We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern design hotel, but need improvement at check-in experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Leonardo Royal Hotel Munich
Ranked #43 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Rheinfelden, Germany
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Modern design hotel, but need improvement at check-in experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Very modern design. The rooms are quiet and clean.
Easy to get there by public transport, but there is nothing else in walking distance (maybe the BMW-Welt, but there are no signs).
At check-in I was asked to sign already with my credit card for an extra payment (reservation) of 50 Euro in case I might use the internet or minibar (or, this was my interpretation: in case I break or remove something??). Therefore, I did not feel very welcome. Something to think about for the hotel management...
Otherwise, It was a nice stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guido_Rhf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    364
    112
    28
    20
See reviews for
106
234
25
347
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Bright and very quite room (I have asked room on back side of the hotel), nice design. Difficult parking in the hotel parking. Found place on the other side of the Moosacher street. For 1 Euro parking for 24 hours ! Only hotel bar does not have dark beer from Munich .... (it had but from Koestrin)

Room Tip: Parking on the other side of Moosacher street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maciej U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

The frequent business traveler will be familiar with the feeling that, wherever he might be, he might as well be almost anywhere. I’m not talking only about the road warrior’s phenomenon of waking up in a hotel bed and not being sure what city you're in. I’m also talking about the numbing sameness of the hotel experience: the layout (lobby, bar, restaurant, rooms, fitness center, meeting rooms), the interactions (check-in, housekeeping, check-out), the transience and soulessness of it all.

Because of this, the *very small differences* between hotels are often what define the experience, for better or worse. This seems to become more acute the more I travel: recentIy (in Copenhagen I think) I found myself feeling deep gratitude for whoever came up with the idea to bolt the little bathroom trash can to the wall just below sink-level, rather than on the floor, where you inevitably end up kicking it all across the bathroom floor while trying to get the little foot-lid mechanism to work, and/or having to bend down and pick up the q-tip that sailed off target when you tried to throw it in.

Sadly, the Leonardo Hotel Munich left me too often noticing the little things that on their own wouldn’t be a big deal, but in the aggregate created a pretty subpar experience. The mobile phone coverage was extremely spotty, both in the meeting rooms and the guest rooms. Same for the wireless internet in my room (181); the Ethernet plug worked fine, but who uses anymore? The fitness center was very disappointing, with a couple of treadmills and no weights save for some old-fashioned barbells you had to manually assemble, etc. (Incongruently, there was a pretty nice looking (but empty) sauna and relaxation room attached). Finally, the gentleman who cleaned my room had very strong body odor, which lingered for quite some time in the room after he had left it.

I realize that complaining about lack of adequate fitness equipment when there are people are starving in the world is not exactly an admirable stance to take, and that this hotel still got a lot of the basics right. However, for those of us who spend more nights than we would care to in beds that are not our own, the differences in the margins are significant.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sneaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan, Utah
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Room was OK. Amenities up to date. Breakfast selection quite good. Dinner service seemed challenged as we waited quite some time between courses on the menu (2 hours start to finish) which is not unexpected in Europe, however if you have work to do it's challenging.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

This hotel claims to be 5 star and from first impressions when you enter, it maybe but the rooms are anything but that. The only thing that it has going for it is that it is new and modern so it is clean and the breakfast ok (but very expensive) but that is about it. The beds are way too small - the size of a kids mattress. We had a double but this was 2 of them put side by side and since the mattress was of cheap quality, they were uneven at the center which made sleeping very uncomfortable - which is ironic since the room we booked was called the "Comfort" room. Also, depending on what room you get, there can be a bit of a walk along the corridor to get to it. Location is poor but there is a metro line about a 5min walk away and internet is not free (expensive). Maybe if you pay more for a better room you'll get something better but it is expensive as it is and hard to recommend.

Room Tip: None. Not recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KTFromAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

If you are coming to Munich for business, keep on looking. I stayed at the hotel for business. The first impression of this hotel was very slick: stylish lobby and well-furnished rooms. This was expected given the price of more than 300 euros per night. The value ended there. Breakfast: 21€. The hotel claimed to have high-speed Internet, available at the hefty price of 11,90€ to 17,90€ for a 24-hour period, but it is all but unusable. Even checking email or opening simple web pages took many, many minutes, and I was forced to go elsewhere for productivity reasons. Other guests from my company experienced the same issue, and I spoke with other guests from the same hotel who had been having the problem for over a week. The second day, after attempting for nearly an hour to access a simple email, I spoke with the front desk, which was completely unsympathetic and made even not attempt to consider the issue (beyond claiming it was assuredly my laptop) and sent me to their outsourced support hotline. For a business hotel, not having working Internet is a dealbreaker. The location also leaves much to be desired. There are no eating options near the hotel. Vegetarians beware, the room service menu does not contain any vegetarian options. I travel frequently to Munich and know, overall, there is much better value to be had in the city: more service at a lower price.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlcat80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeonardoRoyal, Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Munich, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear mlcat80,

We are very pleased to have been able to welcome you at the Leonardo Royal Hotel Munich.

It is very unfortunate that you were confronted with inconveniences during your stay. For our hotel chain we decided to use an external provider for internet access and TV in order to ensure the best and latest technology. This does not allow us to offer internet access free of charge except for the computers at the business corner. Together with our external provider we are constantly in progress to improve our internet connection for all existing devices and have just extended our bandwidth again.

Dear mlcat80, I would like to thank you for your feedback and hope that one day we will be able to welcome you in our house again.

Kind regards

Jan Heringa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

We book this because the rate we got was quite good, but then turned out everything else are so expensive. Parking, Wifi, Breakfast... etc. Not recommend for people not driving because it's not too convenient with public transportation. Very good if you want to walk over to BMW.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minicivic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
1.8 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Munich City Olympiapark
4.8 mi away
K+K Hotel am Harras
K+K Hotel am Harras
#24 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adagio Access Munchen City Olympiapark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Arthotel ANA im Olympiapark
2.6 mi away
Pullman Hotel Munich
Pullman Hotel Munich
#50 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,401 reviews
5.4 mi away
Leonardo Hotel & Residence Munich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Royal Hotel Munich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Royal Hotel Munich

Property: Leonardo Royal Hotel Munich
Address: Moosacher Str. 90, 80809 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Leonardo Royal Hotel Munich 4.5*
Number of rooms: 424
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star superior Leonardo Royal Hotel Munich welcomes you near the Olympia Park and is the perfect hotel for every stay in Munich. From here the city of Munich, the trade fair Messe Munchen and the airport are within easy reach. Modern architecture, tasteful interior and a harmonious colour concept are distinctive for the 424 rooms, the spacious restaurant>>Vitruv<< and the trendy lounge>>Leo90<<. Spread across a total area of 1.800 Sqm, seven light-flooded meeting rooms and the royal ballroom for up to 800 guests offer a lot of space for all kinds of meetings, events and corporate conventions. The hotel also offers sauna, fitness area and a Zino Cigar Lounge by Davidoff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leonardo Royal Hotel Munich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing