We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Carlton Astoria
Ranked #219 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Tired hotel, great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is a tired, old hotel that badly needs updating. Rooms are small and cramped, furniture looks at least 20 years old. Beds are somewhat small, and on the hard side. Shower space and bathroom in general are small, with thin towels, and one dispenser for soap/shampoo. The doors in the room had big scratches, and in general place feels kind of downmarket. Be warned, there is no A/C, and the room felt warm and stuffy even on cool May days. Elevator is ancient, and they still have real keys with a half-pound room-number weight attached to it.

In fairness, the place also has some strong positives, including superb location close to all the main tourist attractions, clean, a very good breakfast buffet, fast Internet, and genuinely caring and helpful staff. If only somebody is willing to invest in the property, this could be a great little hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank idichev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    39
    22
    3
    0
See reviews for
4
21
2
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

We had a great weekend stay in Munich staying in the Carlton Astoria. Hotel is in a great location with very helpful staff, especially the lovely woman on reception, sorry we didn't get her name, however she was fantastic nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were a good size, clean and comfortable beds, lovely bathroom. The breakfast was fabulous although the breakfast room is quite small so we had to wait for a table to come available but it was worth waiting for. One small complaint was that our room didn't receive any maid service during our stay, there was a man on our floor cleaning rooms however he missed our room out. An inconvenience but not enough to put us off using the hotel again if we return to Munich. We found an American diner "Dinertime" just around the corner from the hotel, it was open until 2am , great cocktails and very friendly staff. We had a fabulous weekend in Munich and would definitely recommend it for a short break and would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had room 107 which was a lovely corner room, very warm though!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Feebeers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london england
Level Contributor
123 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

I stayed here with a group. Everyone commented on the small room and tiny bed. The bathroom, however, was a reasonable size though a little shabby. Breakfast in the cramped dining room included good coffee and mostly fresh fruit salad. Staff were a bit variable - all female some grumpy some helpful. No safe in the room but they insisted there is no crime in Munich so no need to put my tablet and cash away.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKandFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

The staff we met at this hotel were fantastic - very helpful and anxious to share tourist information. we appreciated their tips. this hotel is located fairly close to the museums, the English Garden and the main square. we chose this location in hopes that it would be quiet and away from the tourists in the square. The rooms did not have AC and it was quite warm when we visited. We had to keep the windows open at night. There was a fair amount of traffic plus we had the bad luck of having a building demolition happening right down the street from our room. The room was fine - clean and recently remodeled. The bathroom was really small and had not been remodeled. This is a 3-star hotel but I still expected face clothes and better towels. Breakfast was typical continental breakfast - breads, meats and cheeses, cereal and a few pastries. It was okay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler4513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights in July. I had searched for a hotel near the city centre but away from the hostels near the train station. First of all the location is really superb. Very short walking distance from the Odeonplatz (5 minute walk) and it is located in a nice quiet area. A taxi from the train station is about €10.
First impressions were very good, the receptionist was very polite and helpful and the downstairs lobby was clean and very well furnished. My room was clean and nicely fitted and was large enough for my two day stay. Wifi was fast and also free, and the breakfast was very nice and included in the price.
The only negative is that there was noise coming from the room above and in the lobby area during the night but apart from that it was a perfect stay.
Highly recommend this hotel for cleanliness, location, and price.
I will certainly stay here again next time I visit Munich !

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Javeiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

You can reach the central (pedestrian) area of Munich from this hotel in about 15 minutes on foot. The hotel is comfortable and the buffet breakfast was rich. The room (#211) was quite small and had a view on the back of the building, but for the rest it was very clean and was serviced daily. The price is not bad, considering that Munich is quite expensive in general.

Room Tip: #211 has a view on the back of the building, the bathroom window leads to the fire escape stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank f64CM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

This hotel is in a very good location of Munich. It is located in Munich's university area within proximity of a number of restaurants, bars and cafes. It is also in within walking distance to Marienplatz, the museum's area, Leopoldstrasse and Englischer Garten.

our room was a bit outdated but clean and spacious. The staff is friendly and helpful. You get free wifi and the breakfast buffet offers a good choice.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chica_ag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Antares
Hotel Antares
#191 of 382 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.2 mi away
das Hotel in Munchen
das Hotel in Munchen
#238 of 382 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hauser Hotel
Hauser Hotel
#250 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Adria Munchen
Hotel Adria Munchen
#132 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Konigswache
Hotel Konigswache
#201 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.9 mi away
H'Otello H'09
H'Otello H'09
#208 of 382 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton Astoria

Property: Hotel Carlton Astoria
Address: Fuerstenstr. 12, 80333 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #219 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Carlton Astoria 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com, Agoda, HRS, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Carlton Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing