We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Comfortable room. Friendly staff.”
Review of Hotel Am Markt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Am Markt
Ranked #187 of 387 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed 15 December 2013

You can't beat the location - a 2 minute walk to Marienplatz, great restaurants and pubs right across the cobblestone alleyway. We always felt safe walking back at night. The front desk is staffed 24 hours. The bathroom in our room was modern and we slept well in the comfortable bed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 368 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2013

Just had a 5 day stay at this charming hotel. The Location is Bang on, only 2 min walk to Mairenplaz. We had a double room on the second floor ( small lift was a real bonus) the room was clean and very quiet. Great bathroom too. Friendly staff. this is the hotel for you if you want a central nice cosy place to stay. Highly recommend it

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buddieface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Excellent location right at Viktualienmarkt. City center and major touristic sites located within short walking distance.
Receptionist Silvano was very friendly!
Nice old hotel with renovated inside.
Clean room.
Optional delicious breakfast at the hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Grace B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

We Liked our stay here, right in the center of Munich.
Nice rooms , clean and good.
The restaurant is very Nice and the breakfast was lovely.
We Also had dinner in the evening and the food was Nice and simple.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jette1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Stayed in the hotel for 3 nights in July. staff very friendly and helpful, good English skills.
Room was basic and clean, bed was nice and not to soft. Yes no A/C but I would not expect this as standard in Europe.
The odd part of the hotel - the elevator - there is barely room for 2 people. so get ready to walk the stairs - good exercise.
Sleeping with open windows should not be the problem, the restaurants outside serving stops around 11pm. In the morning the action at the local market starts around 5:30 am but with being jet lag this was not a problem at all.
The best part for this hotel is the location all downtown center attraction can be reached by foot.
Yes arriving with a rental car is not easy - but therefore your are in the center.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
4  Thank IQeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Hotel staff were very friendly & spoke good english. excellent room, excellent location for munich centre, shops & restaurants. Church bells ring at 7am. Not too noisy, quietens down at 11pm. Road sweeper starts very early but got used to the noise by 3rd day & slept through it. no aircon so was a bit hot but ok with windows open. Would stay here again. Had comfort room which was spacious. Lift was ok for 2 people or 1 person with luggage. Breakfast was expensive & there was a lovely cafe just around the corner which was cheaper.

Room Tip: Comfort room is spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This hotel is in the heart of historic Munich. We were touring by car and it is not possible to get a car to the hotel. Even driving close was a challenge. Car parking is about 10 minutes away. To stay here, take mass transit or a cab. Rooms were very small. Access to the room was difficult. No room ventilation in case it is hot (which it was record heat). If you have to stay in the historic area and are on a budget, then this may fit the bill. Very noisy at night as it is located over the late night crowds. If you are up till 2 - 3 am then it may not bother you. Internet access was a fee so we skipped it. Location and a bed were the only attractions.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rwrohwer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen"
0.2 mi away
Hotel Blauer Bock
Hotel Blauer Bock
#16 of 387 in Munich
969 reviews
0.1 mi away
Derag Livinghotel Am Viktualienmarkt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel am Viktualienmarkt
Hotel am Viktualienmarkt
#107 of 387 in Munich
330 reviews
0.1 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#12 of 387 in Munich
760 reviews
0.2 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#13 of 387 in Munich
2,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Am Markt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Am Markt

Address: Heiliggeiststr. 6, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #187 of 387 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: £101 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Am Markt 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Am Markt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Am Markt Hotel
Am Markt Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing