We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great position”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pension am Jakobsplatz
Ranked #1 of 67 Munich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Perfect position close to historic centre of Munich. Only 5 minutes walk to old town hall and central markets. Clean and comfortable and great value for money. Deserves its high ranking on trip advisor.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (476)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

220 - 226 of 476 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2013

Excellent location especially for the Christmas markets. The hosts were very friendly and helpful with information about the city. I was in a room with it's own bathroom. The only downside was the shower was very small even by German standards (in my opinon). But aside from that I found nothing wrong. The beds were comfortable. The breakfast is plentiful and tasty. I would stay here again when visiting Munich.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aunt_Tutu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

My husband and I were guests at the Jakobsplatz for three nights in late November. Our room was one of the two with the toilet outside the room. We did have a shower and wash basin in our room. The room itself is very small, but clean with a large window that floods the room with light. It was perfect for our needs as we were there only to sleep, and the beds were soft and comfy. Christoph and Marko were friendly and helpful, and provided a breakfast of breads, jams, meats, and cheeses. We would stay again at the Pension am Jakobsplatz, and it was the perfect choice for viewing the Christmas Markets in Marienplatz!

Room Tip: If you could get an en-suite room, I'm assuming that it would be larger and you would have more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maxman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

What a great little place this is! Yes, the rooms are quite small, and the furnishings are basic but comfortable - but it's clean, warm, quiet and very well positioned for the centre of town and the subway. Christoph and Peter were both very kind and helpful, taking the time (in excellent English!) to explain where the points of interest were and recommending great restaurants - their enthusiasm for their city was evident. Breakfast was good and the always available tea/coffee/honesty fridge was much appreciated.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bakinglady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

The Pension am Jacobplatz provides good value, comfortable accommodation conveniently located in Central Munich. Nothing is too much trouble for friendly Hosts Christoph and Marko. From meeting guests arriving ahead of schedule (us) and rescuing guests locked in their room (not us) to mailing items left behind (us again!) Christoph quickly came to the rescue. The pension is within easy walking distance of all the main sites and we would not hesitate to stay there again should we be in Munich.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank trabern88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed here for two nights and loved it. The price and location were excellent, the hosts friendly and helpful and the breakfast plentiful. The room and shower are quite small and the toilet down the hall, but honestly it was a great experience and made the trip to this expensive city affordable. The breakfast room is available all day if you want to spread out and have a cup of tea (hot pot and tea makings are also available 24/7). There's great wifi service. The hosts aren't there much of the time, but there are umbrellas by the door and maps and books galore. The bed was comfy and the whole establishment was SPOTLESS. Don't hesitate (unless you're claustrophobic or get too aggravated by a shower curtain sticking to your bum from time to time)

Room Tip: There are only a few rooms to choose from so don't worry too much...Don't be afraid to show...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redheadjeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

The location of this pension really is fabulous, all the key attractions in central Munich are incredibly close by and easily reached on foot.

Christoph is a great host, giving us a warm welcome and very thorough overview of things to see and do while in Munich. He also gave some good tips for places to eat.

There are 4 rooms in total, with a communal lounge/dining space and shared toilet. The rooms are a bit small, with a double bed, basic bookshelf/table and bedside tables the only furniture. The shower and sink is in the room with you, it is only separated by a section of wall (no door). By far my favourite part of the room was the indoor windowsill ledge, big enough to sit on comfortably and look out to the street below.

The rooms are not the quietest however, as one night we were kept awake by new arrivals in the room next door until after midnight.

Breakfast is nice, basic but sufficient to get you going for the day.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Lil_SK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#10 of 385 in Munich
1,066 reviews
0.4 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#14 of 385 in Munich
2,033 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#7 of 385 in Munich
1,701 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#8 of 385 in Munich
1,069 reviews
0.2 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#13 of 385 in Munich
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension am Jakobsplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension am Jakobsplatz

Address: Dultstr. 1, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in Munich
Price Range: £79 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Pension am Jakobsplatz" is located on the first floor of a quiet side street only 300 metres from Marienplatz. It features modern, comfortable rooms with bath or shower, TV and Wi-Fi. Check in possible any time by appointment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Pension am Jakobsplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Am Jakobsplatz Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing