We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and location”
Review of CORTIINA Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
CORTIINA Hotel
Ranked #11 of 391 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Stayed there one night on business. Good choice. Small design hotel with a fantastic location, super friendly staff and very comfortable room. Only negative comment- the room temperature was simply too warm. Great price.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pierre171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (878)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

291 - 297 of 878 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2014

I have always wanted to try Cortiina and I have finally spent one night here. The super design hotel does not disappoint, and the room was lovely, with essential, classy furniture. Bathroom in the room is small but a very comfortable big shower with high quality washing products. Staff at reception extremely friendly and check in was superefficient, as I was basically immediately handed my key. The only issue was that my room - on the top floor - was very hot, and it is only April.... If you are coming in the summer, you might want to ask for a room in a different floor

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank whiterabbitjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I chose this hotel mainly due to its proximity to Marienplatz and several of the famous beer halls. In fact, it is less than a 5 minute walk to Hofbräuhaus. I was also looking for a higher end hotel that wouldn't be too expensive. Cortiina met all these criteria and more. The staff were all incredibly helpful and welcoming. They even held onto our bags after check out so that we could explore the city while waiting on our train. The bar was another great addition. With an expansive and exotic menu, It's popular among hotel guests and locals. Tim, the bartender, was incredibly welcoming and helpful in pointing us towards other attractions and places to eat while in Munich.

I read some mixed reviews about the breakfast, but I enjoyed it. While it was a bit pricey (hey, it's Europe!), they offered some luxury breakfast items, like smoked lox, and it was all you can eat. The presentation was nice and I didn't have anything that wasn't good.

I also read some complaints about the noise level when staying on the street side of the hotel. I never heard any noise, even when I had the window open, and we were there on a weekend. Although we were on the 5th floor. Perhaps it's just a problem during the partying holidays, such as when Oktoberfest is going on?

Overall, I really enjoyed this hotel and intend on staying here again in the future. The hotel is clean and well-appointed and the rooms are of a decent size, especially for European hotels, which are typically smaller than standard rooms in the USA. I really can't find anything negative to say!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristina E, Geschäftsführer at CORTIINA Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Dear Heather S,

thank you so much for taking your time to leave a comment on Tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. I will pass your compliments on to my team!

We are looking forward to welcome you at the CORTIINA HOTEL again.

Best regards,

Kristina Eder
Direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I loved my stay here.

I have wanted to stay at The Cortiina for a few years, but never had a chance until now. perfectly located in the heart of Munich (very near the Madarin and the Vier Jahreszeiten hotels), this is a great beautifully designed medium-sized boutique hotel. I was upgraded to a fantastic, very large courtyard room with a beautiful modern marble bathroom; it was perfect. The bed and linens were top quality, and I slept wonderfully.

The staff could not have been better. For this stay in particular, I was especially high maintenance; I was driving a brand new car I had just picked up, and I had some specific requests regarding parking, and they could not have been nicer or more patient with my neurotic needs. Additionally, I was concerned about the room being too hot, as I had read a couple of previous reviews complaining about this issue; this concern was completely unfounded. The room was a great temperature, and I could also open the windows if I wanted to.

Additionally, there is a great bar and small restaurant just off the reception area, that also serves a superb buffet breakfast, including fantastic baked goods, smoked salmon, and many other goodies.

If you like design-focused boutique hotels, this is a great choice.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fishskis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed at the Cortiina for 2 nights in February 2014 and one night in March. We were very happy with our choice. Our rooms (a different room for each stay) were both in the building across the courtyard and were large, well organized and had sitting areas and several windows.
We were on a ski trip and were in Munich because it was the destination of our flight from Canada. Our skis didn't arrive with us (misplaced by the airline for 3 days). The hotel receptionist made several calls to the airline for us and, because we had to leave Munich before our skis arrived, arranged for our skis to be delivered to our next hotel in Austria. We were very pleased with her efforts on our behalf.
Breakfast wasn't included in our room rate so we ate each morning at a small coffee shop nearby (which we preferred to breakfast at the hotel because the other customers were local people on their way to work, not just tourists).
Our rooms were quiet at night. We heard a few noises from the street below, but that is to be expected (and enjoyed) when staying 100 m from the Hofbrauhaus. The location was perfect, only short walks to (and home from) the Hofbrauhaus, the Viktualenmarkt and Marienplatz.
Overall, the Cortiina was a good choice and we recommend it.
While we hadn't expected it, late February and March was a good time to visit Munich. There were not many tourists. It was comfortable for walking and sightseeing. The weather was so nice that we had lunch at outdoor beer gardens each day.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristina E, Geschäftsführer at CORTIINA Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014
Google Translation

Lieber John M,

es freut uns zu hören, dass es Ihnen so gut bei uns gefallen hat.
Vor allem unsere zentrale Lage macht es möglich verschiedenste Ausflüge von uns aus zu starten.

Wir wünschen Ihnen alles gute und hoffentlich bis bald in München.

Freundliche Grüße,

Ihre Kristina Eder
Direktion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I stayed at Cortiina Hotel on February 2014. Amazing hotel, well located, good breakfast, very clean and always with nice people at the restaurant. I strongly reccommend it for people that are looking for good value for money!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natyzinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I stayed at the Hotel Cortiina for a week-end and was overall very happy with the stay.
Check-in at reception was very friendly. When I told them at reception that I wanted a quiet room (as I have been told that the rooms facing the street can be very noisy) they showed me two rooms that went to the backyard and let me choose which one I wanted. The room was quite spacious and nicely decorated and was indeed very quiet. Our room rate included breakfast - breakfast was ok, not a very big buffet but everything you needed was there. The hotel is very well located, close to Marienplatz, so very convenient if you want to discover Munich. One of the main reason why I would not give a 5 point rating is because of the bed: they only seem to have queen size beds - I would have expected a king size bed, especially because the rooms are surely spacious enough for a king size bed.
Overall, I would stay in this hotel again when going to Munich.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room as the rooms facing the street or being just above the bar tend to be noisy
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank M_OnTheMove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#14 of 391 in Munich
2,092 reviews
0.2 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#12 of 391 in Munich
782 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#10 of 391 in Munich
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#4 of 391 in Munich
739 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 391 in Munich
1,655 reviews
1 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CORTIINA Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CORTIINA Hotel

Address: Ledererstr. 8, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 391 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: £168 - £373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — CORTIINA Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The design hotel CORTIINA opened in 2001 in the city centre of Munich and extended its room portfolio six years later with spacious deluxe rooms with seperate kitchenette. CORTIINA Bar & Restaurant attracts with its cocktail creations hotel guests and local revellers equally. Exclusive and charming CORTIINA Hotel welcomes guests from all over the world in the city centre of Munich. The clientele is as manifold as the hotel itself: international, modern and with love for design and detail. Business travellers, tourists and fans of architecture enjoy the simple elegance of 75 rooms. High-quality regional materials like bog oak, Jura natural stone, linen and bronze create a warm and comfortable atmosphere. With its excellent service team the design hotel offers a true home away from home to its guests. The CORTIINA Hotel was chosen by German Vogue as "hotel of the month" and was also added to the list of "Top Ten Boutique Hotels" by the Manager Magazine. The CORTIINA Hotel and the unique CORTIINA Bar & Restaurant are must-sees for design lovers and gourmets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your CORTIINA Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing