We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the most convenient and safe location and run by personable, clean owners, my husband and I are recommending this to all our ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pension am Jakobsplatz
Ranked #1 of 66 Munich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2014

First, the service was friendly, accommodating, and over-the-top helpful. After the owner checked us into our room, he sat down with us for nearly an hour familiarizing us with the city and recommending activities according to our interests. Second, the room was clean and functional. Although small, it included a large bed, desk, shelves, hooks, hangers, sink, towels, shower, and containers for toiletries. I gave the room a 4 only because we shared a toilet with other guests (there are only 4 rooms). However, I got used to it and thought, "Well, who wants a toilet by their bed anyway?" I felt the sink and shower were sufficient, and I never ran into another guest en route to the new bathroom. Third, the yummy breakfast was a traditional German spread served in a cozy dining room with fresh bread, meat and cheese selection, fruits, jellies, nut butters, yogurt, granola and nut cereal toppings, milk, coffee, tea, and juice. We bought Munich snacks during the day and didn't need to eat another full meal until about 4:00. Finally, the location was perfect. We first tried to find a spot near the train station, as that was our main way of traveling, however, the reasonably-priced ones were full. With the $27 for 2 people Bavarian train ticket we hopped on the S-tram (included in the train ticket) and 2 stops later we exited at Marienplatz and rolled our luggage 2 blocks to the pension. Trust me: we are inexperienced travelers and were nervous the whole time, however Christof put us at ease immediately with his warm welcome, helpful tips, and clean accommodations.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Momof7goodkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (482)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

207 - 213 of 482 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

Staying in central Munich can be very pricey, and we were on a budget. Lucky to find this place.

The whole staff was welcoming and friendly. Cristoph was there waiting for us, even though our train into Munich was delayed. He explained everything we would need to know about the city and the Pension.

The room was simple but comfortable. We were in one of two rooms with the shared toilet, but it was always clean and never a problem. Having a sink and shower in the room worked well. Unlike the other small places we stayed on our trip, they actually cleaned the room- made the bed ect.- each day. The room could have used another lamp as it was a little dark, but that didn't bother us really. Breakfast was pretty standard for what we got across Germany. I did really enjoy the yougurt with all the mix-ins (granola, seeds, dried fruit, raisons).

You can't beat the location of the Pension. 5 minute walk from Marienplatz. You can easility walk to all of Central Munich's sites. The only time I took public transportation was to/from the train station and going outside the city.

The only problem we had was arriving into Munich, our cab driver from the train station couldn't find it. We were getting into Munich at night, and I just didn't want to deal with trying to find the place in the dark- so we took a cab. He had no idea how to get to the place. We ended up getting out of the car at parking facility mentioned and then walking around for 10 minutes to find it. Perhaps some clear step by step driving directions in German would be helpful. Or it could have been our driver was just an idiot :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Chicasarita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

very convinient place close to Marienplatz, just in center. Nice appartment, everything is clean and cozy. Free bananase and apples in kitchen available 24hrs. Tasty breakfast and polite Hostel crew. I recommend this place. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nikolayKazantsev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My 12-year-old son and I just had a wonderful stay. Christoph and his son and other staff were extraordinarily welcoming and helpful, with great suggestions about activities and restaurants that we would not otherwise have known about, like the huge and entertaining flea market on the Oktoberfest grounds, or the amazing view of the Alps from the top of St. Peters. We felt very safe and cared for. The location is fantastic, on a small street off one of the pedestrian-only shopping streets, so very quiet at night and great for sleeping. It is steps from the Munich city museum; steps beyond that is a great neighborhood of fun shops and restaurants (Sebastian platz and Cornelius Strasse neighborhoods; the Viktualienmarkt). Breakfast was generous and delicious (tea and fruit always available), and they kindly provided food for us on our last day when we had to leave before the regular breakfast time for an early flight. We stayed in both rooms 2 and 3 (with a trip to Salzburg in between). Both have window seats where my son loved to curl up and read while I got ready. Extremely comfortable beds and very clean. A lovely stay!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Location is jst in the heart of everything, very cozy and nice rooms and incredibly helpful owner who tells you everything and more about whatever you want :-) definitely recommended for those who look for great value for money and best location :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Meskalito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Really enjoyed our stay at pension am jakobsplatz, Ideally located in centre and close to train station which is cheap to travel everywhere. Staff couldnt help you enough, we were their priority and it was a pleasure to stay there. The rooms are clean, fantastic place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katieryan1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed in room one during December 2011. The location was excellent 500 meter from Marienplatz and very central to public transportation as well. Christoph was also very helpful with suggestions on activities, restaurants and places to see. The breakfast in the mornings was really good and the breads were awesome. Room 1 looks out onto the street, but during the night there isn't a lot of noise and traffic coming from the street. We didn't open any windows as we were there in winter and the restaurant down below weren't very loud. Yes, the rooms are small, but it didn't bother us as we were only there to sleep, during the day we were out and about. My husband is a very light sleeper and sometimes people coming and going on the stairs woke him up, but during our stay Christoph was busy replacing all doors with soundproof doors so that might already be sorted. We had a lovely time over New Year's Eve. If we return we will go back to Pension am Jakobsplatz

Room Tip: Room 4 might be quieter than room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SuperK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#7 of 388 in Munich
1,135 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 388 in Munich
1,742 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Blauer Bock
Hotel Blauer Bock
#16 of 388 in Munich
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#13 of 388 in Munich
2,053 reviews
4.7 mi away
Bed and Breakfast Zeevat
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bayers
Hotel Bayers
#2 of 66 in Munich
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension am Jakobsplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension am Jakobsplatz

Address: Dultstr. 1, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Munich
Price Range: £78 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Pension am Jakobsplatz" is located on the first floor of a quiet side street only 300 metres from Marienplatz. It features modern, comfortable rooms with bath or shower, TV and Wi-Fi. Check in possible any time by appointment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Pension am Jakobsplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Am Jakobsplatz Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing