We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfriendly staff..or maybe they just don't like Americans”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel One Muenchen City Sued
Ranked #29 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Red Bank, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unfriendly staff..or maybe they just don't like Americans”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Very surprised by the unfriendly and unhelpful staff. Booked for a week on a business trip. Day 2 we wanted to sit at the hotel bar and have a drink before turning in after a long day at work. The bartender was rude, and completely ignored my friend when he attempted to order a beer. We wanted to pay for the drinks when served, and all 3 of us put Euros on the bar to pay separately. The bartender took the largest denomination bill, and charged all 3 drinks to one person, and then tried to play it off like he didn't understand what we wanted. On day 3 I came back to find my showerhead completely broken off the hose and sitting on the shower floor. I went down to the desk, and waited my turn to approach. The receptionist just stared at me for about 3 minutes, and then reluctantly told me she's have to move me to a new room. Not sure if she thought I was just turning the broken piece into the front desk? She took a bit of time, and gave me another room. Now these rooms are small, and spare, and not very new, but I'm really not that picky. This room clearly was not the same as the room I had previously checked in to. Then, for about the 4th time, my internet would not work. I had to go back down to the desk, wait in line behind 5 more people and request new log in credentials. Got the same woman who looked at me like I was being unreasonable or demanding or something..not sure what.
We've also had trouble all week getting cabs an have been late to appointments every day. These seem like minor things but I have to say right now, I'm in a very bad mood because of the way I have been made to feel as a guest from another country here in Germany. Very surprised and very disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the construction being done on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    282
    53
    7
    5
See reviews for
47
188
34
180
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

When you book an inexpensive hotel room, you never really know what you're going to get. I expected this to be closer to an Ibis type of experience but it was SO much better! The room was very clean and had plenty of room. Bed was reasonably comfortable and no noise problems from the hallway, neighbors or outside. Easy access to a UBahn station just steps away from the hotel front door (hint - there is an underground walkway if you exit and go right on the main road). Loved the securing parking for my rental car and the breakfast was great! Well worth the cost. Coffee machine made the most excellent coffee. There is also a convenience store/gas station just steps down the road (go left on the main road when you exit the hotel) - it was a great place for getting bottled water and coffee when necessary. I did have a difficult time finding an ATM in the area as there is not one at the hotel. Also, had some toasties from the hotel restaurant and they were quite good. Staff speaks excellent English. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellinMofo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Culemborg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

5 mins from U Bahn, sumpious breakfast, off street parking for 9€/d and a room that has everything you need and not more. It was nice. With a restaurant Mystikon close by it is a hit! Weekends tend to be cheaper as Motel 1 is a business motel. Expect different breakfast scenes on Monday than on Saturday or Sunday!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeesMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wien
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We were looking for a place along the highway on our trip through southern Germany, so we would not have to drive into a major city. The Motel One München City Süd was just what we were hoping for. The professional stuff made the check-in easy, the room was modern and clean and the breakfast was fine, too. A few hundered meters away there is a large park with a nice childrens playground. Ideal for a stopover along the way, probably not the aera you would want to stay at when going sightseeing in Munich, as it is too far from the city center.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NWagner88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Motel One is somewhere in between the French plastic chains such as Ibis (which I actually quite like) and the larger American hotel groups. The price was good for an expensive location and there were no nasty surprises, with breakfast a reasonable EUR 7.50 and overnight parking (very large garage) EUR 9. Free wifi was good. Rooms were very clean but had irritating designer features such as plugless basins, uncloseable windows and bedside tables concealed by pillar so no use for alarm clock. Breakfast conventional Euro-style, staff very friendly and helpful. Location is convenient for motorways, public transport (5 min walk) and not too noisy.
Overall, business-like, lacking in atmosphere but good value.

Room Tip: Probably quieter above floor 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nowra, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

The location is okay, a little far out of the centre of Munich but close to public transport which is good value and easy to use. The rooms aren't huge but if you spend all day sightseeing you only really need a bed and shower. The bed was comfy and the room was spotless. The bathroom was small but again very clean and the shower was big and clean. The decor is very modern and you do not feel like you have only paid budget price. The bar downstairs was a nice place to chill and have drinks and the bartender was super efficient and friendly! Breakfast is cheap but very substantial with a great choice. I would definitely stay again and will continue to use this chain of hotels!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessinaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Low price, good location (easy access to ring road). Clean but very small rooms. Kids can stay for free in parents' room but there is not much room. We had our 3 year old on the mattress of his pack and play (just the mattress, no hardware) and there was just enough room for that with our carry on suitcase placed on the table. Literally no room for anything else.
Lovely helpful staff.
Good value for a place to crash for one night on your way elsewhere

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMMummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
3.1 mi away
Ibis Muenchen City Arnulfpark
2.5 mi away
Jedermann Hotel
Jedermann Hotel
#25 of 383 in Munich
832 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bold Hotel Muenchen
Bold Hotel Muenchen
#49 of 383 in Munich
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
K+K Hotel am Harras
K+K Hotel am Harras
#24 of 383 in Munich
749 reviews
2.3 mi away
angelo by Vienna House Munich Westpark
3.7 mi away
Ibis Styles Munchen Ost Messe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel One Muenchen City Sued? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel One Muenchen City Sued

Property: Motel One Muenchen City Sued
Address: Tegernseer Landstr. 165, 81539 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Motel One Muenchen City Sued 2.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Motel One Muenchen City Sued reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing