We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Bayerischer Hof Hotel
Ranked #42 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Leipzig
Level Contributor
142 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Booked via hotel website

Checkin and out: A little bit crowded, but finally all fine.

Location: In the center Munich, easy to get there by car (valet parking is a must), also fine by subway.

Room: Had a standard room, which was ok. Good bed --> good sleep. Clean. Quiet.

Breakfast: Fantastic breakfast.

Spa and Gym:
I enjoyed a run through a park "Englischer Garten". Perfect for any kind of run.
Gym is very good, enough space for exercises. Pool is very nice.

Overall:
One of the leading hotels in Munich
5 star service, good old fashioned style
Some guests with "Schickeria" attitudes around.
Will come back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TMG001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    590
    304
    153
    81
    52
See reviews for
159
332
80
428
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

Lovely 5 start hotel in Munich. Stayed 2 nights on business. Lovely welcome on reception, lady could not have been more friendly or helpful. Upgraded on checkin & compared to New York huge rooms. Quiet which is great if working late & trying to concentrate.
Only irritation is the cost of bottled water in the room. €8.90 for 0.70CL = €11.87 a litre. Crazy.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank CaptainWillard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityManager_HBH, Quality & Training at Bayerischer Hof Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear guest.

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions that you got during your recent stay with us on the “Tripadvisor” homepage. Please excuse the delay in responding to your comment. Your opinion is an important tool to control our high quality standards on a daily basis.

We are pleased to learn that you considered the Hotel Bayerischer Hof for your stay in Munich. Thank you for your kind comment regarding our house.

We appreciate your indication concerning the price for a bottle of water in your room. Please be assured that our prices are in relation to other five star properties and are calculated with an appropriate approach.

Dear guest, we would be very happy to welcome you again.

With kindest regards

Hotel Bayerischer Hof
Gebrüder Volkhardt KG

Tinka Schindel
Quality & Training
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Fabulous hotel in a great location. The executive rooms have been refurbished and are extremely comfortable. Mine was large with a walk-in wardrobe and the most fabulous shower. The breakfast room on the 6th floor is wonderful. The breakfast itself is really good. Expensive place to stay but very good.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank KevinHogarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

The Hotel Bayerischer Hof is among the best hotels worldwide I ever stayed in. It is one of the reasons why I'm always happy to return to Munich. The service is excellent and the rooms very comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 01_d_o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

The Bayerischer Hof is a wonderful hotel in the heart of Munich. The service is very attentive and efficient, the rooms are elegant and spacious and the location could probably not be any better. The newly renovated breakfast room is very bright, modern and very classy, making the famous champagne breakfast even more a must! The concierge Mr. Lindner was particularly nice and efficient with a special request.
I highly recommend this hotel. Join the Leaders Club of lhw.com to receive additional benefits, making your stay even more enjoyable!

Room Tip: Almost all rooms have now been renovated, so you can hardly go wrong with any room category!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank principality7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
52 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Went during the peak season and was impressed how efficient the hotel was despite this. Essential to ask for a renovated room. The spa is a good place to relax with nice roof top views of the city. Best of all is the location right in the middle of everything and the fact it is a family owned and run hotel which means very personal service.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Yousef M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venezia, Italia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I went to Munich for a not-so-pleasant reason, I had to see a doctor and go through a therapy every day from early morning until 6 in the afternoon. I was so happy that the Bayerischer Hof not only was two steps from my doctor but also a lovely place to stay at. The service was impeccable and since my german is not so great I was happy that the staff was happy to speak english with me. I thought the room was very nice, not very big, but it didn't matter so much to me. I really loved the bathroom, it was huge and very beautiful with both shower and bathtub. I also really appreciated the "walk in closet" which was spacious.

I was staying with my boyfriend who had a problem with his computer charger, the concierge was so efficient and fast that by the time we got back to the hotel in the afternoon they had someone buy for us a new charger! The food was also quite good, we went once to the polynesian fusion restaurant and another time to the rooftop restaurant which was also very nice and romantic.

I used the spa facility to get a wax and that part I wasn't so fond about. The girl was very nice and spoke good english but the wax service was not done very well and it was really expensive. I understand that those are the hotel prices but I was hoping for a better quality service in that respect. I hope the hotel can improve that in the future.

I stayed for a whole week and I will definitely come and stay again next month when I have to do my check up again. I really relaxed in this hotel and I am happy to recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julianasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen
0.4 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
0.4 mi away
Hotel Koenigshof
Hotel Koenigshof
#16 of 383 in Munich
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#13 of 383 in Munich
723 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 383 in Munich
1,498 reviews
0.3 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#15 of 383 in Munich
1,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayerischer Hof Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayerischer Hof Hotel

Property: Bayerischer Hof Hotel
Address: Promenadeplatz 2-6, 80333 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Munich
#23 Business Hotel in Munich
#25 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#53 Family Hotel in Munich
#89 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Bayerischer Hof Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally conceived by King Ludwig I, the Bayerischer Hof is one of Munich's most legendary hotels. History and contemporary flair mingle with easy elegance. Its iconic Blue Spa, offering barbecues in summer and an unique ice bar in winter with views of Munich, was created by Andrée Putman. The latest restaurants, Atelier and Garden, are by interior designer Axel Vervoordt, who also devised the Cinema Lounge; complete with its own Night Club with live Jazz, five restaurants, six bars and the theatre, it is a self-contained haven that draws celebrities and heads-of-state. Guest rooms are in a variety of styles, designed by famous architects. Top-floor suites have breathtaking views, private spa access, terraces or open fireplaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bayerischer Hof Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayerischer Hof Munich
Hotel Bayerischer Hof

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing