We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hospitality and a wonderful stay, highly recommended!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pension am Jakobsplatz
Ranked #1 of 65 Munich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great hospitality and a wonderful stay, highly recommended!”
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Our stay at Pension am Jakobsplatz was for 5 nights in June and I must say that I enjoyed my stay throughout in the Pension.
The Pension is located near the city centre Marienplatz. From the train station, it just takes a less than 5 min walk to reach so its really convenient. Moreover, Marienplatz is very close to quite a number of the tourist attractions in Munich, including shopping sites.

For my rooms, the size are not that big but comfortable enough for staying and making my way around the rooms. The rooms and bathrooms are very clean with a modern decor, water pressure and water heaters were just right. I can see that the owner put thought into the design and layout of the facilities in the rooms and bathrooms because common used things were within easy reach when you needed them.
Room service for cleaning up of rooms was prompt and well-done for my return back at night. Although the Pension is not a big place, the cosy setting and warm lights made the place comfortable to stay.

Breakfast was sufficient with a variety of fresh bread rolls, muesli, yoghurt, teas, coffee, cheese and ham and some fruit.

WiFi was readily available and there were no problems with accessing the internet. For those who do not have a laptop with them can use the shared laptop the Pension provides.

A section of the Pension had many travel books, guides, maps and all sorts of magazines which is useful for travellers and guests who can't sleep in the night.

Last but not least, I have to commend Christoph for his warm and genuine hospitality and great service for my trip to Munich. Upon arrival, he has made us feel right at home by orientating us to the Pension, offered lots of valuable advice on how to make our way around Munich, and recommended great restaurants for dinner. He was always willing to help and very friendly which i think made a huge difference for a typical overseas stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    85
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
78
233
31
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

We stayed at Pension am Jakobsplatz for 2 nights in June, following a trip to Regensburg. The Pension is ideally situated, just a few minutes walk from Marienplatz, the main square in the heart of the city. All the main sights in Munich are within easy walking distance, and there are also trams and the extensive underground system if required.

Our room was fairly small and simply furnished, but was very comfortable and clean. We enjoyed sitting on the window "seat", drinking tea and looking out onto the street below!

What makes this Pension special is Christoph. His warm welcome, and helpful information about sights to see and places to eat, made our arrival and first impressions very positive. Everything at the Pension is relaxed and homely. Christoph prepares an excellent breakfast and "takes care" of his guests in a genuinely friendly way. A great place to stay and highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monmouth_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TO
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

Stayed for 3 or 4 nites at the start of our trip. Loved the location. Enjoyed the breakfast every morning, especially the fresh bread and coffee. We had an early morning 1 day and asked Christoph if he could leave us something to eat first thing. He kindly set the table with a reservation for us, and provided some toast, jam, juices and some fruit. Great host, great homey vibe. We'd definitly visit again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Addman28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alaska
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

Jakob was very friendly and the hotel was the best price of our trip. Nice, strong coffee and good light breakfast. Only two blocks from the Marienplatz.

Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank aktravelseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joplin, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

My 13-year-old son and I stayed five nights. Prime location and Christoph was a very helpful and gracious host. Would definitely stay there again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dantrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, ON
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

We stayed 2 nights at Pension on Jakobsplatz, and enjoyed our stay very much. Right upon arrival, Christoph made us feel very welcome, giving us an orientation to the pension and pointing out things of interest on the map of München. Both of his dinner suggestions turned out to be excellent. Our room was very clean, modern and comfortable, although he said he would be making some renovation-type changes to it at some point. We had one of the rooms with shared WC, which was not any inconvenience. Breakfast was varied and plentiful, and available until the civilized hour of 10am. The location so close to the city center can't be beat. Upon arrival in the city, we walked from the train station to the pension, which was a bit of a schlepp but OK if you don't have too much stuff. Christoph has city books and travel guides you can look at or borrow, and even a selection of shampoos, toothpaste, etc. left by other travelers, in case you forget yours. And the price is very very reasonable.
A note about the sleep quality. The bed was very comfortable indeed and if you have no problem sleeping with some noise, you'll be fine. Because the outside temperature was so nice, though, we slept with the window open, and that let in quite a lot of the outside noise as well as the fresh air. Although the rooms are up on what North Americans call the second floor, you can hear people walking on the street and some car noise. Also the workers on a nearby building site tended to start rather earlier than we wanted to wake up! But the windows are quite substantial and closing them would have been better for the noise level. Also, at least one of the rooms does not face the street, so you could ask Christoph about that when you get a reservation.
All in all, this is a great place to base yourself while enjoying München, and I can't recommend it highly enough. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gamelaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Stayed three nights and then an additional later two nights at Pension am Jakobsplatz in May. Perfect time of the year to visit Munich, the rest of Bavaria, and Austria. Christoph is a welcoming host and a ready source of information about the city. Easy three block walk from the Marienplatz S8 stop and easier to roll your own luggage down the pedestrian walk than to take the taxi three blocks.

Easy to find on-street parking near the door to the B&B if you wait a little bit or time it right.

Duane

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WatacheCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.6 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,471 reviews
0.4 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#14 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,897 reviews
0.2 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#15 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
0.4 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#12 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Blauer Bock
Hotel Blauer Bock
#17 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension am Jakobsplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension am Jakobsplatz

Property: Pension am Jakobsplatz
Address: Dultstr. 1, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Pension am Jakobsplatz" is located on the first floor of a quiet side street only 300 metres from Marienplatz. It features modern, comfortable rooms with bath or shower, TV and Wi-Fi. Check in possible any time by appointment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pension am Jakobsplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Am Jakobsplatz Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing