We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Must for Contemporary Art Lovers”
Review of Museum Brandhorst

Museum Brandhorst
Ranked #63 of 314 things to do in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“A Must for Contemporary Art Lovers”
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We visited the Brandhorst on a rainy day since we had the combo ticket from the Pinakotheks, and because the Pinakothek Moderne is currently closed for renovations.

No photos are allowed inside, and the collection is easily to view in a short time period. The building exterior is fabulous. The small gift shop area was mostly books.

The small collection was really great- Cy Twombly, Andy Warhol, and usually some rotating exhibit. Gillian Wearing was the one while we visited. The advantage of having more works by fewer artists is to get a greater overall or in depth view of just a few artists, rather than a small sprinkling of many artists. This is a great opportunity for someone looking to explore a featured artist, but may leave others scratching their heads.

A must-see for modern art lovers. If you aren't a fan of modern or contemporary American art already, you could probably just skip this entirely and focus on some other Munich attractions that are of more interest to you.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank OttoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    81
    36
    13
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A must to visit in Munich”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

if you like modern art. The building itself is great, and inspiring, but also the collection itself is really interesting. Even without Andy Warhal, I would strongly advice visiting this great place.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Matias66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A very avant garde collection”
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We combined a ticket with the Alte Pinakothek, the Neue Pinakothek and Museum Brandhorst and visited them in order from early art, to modern art to ultra modern art. it was an overwhelming and captivating journey.
We found some of the installations not quite to our taste, but were fascinated to see so many Warhols, and a Damien Hirst.
The collection is comprehensive, covers a range of media and a must see for art lovers

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Whyallagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
428 reviews
115 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Art treasure in Munich!”
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Me and my wife found this art museum in central Munich. We visited a nice variety of art collections and were very impressed. Recommended not only for art lovers!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shanij60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great building and collection”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

As a birthday present from my wife I got this private guided tour through the Brandhorst museum. It isn't cheap maybe but it really adds a lot to the whole experience and you get to here some much more. She told us a lot about Hirst, Warhol, Nauman and many others. Highlight was coming up to Cy Twombly's room and here about the interesting story behind the paintings.
The building by Sauerbruch Hutton is marvelous, from the conceptual level to the details. It's just right!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank GerardFS77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Museum Brandhorst also viewed

 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Museum Brandhorst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing