We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Certainly not a Carlton....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Carlton Astoria
Ranked #219 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Southern California
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Certainly not a Carlton....”
Reviewed 3 August 2012

This small hotel is well situated and has a great breakfast buffet. Very helpful staff with good English. BUT: the single rooms on the upper floors are slightly upgraded dorm rooms. As sparse as they can be: bed, chair, desk, tiny bathroom with a shower stall, low ceiling, rather claustrophobic. The 1st floor (2nd for European readers) double rooms are larger with higher ceilings. The bathroom is still tiny and barely accomodates one person at a time. Toiletries are basic: shampoo and soap come out of one dispenser, bring your own conditioner and lotion. No air conditioning: one has to open the window with accompanying street and construction noises. No wi-fi in most floors, one has to go down to the lobby to check e-mail.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbug2408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    42
    23
    3
    0
See reviews for
5
21
3
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

The Carlton Astoria is a small, but very well situated Hotel in Munich. It's walking distance to Marienplatz, Die Englisher Garten, Schwabing and so on. It's between the Odeon Platz and University U-Bahn Stations.

The Hotel is small and outdated, but offers ok 3-star accomodation. However, in Summer the rooms are very warm, so be prepared for a rather sweaty sleep. When you've gotten through the night though, there is an excellent breakfast waiting for you. A lovely start to the day with good food, coffee and smiling waitresses. Top notch in my book.

The rest of the staff consists of opposites. There is one that always smilies and offers kind words. Another has good and bad days, while the third is not at all happy with her job. Ignore her and you'll be happy with your experience.

The hotel needs a renovation. For example, my shower kept malfunctioning the last time I was there and I had to hold the shower myself while showering. Not a big deal, but a little irritating.

All in all, the hotel is ok, but nothing for the picky. If central location and affordable price are important factors for you, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cieon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Rooms are very small and not very fresh. It's dusty and old. Furniture is very old. Not good smell inside. Service is awful. Internet is expesive. Bathroom very tiny and uncomfortable. A queue at unattended reception

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Urlmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2011

We stayed here for a week in April 2011. The hotel is very clean, and the staff are helpful (they all speak very good English). The room was larger than we expected and very comfortable. It was a GREAT location for getting to the downtown area, although a little inconvenient for the subway.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QuantumMeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuscany
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2011

The hotel is in a nice part of Munich, with some shops and restaurants nearby. The hotel is currently under renovation, there was no lamp in my corridor. Parking is nearby and the lady gave us wrong directions (and no map). On the internet site they say there is free internet, but we had to pay 5 euros for the cable.
Nice breakfast in a small room.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Napina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here for the weekend in the run-up to Christmas. It is in a fantastic location within easy walking distance to the old town, the English Garden and the art museums. It's a short walk to Odeonsplatz U-bahn station.

Check-in was friendly and the staff speak very good English if required. The front desk staff are very efficient and we had no problems booking a taxi through them.

Our room was recently refurbished and a good size with a shower only bathroom. It was very clean and light even though the communal corridors are a little bit dingy. The room was rather too warm though and we had to have the window open even though it was snowing outside.

Breakfast was served in a small dining room, but had a good selection of cereals, cold meat, cheese, baked goods and juices etc. The dining room is pretty small, so we had to wait for a table to be cleared one morning, but we didn't have to wait long.

I have no qualms about recommending this hotel: it's an ideal place for a reasonably priced weekend break.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drwibble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayden, Idaho
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2010

We love love loved this hotel! We arrived early in the AM, our room was not available so we were upgraded to a double room for the same cost so that we could get in right away after a night of train travel. The room was the most spacious and comfortable of all the hotels we stayed in during our trip to Europe. The metro was not far from our hotel and we found our way around with ease. The rooms were beautiful and the lobby was gorgeous. Breakfast consisted of a lot of fresh fruit and pasteries. Oktoberfest was INSANE and we don't recommend going opening weekend!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hauser an der Universitaet
0.2 mi away
das Hotel in Munchen
das Hotel in Munchen
#245 of 382 in Munich
143 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Konigswache
Hotel Konigswache
#229 of 382 in Munich
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Adria Munchen
Hotel Adria Munchen
#120 of 382 in Munich
300 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ruby Lilly Hotel Munich
Ruby Lilly Hotel Munich
#35 of 382 in Munich
695 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Splendid-Dollmann
Hotel Splendid-Dollmann
#57 of 382 in Munich
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton Astoria

Property: Hotel Carlton Astoria
Address: Fuerstenstr. 12, 80333 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #219 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Carlton Astoria 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Carlton Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing