We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Irish flair in Germany?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shane's Restaurant

Shane's Restaurant
Ranked #51 of 3,651 Restaurants in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$65 - US$108
Cuisines: European, International, Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: An gemütlichen Holztischen probiert man immer neuen Kreationen von Shane McMahon in seinem Restaurant. Beispiele für seine euorpäisch und asiatisch geprägte Küche sind mit Langustinos gefüllte Dim Sum Ravioli in Krustentier-Curry-Schaum, Zweierlei vom Kalb auf geschmortem Apfel-Sellerie-Gemüse in Jus von schwarzem Kardamom oder Lagavulin-Jus Sweet Couscous mit marinierten Himbeeren und Rucola Ginger Beer-Sorbet.
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Irish flair in Germany?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Yes, it is true - a top class experience. Comfortable, casual and elegant. Food and wine top drawer, and (mostly) young staff attentive and enthusiastic. 5 course taster was excellent.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidL68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    57
    20
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“DO NOT MISS IT!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

First thing you need to know is there is no menu, and be brave, let your hair down and be prepared to have fun! The restaurant will ask you is there anything you don't eat, they mean anything you wont eat - this is where you say no raw fish, wobbly bits etc, we said NO and went for it and we weren't disappointed. Absolutely hands down the best night out and the best food Ive ever had! So exciting, we had loads too: beautiful curried cous cous with a creamy puree and long parsnip crisp, amazing Asian scallop salad with flavours and textures popping through every bite, beautiful crunchy prawn, to-die-for beef slivers in the most beautiful jus...and on and on topped off with a desert that included a homemade chocolate made up of dark cherry goo, sweet marshmallow and crisp biscuit. This is the place to go if you want dinner and a show/night out but just cant do both, its a special occasion place, a party place and a funky go with the flow place - ie you don't need to dress up to the nines to feel im place. DO let them talk you through the wines and if youre feeling it - leave a little room for a cocktail too! DO book it ahead to avoid being disappointed it got really busy the night we were there, and check out the hotel it's attached to Livinghotel Prinzessin Elizabeth. Its a bit out of the city centre but less than a tenner in a taxi and its a great base cause the bus links are easy - the hotel staff will help you they're really nice. We couldn't stop talking about it for weeks and I cant wait to go back - a great weekend away!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Geri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bavaria, Germany
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Beautiful inventive food, with excellent wine pairings. I am married to the most indecisive man when it comes to choosing something off a menu, so the fact that you don't really get a choice (you just tell them what you can't eat/what you don't like when you arrive) works really well for us, and means that you get to try some really different stuff too. The service is excellent, and the surroundings pretty stylish. Somewhere for a special treat! Can take some finding however, but it's well worth the schlep!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EmmaRSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Julian's, Malta
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

An irish guy who tries to do his best in Munich... We had the surprise menu. Food was absolutelly superb, unfortunatelly we didn´t think that the wine pairing was at the same level. Also being a surprise menu, cannot make any choice by yourself of a wine... as they do not tell you what is next.

Focusing in food, it was superb every dish, every flavour. It worth going.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dgjdecorador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, wine and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

My husband and I booked this restaurant for dinner whilst in Munich for a weekend based on reviews on here. And once again, the reviews were spot on! The food, wine and service at Shane's were really unforgettable. Our booking was for the Saturday night between Christmas and New Year. We arrived at 8pm and the restaurant was just over half full, however within about 20 minutes the restaurant had filled up completely. Shortly after we arrived, a group of about 20 were seated behind us for a 50th birthday. This group however had absolutely no impact on the level of service we received - the restaurant coped with this brilliantly. We ordered a cocktail on arrival (the restaurant had two "special" cocktails for the evening, one of which we had) which was delicious. We ordered the 5 course "surprise" menu (tasting menu really) with the accompanying wines. The waitress asked if we had any dietary requirements and I mentioned that I don't eat seafood (which was no trouble at all). I can't remember the detail of all of the courses (which is a great shame!) but roughly they were mussels for my husband and mozzarella/prosciutto for me; turbot, duck, venison and a chocolate pudding/cake. The duck in particular was an absolute stand out dish. The wines were expertly matched - 2 white, 2 red and a dessert wine. After the 2 white wines, the sommelier poured us a 3rd white (at this point we didn't know that the 3rd course would be duck), however the waitress came over straight away and explained that it wasn't the correct wine and brought us fresh glasses - it was good to see they take the correct combination of wines and food so seriously. Service was fantastic throughout. The only slight let down for me was dessert - whilst it was very nice, it wasn't as imaginative or original as I would have expected based on the earlier 4 courses. Overall however this restaurant is a great experience and highly recommended. It's definitely one of the best meals I've had and I would love to go again in the future. It's not cheap - 5 courses with matching wines cost EUR 220 for two people, plus water, cocktails and tip took us to about EUR 280 but definitely worth it as a treat. If you have the chance to go, then GO!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sweetpea_me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shane's Restaurant also viewed

 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Shane's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing