We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Carlton Astoria
Nearby Hotels
Platzl Hotel(Munich)
US$263
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$251
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$199
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$224
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Marc Munchen(Munich)
US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Hotel Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Vi Vadi Hotel(Munich)(Great Value!)
US$153
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
KING's HOTEL Center(Munich)(Great Value!)
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Holiday Inn Munich - Westpark(Munich)(Great Value!)
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$514
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$396
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (91)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveller rating
12
47
29
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
47
29
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshort walkbusiness triproom was spaciouscentral locationquiet streetbuffet breakfastfree wifitrain stationodeonsplatzreceptionkeyscarpetgermanelevatorpillowsstops
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 91 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2013

You can reach the central (pedestrian) area of Munich from this hotel in about 15 minutes on foot. The hotel is comfortable and the buffet breakfast was rich. The room (#211) was quite small and had a view on the back of the building, but for the rest it was very clean and was serviced daily. The price is not bad, considering that Munich is quite expensive in general.

Room Tip: #211 has a view on the back of the building, the bathroom window leads to the fire escape stairs.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank f64CM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

This hotel is in a very good location of Munich. It is located in Munich's university area within proximity of a number of restaurants, bars and cafes. It is also in within walking distance to Marienplatz, the museum's area, Leopoldstrasse and Englischer Garten.

our room was a bit outdated but clean and spacious. The staff is friendly and helpful. You get free wifi and the breakfast buffet offers a good choice.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chica_ag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in September 2012 and really enjoyed our stay. It was centrally located, about a 10 min walk to the Marienplatz and Banhofbahn. The breakfast was probably the best we had anywhere in Europe during our 3 week stay with the most selection. The room was quite average in size and clean. The ladies behind the counter were friendly, but didn't always have the best knowledge for how to get to places such as Neuschwanstein and Dachau and we ended up just figuring it out on our own. They do have a computer in the lobby you can use to access the internet which was very helpful!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mallory L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

This small hotel is well situated and has a great breakfast buffet. Very helpful staff with good English. BUT: the single rooms on the upper floors are slightly upgraded dorm rooms. As sparse as they can be: bed, chair, desk, tiny bathroom with a shower stall, low ceiling, rather claustrophobic. The 1st floor (2nd for European readers) double rooms are larger with higher ceilings. The bathroom is still tiny and barely accomodates one person at a time. Toiletries are basic: shampoo and soap come out of one dispenser, bring your own conditioner and lotion. No air conditioning: one has to open the window with accompanying street and construction noises. No wi-fi in most floors, one has to go down to the lobby to check e-mail.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelbug2408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

The Carlton Astoria is a small, but very well situated Hotel in Munich. It's walking distance to Marienplatz, Die Englisher Garten, Schwabing and so on. It's between the Odeon Platz and University U-Bahn Stations.

The Hotel is small and outdated, but offers ok 3-star accomodation. However, in Summer the rooms are very warm, so be prepared for a rather sweaty sleep. When you've gotten through the night though, there is an excellent breakfast waiting for you. A lovely start to the day with good food, coffee and smiling waitresses. Top notch in my book.

The rest of the staff consists of opposites. There is one that always smilies and offers kind words. Another has good and bad days, while the third is not at all happy with her job. Ignore her and you'll be happy with your experience.

The hotel needs a renovation. For example, my shower kept malfunctioning the last time I was there and I had to hold the shower myself while showering. Not a big deal, but a little irritating.

All in all, the hotel is ok, but nothing for the picky. If central location and affordable price are important factors for you, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cieon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews