in the room.

We left the windows in the room open all day and night and the temperature seemed to be alot more bearable the second night. We were later told this was because they had switched the heating off in the whole hotel. We went to bed early hoping to catch up on some sleep ready for New Years Eve the next day, luckily I managed to get some sleep just out of exhaustion from the night before but my partner had yet another sleepless night. This time due to the noise in the streets (even though the windows were closed) and the sound of a baby crying all night in a room below. There was also alot of noise from the lift in the building next door as our room was at the end of the corridor joining the next building.

This hotel doesn’t use keycards for the rooms, instead it uses proper keys which wouldn’t usually be a problem however the locks were a complete nightmare and on two occasions we had to ask a member of staff to unlock the door for us.

The bathroom door has no lock and the wooden looking wall in the bedroom opens up to show a glass panel where you can see in and out of the bathroom so not alot of privacy.
There is a table dancing club opposite the hotel which didn’t cause us any problems as such but alot of the street noise was due to drunk people coming out of the club at silly times in the morning and the windows are pretty thin in the hotel meaning that you hear everything.

On check out we complained about our first night and were offered a 20 Euro discount on our bill. In total our bill came to over 770 Euros so this extra 20 barely scratched the surface!
We paid £120 per night for this hotel and definitely do not think it was worth the money. The hotel itself is lovely but having sleepless nights makes even the best hotels poor value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank xleannex19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

stayed here with a friend for 2 nights. very cool and trendy - unlike a lot of the hotels you find in munich! amazing location, could walk to the main shopping areas and restaurants. Very cool yet understated decor. friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinkyvalenti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valletta, Malta
Level Contributor
99 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Spent two nights here over NYE. We had a suite. Room was nice - bathroom very nice. Relatively quiet, decent service. Very good free wifi. Didn't eat in hotel so can't judge kitchen...but location was great. In room nespresso machine so nice coffee... Prices reasonable.... I would definitely return...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NTGF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed in a large room in the second building. Good use of space with functional bathroom and good sized lounge and writing desk. Breakfast was reasonable, but limited options. Cooked options seemed expensive. The hotel is centrally located within easy walking distance of a large range of attractions including the Hofbrauhaus and Marienplatz.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

The location was excellent. We had a large room and it was attractively furnished. It looked out to the rear (not an ugly view) which was probably a positive given the comments of others re street noise. The breakfast was good - the usual array plus eggs cooked to order. Staff were pleasant and helpful. The only negative comment I would make regards the close proximity of the bathroom to the bed - if you are a couple, and light sleepers, this could pose a problem. Other than that, a great choice - if staying for several days, I'd recommend going for a large room.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MollyDooker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Great central location near transportation but one of the tiniest hotel rooms I have stayed in ANYWHERE. You can sit on the end of the bed and use the desk. Good location but lacks any charm, very minimalist except for the price.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#14 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,904 reviews
0.2 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#15 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#12 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
0.9 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Blauer Bock
Hotel Blauer Bock
#18 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CORTIINA Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CORTIINA Hotel

Property: CORTIINA Hotel
Address: Ledererstr. 8, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — CORTIINA Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The design hotel CORTIINA opened in 2001 in the city centre of Munich and extended its room portfolio six years later with spacious deluxe rooms with seperate kitchenette. CORTIINA Bar & Restaurant attracts with its cocktail creations hotel guests and local revellers equally. Exclusive and charming CORTIINA Hotel welcomes guests from all over the world in the city centre of Munich. The clientele is as manifold as the hotel itself: international, modern and with love for design and detail. Business travellers, tourists and fans of architecture enjoy the simple elegance of 75 rooms. High-quality regional materials like bog oak, Jura natural stone, linen and bronze create a warm and comfortable atmosphere. With its excellent service team the design hotel offers a true home away from home to its guests. The CORTIINA Hotel was chosen by German Vogue as "hotel of the month" and was also added to the list of "Top Ten Boutique Hotels" by the Manager Magazine. The CORTIINA Hotel and the unique CORTIINA Bar & Restaurant are must-sees for design lovers and gourmets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your CORTIINA Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing