We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular location and service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pension am Jakobsplatz
Ranked #1 of 65 Munich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spectacular location and service!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We could not have been happier with the accommodations or the service. The location is phenomenal and they were so helpful when we need some advice about the Munich area. We would definitely stay again if we had the chance to do so!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    85
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
80
236
31
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Christoph/Phillip's place was the most efficient pension I've ever experienced, I couldn't recommend it more highly. My wife and I were in München 3 nights, we stayed in one of the two shared-bathroom rooms (which has its own shower in the room). Christoph/Phillip were extremely nice/helpful during our visit to the exceptionally clean, quiet, and efficient city. We are a late-twenties married couple and were on our honeymoon. The pension was booked all three nights of our stay, so book early. Breakfast was pleasant and a good chance to meet other travelers.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnaddicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key Biscayne, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Yes the location was perfect, right off the walking street. It was perfectly quiet at night even though our open window faced the street. A great pension is made by the owner and his careful design and operation. Christoph was always there in the morning to lay out a simple but fresh breakfast. He would give daily advice on touring and eating. When I say he was there, he was RIGHT THERE, the dining place being so small. The rooms were tiny too. But you know what, with the right design, all our needs were met and there was always somewhere to place or hang your stuff. I am saying again though Christoph. Have your laundry put some softener in the towel wash cycle (gr).

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank handyman74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacaville, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2014

First, the service was friendly, accommodating, and over-the-top helpful. After the owner checked us into our room, he sat down with us for nearly an hour familiarizing us with the city and recommending activities according to our interests. Second, the room was clean and functional. Although small, it included a large bed, desk, shelves, hooks, hangers, sink, towels, shower, and containers for toiletries. I gave the room a 4 only because we shared a toilet with other guests (there are only 4 rooms). However, I got used to it and thought, "Well, who wants a toilet by their bed anyway?" I felt the sink and shower were sufficient, and I never ran into another guest en route to the new bathroom. Third, the yummy breakfast was a traditional German spread served in a cozy dining room with fresh bread, meat and cheese selection, fruits, jellies, nut butters, yogurt, granola and nut cereal toppings, milk, coffee, tea, and juice. We bought Munich snacks during the day and didn't need to eat another full meal until about 4:00. Finally, the location was perfect. We first tried to find a spot near the train station, as that was our main way of traveling, however, the reasonably-priced ones were full. With the $27 for 2 people Bavarian train ticket we hopped on the S-tram (included in the train ticket) and 2 stops later we exited at Marienplatz and rolled our luggage 2 blocks to the pension. Trust me: we are inexperienced travelers and were nervous the whole time, however Christof put us at ease immediately with his warm welcome, helpful tips, and clean accommodations.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Momof7goodkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Staying in central Munich can be very pricey, and we were on a budget. Lucky to find this place.

The whole staff was welcoming and friendly. Cristoph was there waiting for us, even though our train into Munich was delayed. He explained everything we would need to know about the city and the Pension.

The room was simple but comfortable. We were in one of two rooms with the shared toilet, but it was always clean and never a problem. Having a sink and shower in the room worked well. Unlike the other small places we stayed on our trip, they actually cleaned the room- made the bed ect.- each day. The room could have used another lamp as it was a little dark, but that didn't bother us really. Breakfast was pretty standard for what we got across Germany. I did really enjoy the yougurt with all the mix-ins (granola, seeds, dried fruit, raisons).

You can't beat the location of the Pension. 5 minute walk from Marienplatz. You can easility walk to all of Central Munich's sites. The only time I took public transportation was to/from the train station and going outside the city.

The only problem we had was arriving into Munich, our cab driver from the train station couldn't find it. We were getting into Munich at night, and I just didn't want to deal with trying to find the place in the dark- so we took a cab. He had no idea how to get to the place. We ended up getting out of the car at parking facility mentioned and then walking around for 10 minutes to find it. Perhaps some clear step by step driving directions in German would be helpful. Or it could have been our driver was just an idiot :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Chicasarita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

very convinient place close to Marienplatz, just in center. Nice appartment, everything is clean and cozy. Free bananase and apples in kitchen available 24hrs. Tasty breakfast and polite Hostel crew. I recommend this place. Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank nikolayKazantsev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My 12-year-old son and I just had a wonderful stay. Christoph and his son and other staff were extraordinarily welcoming and helpful, with great suggestions about activities and restaurants that we would not otherwise have known about, like the huge and entertaining flea market on the Oktoberfest grounds, or the amazing view of the Alps from the top of St. Peters. We felt very safe and cared for. The location is fantastic, on a small street off one of the pedestrian-only shopping streets, so very quiet at night and great for sleeping. It is steps from the Munich city museum; steps beyond that is a great neighborhood of fun shops and restaurants (Sebastian platz and Cornelius Strasse neighborhoods; the Viktualienmarkt). Breakfast was generous and delicious (tea and fruit always available), and they kindly provided food for us on our last day when we had to leave before the regular breakfast time for an early flight. We stayed in both rooms 2 and 3 (with a trip to Salzburg in between). Both have window seats where my son loved to curl up and read while I got ready. Extremely comfortable beds and very clean. A lovely stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.4 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
0.6 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#7 of 383 in Munich
1,532 reviews
0.4 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#15 of 383 in Munich
1,943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#13 of 383 in Munich
723 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#11 of 383 in Munich
1,005 reviews
0.5 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#8 of 383 in Munich
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension am Jakobsplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension am Jakobsplatz

Property: Pension am Jakobsplatz
Address: Dultstr. 1, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Pension am Jakobsplatz" is located on the first floor of a quiet side street only 300 metres from Marienplatz. It features modern, comfortable rooms with bath or shower, TV and Wi-Fi. Check in possible any time by appointment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Pension am Jakobsplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Am Jakobsplatz Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing