We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, clean studio in a convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Adagio Muenchen City
Ranked #73 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We stayed here in early December to do do sightseeing and Christmas markets. Getting there from the airport was easy enough by getting the S8 to Hauptbahnhof and then from there it's a 5-7 minute walk.

Inside the lobby area is open and has plenty of space and the staff were very welcoming and helpful. Our room was on the ground floor at the back of the building (007). Inside the room it is pretty much a standard sized hotel room but maybe only slightly longer dues to the kitchen. The view at the back isn't great as you just see another building but it means you are away from the busy road so it was very quiet.

The kitchen felt almost brand new. It comes equipped with a large fridge (with freezer compartment), microwave oven, dual electric hob, dishwasher, kettle and coffee maker.

Inside the bedroom area we had a Murray fold-out bed and sofa underneath. Although it was only a fold-out bed we found it to be comfortable enough to sleep in for the 3 nights we were there.

The bathroom was again nicely styled and modern. The shower cubicle was fine and everything worked.

In terms of location, Hauptbahnhof and Karlsplatz is a short walk and useful for getting the trains or the tram. Marienplatz and the main shopping area is a little further but is still only a 15 minute walk at most. We had no problems walking there and back everyday.
Yes there are a few casinos and adult venues but the area didn't feel dangerous or unsafe even when we walked through it in the early hours.

We'd never stayed in an apartment with a kitchen before but it's definitely something we'd do again. There's a Lidl and an Aldi on the same road so it's great to get food in for breakfast which makes the day more convenient and obviously saves on eating out all the time.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brianolikov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra K, Front Office Manager at Adagio Muenchen City, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Customer,

many thanks for taking the time to write your comment, and we were pleased to hear that you appreciated the quality of the studio and our kitchen on each room.
In fact this is one of the key benefits of Aparthotels Adagio or Adagio Access establishments.
Your message has been shared with our staff teams, so that we can continue to enhance the quality of the service we provide.
We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon at one of our Adagio aparthotels in Europe.

Kind regards,
Sandra K. -assistant manager-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (636)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

196 - 202 of 636 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2013

Short walk from train station. Very convenient. New and modern with 2 rooms n small kitchen. Sleeps 4 comfortably. Only drawback we didnt manage to get our room till after3pm during thw weekend but when we came again on weekday could checkin earlier. Self service laundry downstairs is expensive. Great thing is hotel allowed us to keep our luggage here while we travelled elsewhere so didnt have to lug luggage n just had to pack a weekend bag before coming back here again. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fairydust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra K, Front Office Manager at Adagio Muenchen City, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Dear Customer,
The entire Adagio staff team would like to join me in thanking you for your comment.
We were very happy to read that your stay with us lived up to your expectations.
We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon.


Sincerely,
Sandra Kerschberger – assistant Manager -

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

An easy walk from the train station with luggage in hand. Close to all main attractions. Supermarket just minutes away, and they have a laundry in the hotel which is a plus for travellers. Yes, area has casinos and strip clubs, but its easy to walk past! No one hassles you. Staff were very helpful and even booked my tours for me. all the interior is new and stylish...heaps of cupboard space and great little kitchen for a basic meal. Several other name brand hotels in close proximity. Certainly consider it...it's boutique hotel at its best. I didn't do the breakfast option and just made my own.

Room Tip: There's the studio with Murphy bed. Easy to put up and down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra K, Front Office Manager at Adagio Muenchen City, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Dear Customer,
The entire Adagio staff team would like to join me in thanking you for your comment.
We were very happy to read that your stay with us lived up to your expectations.
We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon.


Sincerely,
Sandra Kerschberger – assistant Manager -

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed at this location during the first week of Oktoberfest. The room was great, and although we weren't expecting a Murphy bed, it was very comfortable. We loved having fully equipped kitchen, which included a full size refrigerator and a dishwasher. The hotel was very close to the Oktoberfest grounds, and the opening parade passed by our balconette, allowing us a great view of the event, and of the revelers returning from the festival. Very entertaining! The main train station was within walking distance, as was Marienplatz, the more historic part of Munich. The neighborhood is a bit sketchy, but we had no issues. Be aware there is no maid service if you stay a week, and you must pay for clean towels. I found a mop and actually mopped the floor myself. I would stay at this location again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the main street, and on a higher floor. It can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JinxHE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra K, Front Office Manager at Adagio Muenchen City, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Adagio Munich City.
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
We ask for your understanding that we need to make our guest's attention due to the kitchen in all our rooms and a high fire risk. This is also for the safety of our guests.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Sandra Kerschberger – assistant Manager -

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

From the main train station to this hotel there are about 5 adult-only venues (24 hour casino or table dancing and the like). If you plan to go out after dark be aware.
The hotel room was nice and clean. Where we stayed it was so clean and new as if the kitchen and bathroom were recently renovated. Staff service very friendly and down to earth (Corinna and other ladies behind the desk always with helpful and friendly smiles).
Will recommend to others.

Room Tip: Our room was near the lifts yet it was not noisy during the night, no problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZonkMonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra K, Front Office Manager at Adagio Muenchen City, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Customer,

The entire Adagio staff team would like to join me in thanking you for your comment.

We were delighted to read that you appreciated the aparthotel concept.

We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon at the Adagio München City.


Sincerely,
Sandra Kerschberger – assistant Manager -

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Here are the facts and a warning at the end:

Location: Close to Hauptbanhof (main railway station). This means two things anywhere in Europe: it’s easy to get anywhere in the city from there and second – it’s a shady area, so keep your eyes open. However, during my all-in-all nearly 3 months stay at this hotel, from March to October, I didn’t face any problems. A weekly public transport pass which can be bought from Hauptbanhof costs about 19 euros, for rings 1-4 (should cover all your needs).

Internet: wi-fi free of charge. A rare thing in Munich hotels.

Reception: nice people, try to help you with everything. In case you’ll see your name on the white board near the reception, it means they need to talk to you.

Rooms: small, but with everything you need. The kitchen is fully utilized: you have a microwave oven, a big fridge, electric stove, all sorts of dishes and glasses, cutlery, etc. The bed is embedded in the wall and you have to lower it down, which obviously reduces the space. You can find in the closet an ironing board + the iron. There’s enough space to put your clothes inside. They offer smoker rooms, however the possibility of paying a 1500eur fine if the alarm goes off, made me smoke by the window. Bed was comfy, lots of pillows. What bothered me during some stays were the kids running on the hallway even at midnight and the strong smell of cooked food coming from some rooms.

Luggage room and washing machines: found at the basement, along with some leaflets and other stuff.

Cleanliness: I think the policy has changed recently or maybe it was my Gold membership that made the change. Normally, if you have a longer stay (over 1 week), the cleaning team is a rare sight. Garbage room is usually at the end of the hallway and you can recycle paper, plastic and glass.

Breakfast: available, didn’t try there. I preferred to make my own. This hotel does not have a restaurant.

Gym: very small. Not enough oxygen for 2 people inside, working out. You have a running mill, some dumbbells (not very heavy), 2-3 mats, a stepper and that’s about it. If you know what to do with the dumbbells, maybe you’ll figure out a training.

Supermarkets close by: there’s a Lidl as you exit the hotel to the right and walk for about 150 meters, but I don’t recommend it, or Rewe close to Hauptbanhof, which is way better.

Warning!
I had an inconvenience regarding one of the taxi drivers, ordered by the hotel. This guy was basically a thief: he kept the meter covered with his money pouch all the way from hotel to airport. When I wanted to see the meter he got pissed off and at some point he turned it off, saying it’s broken. To make the story shorter: I’m not an idiot, I settled things with him and also made a complaint to the hotel, in German and they said they will stop working with him. Two months later, I ask for taxi, guess who comes? Same guy, still working with them. I refused to go with him. Remember it is your legal right to refuse to pay if the meter is not running. Car number was: MCH 2674 with taxi indicative 3293.

Room Tip: Second floor, around the middle. Better wi-fi signal and usually better company.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KissTheRottweiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra K, Front Office Manager at Adagio Muenchen City, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Customer,
The entire Adagio staff team would like to join me in thanking you for your complimentary remarks on our aparthotel.
In fact most Adagio aparthotels are located in city centres or close to centres of interest.

Thank you very much for bringing your comments about the taxi driver into your letter. We will check the mentioned situation to assure that similar situations will be avoided for the future.

We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again at one of our Adagio aparthotels in Europe.

Looking forward to seeing you,


Sincerely,
Sandra Kerschberger – assistant Manager -

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Accor traveller
Vienna, Austria
37
Reviewed 4 November 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sandra K, Front Office Manager at Adagio Muenchen City, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Eurostars Book Hotel
Eurostars Book Hotel
#43 of 385 in Munich
1,133 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arthotel Munich
Arthotel Munich
#34 of 385 in Munich
882 reviews
0.1 mi away
GHOTEL hotel & living Munchen-City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
TRYP Munchen City Center
TRYP Munchen City Center
#118 of 385 in Munich
1,032 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Buddy
Hotel Buddy
#41 of 385 in Munich
364 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cocoon Stachus
Cocoon Stachus
#53 of 385 in Munich
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adagio Muenchen City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adagio Muenchen City

Address: Schwanthalerstr. 61, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Family Hotel in Munich
#81 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £67 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Adagio Muenchen City 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, ACCOR, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adagio Muenchen City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adagio Muenchen City Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing