We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply WONDERFUL!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pension am Jakobsplatz
Ranked #1 of 65 Munich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Simply WONDERFUL!!”
Reviewed 16 July 2011

Jackobsplatz is one of the best places we've ever stayed at! We liked absolutely everything about it:
1) Great central location - just 5-minute walk from Marienplatz
2) Wonderful host - we ariived late in the night and Christoph was there in 10 minutes especially for us. He's so helpful and makes everything to help you with whatever you need!
3) There're only several rooms (4-5), and the atmoshere of the total place is very comfortable - you can freely use many travel magazines, historic and other books, you can take fruit in the kitchen. or beverages from fridge (you just sign what you take)
4) Rooms are small, but very thoughtfully equipped, the space is very smartly used. We had room3 with shared bathroom, no problems with that. Everything very clean.
5) Breakfast is simple, but very good - fresh warm breads from near market, different jams, cereals etc.It's simple but again very carefully chosen and all fresh.
6) Free wi-fi! We travelled through all Germany and it was the only place with hi-speed free wi-fi, which nowadays I think is a must for every, even budget hotel!
7) The price is more than reasonable for such an awesome place!

Thank you Cristoph, we spent absolutely wonderful time at your place!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnaKir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    85
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
81
237
31
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

We really enjoyed our stayed here, Christoph and his son are really amazing hosts.
The B&B is really close to Marienplatz where you can enjoy the daily life of this amazing city and also you would find here one of many beer gardens.
We really appreciated Christoph and his son Marcos graciousness and kindness.
Definitely a place that we would recommend, thanks for all!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgmpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Highly recommended! Perfect location, easy to get to from train station and airport. Clean, modern and great breakfast with fresh produce. Free and fast WiFi. Christof is the most gracious and discreet host. He also recommended great places to eat and enjoy Munich the way the locals do. My husband and I plan to go back soon!

Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank black27192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in May and only wish we have more time in Christoph's B&B. Christoph himself was lovely and extremly helpful- upon our arrival (which was very early in the morning) he recommended several different places to visit and tours to go on (Mike's bike tours, restaurants, markets etc), many of which I would recommend to others visiting Munich.
The room was cosy and very, very clean! Christoph even cleaned our room quickly, which allowed us to check in early. Breakfast was simple but glorious. Yummy museli, meats, cheese and several different varieties of bread.
Location is fantastic. It's in a very quiet area, about a 3-5 minute walk from Marienplatz!
We'll definitely stay here when we visit Munich again!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LheartS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Our stay at Pension am Jakobsplatz was for 5 nights in June and I must say that I enjoyed my stay throughout in the Pension.
The Pension is located near the city centre Marienplatz. From the train station, it just takes a less than 5 min walk to reach so its really convenient. Moreover, Marienplatz is very close to quite a number of the tourist attractions in Munich, including shopping sites.

For my rooms, the size are not that big but comfortable enough for staying and making my way around the rooms. The rooms and bathrooms are very clean with a modern decor, water pressure and water heaters were just right. I can see that the owner put thought into the design and layout of the facilities in the rooms and bathrooms because common used things were within easy reach when you needed them.
Room service for cleaning up of rooms was prompt and well-done for my return back at night. Although the Pension is not a big place, the cosy setting and warm lights made the place comfortable to stay.

Breakfast was sufficient with a variety of fresh bread rolls, muesli, yoghurt, teas, coffee, cheese and ham and some fruit.

WiFi was readily available and there were no problems with accessing the internet. For those who do not have a laptop with them can use the shared laptop the Pension provides.

A section of the Pension had many travel books, guides, maps and all sorts of magazines which is useful for travellers and guests who can't sleep in the night.

Last but not least, I have to commend Christoph for his warm and genuine hospitality and great service for my trip to Munich. Upon arrival, he has made us feel right at home by orientating us to the Pension, offered lots of valuable advice on how to make our way around Munich, and recommended great restaurants for dinner. He was always willing to help and very friendly which i think made a huge difference for a typical overseas stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

We stayed at Pension am Jakobsplatz for 2 nights in June, following a trip to Regensburg. The Pension is ideally situated, just a few minutes walk from Marienplatz, the main square in the heart of the city. All the main sights in Munich are within easy walking distance, and there are also trams and the extensive underground system if required.

Our room was fairly small and simply furnished, but was very comfortable and clean. We enjoyed sitting on the window "seat", drinking tea and looking out onto the street below!

What makes this Pension special is Christoph. His warm welcome, and helpful information about sights to see and places to eat, made our arrival and first impressions very positive. Everything at the Pension is relaxed and homely. Christoph prepares an excellent breakfast and "takes care" of his guests in a genuinely friendly way. A great place to stay and highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monmouth_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TO
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

Stayed for 3 or 4 nites at the start of our trip. Loved the location. Enjoyed the breakfast every morning, especially the fresh bread and coffee. We had an early morning 1 day and asked Christoph if he could leave us something to eat first thing. He kindly set the table with a reservation for us, and provided some toast, jam, juices and some fruit. Great host, great homey vibe. We'd definitly visit again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Addman28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.4 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
0.4 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#16 of 382 in Munich
1,966 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#7 of 382 in Munich
1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#15 of 382 in Munich
732 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#10 of 382 in Munich
1,018 reviews
0.5 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#9 of 382 in Munich
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension am Jakobsplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension am Jakobsplatz

Property: Pension am Jakobsplatz
Address: Dultstr. 1, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Pension am Jakobsplatz" is located on the first floor of a quiet side street only 300 metres from Marienplatz. It features modern, comfortable rooms with bath or shower, TV and Wi-Fi. Check in possible any time by appointment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Pension am Jakobsplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Am Jakobsplatz Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing