We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above expectations!”
Review of CORTIINA Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
CORTIINA Hotel
Ranked #11 of 387 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I stayed at Cortiina Hotel over my birthday weekend - 9/12 January. I had read about this hotel (good things) and a friend in Munich also gave it the thumbs up!

As they noted it was my birthday we were give a small suite on a high floor - bright, fresh and thoughtfully designed.

The vibe of the hotel were excellent and this was reflected in it's excellent bar - superb cocktails which bring quite a crows to he lobby bar in the evenings - I love it!

Breakfast was very good indeed. Staff were young, focused and enthusiastic. I will return!!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Frank P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (856)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

284 - 290 of 856 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

Love this hotel and this town!! Munich is one of those small cities with a big city feel and the Aldstadt neighbourhood in which the Cortiina is located is the perfect mix of historical Bavarian grandeur, boutique shops, trendy but relaxed places to eat and drink - it's impossible not to have fun or be inspired just meandering around and you will find you are easy striking distance by foot to many other fascinating parts of the city. We booked a deluxe double room at the Cortiina - essentially a very smartly designed and decorated studio flat as it's a spacious room with a cleverly concealed working kitchen complete with Nespresso machine. Very pleasing interior design - think "Timorous Beasties" wallpaper. Our room was in a building next door to the reception and lounge bar / restaurant with the hotel's parking garage in between but the area is not noisy so imagine a quiet sleep here is a safe bet in any room. Very comfortable beds and furniture, excellent bath and shower, Ren toiletries, bathrobe and slippers provided. The Cortiina's lounge is a proper cocktail bar with a modern chilled vibe and is popular with locals, expats and hotel guests alike. It's located just a few minutes walk from the Rathaus and Marienplatz (SBahn 8 takes you directly to the airport for Euro 10-11), the Hofbrauhaus (beer and weiss sausages at 10am if you dare!), Opera (Spatenhaus - best weiner schnitzel you will ever eat), the Viktualienmarkt (Saturday morning food market is a must for people watching and a reasonably-priced coffee and pastry or lunch - Munich is expensive), 15 min walk to the Hofgarten entrance to the Englischer Garten which is Munich's "Central Park" - pretty big and well worth strolling through at least part of it. The river Eisbach becomes quite wild in some places - look for the surfers near the Haus der Kunst for example. Climb up the tower in St Peter's church (Euro 2) to get a great 360 degree view of the city. And, don't forget to reward yourself with a Bretzel and a weissbier!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ThroughPassenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristina E, Geschäftsführer at CORTIINA Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear ThroughPassenger,
thank you for taking your time to leave such a nice comment about the hotel and the surrounding area. We are indeed lucky to be situated in the heart of Munich where pretty much everything is next door. We are happy to hear that you like the design of our hotel rooms and that you had a enjoyable stay at the CORTIINA.
We hope to welcome you again soon.

Best regards,

Kristina Eder
Direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Perfect location for us.. Resturants, local markets, attractions, shopping all at walking distance. Very helpful staff and courteous service. We saw the local market on Saturday and savored all the local smells and foods! The hotel boasts a nice bar..a meeting place for the locals !

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank rc2501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristina E, Geschäftsführer at CORTIINA Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014
Google Translation

Lieber User rc2501,

wir freuen uns zu hören, das sie einen schönen Aufenthalt bei uns hatten. Der Viktualienmarkt ist in der Tat ein Besuch wert, um die bayrischen Spezialitäten zu probieren.
Das ausgesprochene Lob an das Personal gebe ich gerne weiter.

Wir hoffen, Sie bald wieder bei uns im CORTIINA Hotel begrüßen zu dürfen.

Herzliche Grüße,

Kristina Eder
Direktion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

This is the first time I have felt compelled to right a review but I stayed in this hotel recently and experienced the worst service I have ever had. The reception staff are very unfriendly and very unhelpful, they made us feel very uncomfortable. In general the hotel is fine but the attitude of the staff at reception ensured that I will never stay at the Cortiina again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are very noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dolly230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristina E, Geschäftsführer at CORTIINA Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Dear Dolly230,

first of all thank you for taking your time for leaving a comment on Tripadvisor. I'm very sorry to hear that you felt uncomfortable during your last stay.
It would be very helpful if you give us more details or explain on who in particular was unfriendly, arrogant and not helpful, so that i can follow up on this.
Our front desk team is highly educated and is always willing to help.
If you don't mind i would be happy to receive an email from you.

Kind regards,

Kristina Eder
Direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

A comfortable cozy stay just a few minutes' walk away from Marienplatz and to the train station. Also walking distance to a lot of the churches, the English Gardens, and the Residenz.

We stayed on the upper floor (4th or 5th? I forget) and there was no noise from the street below at night. Staff were friendly, but forgot to bring more water up to the room the next day with housekeeping, even after a reminder).

Be prepared to wait for the single, veeerrry slooooow lift. ;)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aiyataibao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

This hotel is one block off the main street but does have some clubs in the area around it. Our room was on the back of the back building. It was very quiet and was large by European standards but an elongated room. The bathroom had heated floors which kept the whole room warm enough. One of the radiators was on when we checked in and it made the room a little stuffy. I could not figure out how to adjust so I asked the desk about adjusting the heat. They said they would have it taken care of and when we returned from sight seeing it was perfect. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The other 2 families we were traveling with were in the other building with one having a room on the back and the other in the front. The one in back said they did not hear a peep and the one in front daid they heard some street noise but it was not bad
We were very tired from our flight so decided to eat early in the restaurant. It was not open for another 30 minutes but the waiter said he would see what he could do. He brought out a salad and our meal about the time the restaurant was supposed to open. The meal was delicious and we would highly recommend eating here. The prices were about average for a good meal in a high end restaurant. The breakfast was terrific with just about anything you could want but it was a little expensive.
The hotel is in a great location. It is walking distance to all of the sights in the old town and several metro stops. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms that are at the back of the hotel are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skyhawk13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile


Stayed here for 2 nights to catch up with friends and visit Christmas markets and chose the hotel for its close proximity to marienplatz and viktualienmarkt etc.
Stayed in a cortiina comfort room, which was comfortable, large enough for 2 and fitted with plenty of plugs, iPod dock and decent toiletries (we know that because our suitcases were delayed for 30 hours)
Breakfast was delicious! Eggs to order plus full buffet spread. Chef personally came to recommend some breakfast items.
Hotel has a small gym which was a bonus and a funky bar/cafe which was always busy.
But what sets this hotel apart is some of the staff. One offered to park our car for us once the taxi that was blocking the way had moved. We had breakfast included in our package but had to leave early in the morning we arranged for a packed breakfast. We were up earlier than expected so it wasn't ready as the kitchen was not yet open. The guy at reception quickly helped the chef get everything organized and beautifully packed with little Christmas chocolates which was a nice touch.
It is a bit more expensive than the mercure which we had stayed at previously but well worth it.
Can't wait to return next year.

.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jumpjacq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristina E, Geschäftsführer at CORTIINA Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear Jumpjacq,

first of all thank you so much for taking your time to leave a comment about your stay at the Cortiina Hotel. We are happy to hear that you were satisfied with your stay. As our hotel is situated right in the middle of the city centre, next to Marienplatz and Viktualienmarkt it is definitely a big plus for our guests.

We are looking forward to welcome you again soon in the near future.

Best,

Kristina Eder
Direktion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#13 of 387 in Munich
2,051 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 387 in Munich
1,597 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#9 of 387 in Munich
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#12 of 387 in Munich
760 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
1.0 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#3 of 387 in Munich
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CORTIINA Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CORTIINA Hotel

Address: Ledererstr. 8, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 387 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: £181 - £331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — CORTIINA Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The design hotel CORTIINA opened in 2001 in the city centre of Munich and extended its room portfolio six years later with spacious deluxe rooms with seperate kitchenette. CORTIINA Bar & Restaurant attracts with its cocktail creations hotel guests and local revellers equally. Exclusive and charming CORTIINA Hotel welcomes guests from all over the world in the city centre of Munich. The clientele is as manifold as the hotel itself: international, modern and with love for design and detail. Business travellers, tourists and fans of architecture enjoy the simple elegance of 75 rooms. High-quality regional materials like bog oak, Jura natural stone, linen and bronze create a warm and comfortable atmosphere. With its excellent service team the design hotel offers a true home away from home to its guests. The CORTIINA Hotel was chosen by German Vogue as "hotel of the month" and was also added to the list of "Top Ten Boutique Hotels" by the Manager Magazine. The CORTIINA Hotel and the unique CORTIINA Bar & Restaurant are must-sees for design lovers and gourmets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your CORTIINA Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing