We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Needs Updating!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bayerischer Hof Hotel
Ranked #48 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The location was wonderful! You can walk to Munich's top attractions and restaurants! The pool was fun and had a great view. The rooms in the front need updating, the carpet was stained, the window shutter ripped out of the wall and was permeant down for the remaining time of our trip! The sofa bed was the worst, we just moved the mattress on the floor for our daughter.

Room Tip: Ask for front room. The "new" rooms had horrible views and you couldn't even get the...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ko22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,236)
There are newer reviews for Bayerischer Hof Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

340 - 346 of 1,236 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

We had originally booked at the Mandarin Oriental, but German friends advised us to try the Bayerischer Hof, saying that it had much more European flair. Couldn't agree more. And the location was both quiet and central. We could walk to many of Munich's top attractions and to a large array of excellent restaurants and shops. Our room (complementary upgrade) was an enormous suite. The public rooms in the hotel are elegant and spacious. Staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast is served in a dedicated airy room on the 6th floor, overlooking Munich, and the food was the best hotel buffet we have ever had. Ever. None of this comes cheaply, so be prepared to pay top European hotel prices. My only complaint is that the wi-fi internet (free with our room) was not up to the standard of a five-star hotel. Slow and difficult to log on. The only miscue in an otherwise flawless performance.

Room Tip: As a member of Leading Hotels of the World's Leadership Club you can get complementary upgrades...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johncgore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed on a business/leisure trip paid by the company so the expense was not a factor. From what I understand about the normal rates, this hotel would be far too expensive for what is offered for most travelers. Staff were excellent and exemplify superior customer service. Location was excellent since it is so close to the center of Munich and walking distance to most sightseeing and shopping areas.
Bottom line-- probably not the best choice for value.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MICHAEL R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I was on a continuing legal education event, so I did not book this hotel. Yes, it is fancy and roomy and is a five star hotel. Yes, it has a bidet. However, the breakfast is not included and it is 38 Euro per day! Also, internet was only available on a complimentary basis in the lobby! There was no coffee maker in the room. They did have converters and adapters for us to use, so that was a plus compared to the 3 other hotels that we stayed at in Germany. We did eat the breakfast one day . . .it was not as good as another hotel that had breakfast included in the rate and only charged a bit more than 1 night that it cost to spend at this hotel for 4 nights!

It is a very nice hotel. If you have $ to burn, this place is for you. I am more conservative fiscally, so it wasn't for me.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suzyq425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityManager_HBH, Quality & Training at Bayerischer Hof Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear guest.

Thank you very much for taking the time to describe the experiences that you made during your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor. Your opinion is an important tool to control our high quality standards on a daily basis.

We are pleased to learn that you stayed with us during your event in Munich and appreciated the hotel.

Thank you for your kind indication concerning the prices in our hotel. Please be assured that our price range is ascertained in relation to other five star properties and is calculated with an appropriate approach.

We are sorry that you had to face inconveniences regarding your wi-fi access in your room. Please be assured that this does not meet our internet standards. Regularly, we do have complimentary wi-fi access in the rooms as well. Unfortunately, some irregularities regarding our internet provider occurred recently. Please accept our apologies and be informed that therefore, we will change our internet provider soon, in favour of a more stable system.

We regret that your breakfast experience did not meet your expectations. We would highly appreciate if you could let us know more details about the reason of your disappointment in order to respond more profoundly. Thank you for your efforts in advance.

Dear guest, we would be very happy to welcome you again at Hotel Bayerischer Hof.

With kindest regards

Hotel Bayerischer Hof
Gebrüder Volkhardt KG

Tinka Schindel
Quality & Training

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

For first time in this hotel, always to other good hotels in Munich and I am very happy with the change.
Very good and cooperative staff at the reception, arriving early in the morning from Southamerica, they gave me a very good, nice and well decorated room where I felt to be at home.
Some chocolates and fruits made me happy.
Breakfast very good and the terrace, fantastic.
For sure it will be not my last time and look forward to visit the Bayerischer Hof with my wife.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ricardo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityManager_HBH, Quality & Training at Bayerischer Hof Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear guest.

Thank you very much for sharing the experiences that you made during your last stay in our house on Tripadvisor.

We are very pleased to read that you appreciated your stay with us and felt to be at home. This is one of our main aims, to ensure that you find the most comfortable and attentive atmosphere in all areas of our hotel, and we are very happy that we could meet these expectations.

Dear guest, we would love to welcome you again soon in Hotel Bayerischer Hof. Please do not hesitate to contact us in the meantime if there is anything we may assist you.

With kindest regards

Hotel Bayerischer Hof
Gebrüder Volkhardt KG

Tinka Schindel
Quality & Training

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I stayed here for one night and thoroughly enjoyed the pool and gym facilities. However, I found the receptionists to be unfriendly although the porters were helpful and friendly.
Generally, the quality of the facilities were 5* however a couple of major things bothered me. First, the corridor of the room that they put me in smelt like toxic chemicals had been released. I understand that the hotel has just had a major renovation make over which is certainly lovely, however it might not be a good idea to put guests in areas that still smell like this.
Second, I had major problems opening the big glass doors on Level 2 between the staircase area and the adjacent corrider. I needed to walk down to level 1 to open these doors which were much easier to operate as you didn't need the security key. Whilst this might not seem an issue, it certainly would be in the event of an emergency of any kind. I suggest management address these issues which detracted from what would have otherwise been a truly 5* experience.

Room Tip: Dont stay on level 2. Ask the receptionists about the signage to make it easier for you to find your...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RachTenshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityManager_HBH, Quality & Training at Bayerischer Hof Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear guest.

Thank you very much for taking the time to share the experiences that you made during your recent stay with us on the Tripadvisor homepage.

We are pleased to learn that you considered the Hotel Bayerischer Hof for your stay in Munich and that you appreciated our Blue Spa.

We are very sorry that you were not satisfied with the attitude at our front desk and the smell in your room. Please accept our sincere apologies and be assured that this does not meet our high quality standards. To find out further details, we would appreciate if you could let us know more about the occasion, on which you made this experience and your room number. Thank you for your efforts in advance.

We regret that you had to face inconveniences opening the glass doors on the second floor. Please accept once more our apologies.
The main doors on most floors, separating our guest rooms from the public hotel area, are secured with locks. It is for your own security that you need your room’s door opener to open these central locks, so that access to the floors is only possible if you have booked a room.
For sure, this mechanism is only working for getting in, never for leaving the hotel. In that case all doors always open to make sure that there is no danger in case of an emergency.

Dear guest, we would be very happy to welcome you again at Hotel Bayerischer Hof during a further stay in Munich.

With kindest regards

Hotel Bayerischer Hof
Gebrüder Volkhardt KG

Tinka Schindel
Quality & Training

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The Bayerisher Hof is a well located and well presented hotel. Although the hotel building itself is old, it has been well maintained and renovated - although the old layout means some rooms are quite some distance from the lifts. The executive rooms are clean and spacious, well equipped, and with large bathrooms and wardrobes. Mine also had a small balcony, albeit on the rear of the hotel with no view at all. Breakfast was excellent; as was wifi. All of the staff I encountered were welcoming and helpful, making it a very pleasant stay. I would happily stay at the Bayerisher Hof again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 007Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityManager_HBH, Quality & Training at Bayerischer Hof Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear guest.

Thank you very much for taking the time to describe the experiences that you made during your recent stay with us and your kind comment regarding our house.

We are very happy to read that you had an overall pleasant stay in the Bayerischer Hof. We set great value upon making your stay the most enjoyable in combining tradition and modern lifestyle to its best.

Dear guest, we would love to welcome you again soon in Hotel Bayerischer Hof. Please do not hesitate to contact us in the meantime if there is anything we may assist you.

With kindest regards

Hotel Bayerischer Hof
Gebrüder Volkhardt KG

Tinka Schindel
Quality & Training

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen
0.4 mi away
Hotel Koenigshof
Hotel Koenigshof
#20 of 385 in Munich
590 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 385 in Munich
1,554 reviews
0.3 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#15 of 385 in Munich
2,014 reviews
0.3 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#14 of 385 in Munich
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayerischer Hof Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayerischer Hof Hotel

Address: Promenadeplatz 2-6, 80333 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Munich
#23 Business Hotel in Munich
#27 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#53 Family Hotel in Munich
#89 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £262 - £715 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bayerischer Hof Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally conceived by King Ludwig I, the Bayerischer Hof is one of Munich's most legendary hotels. History and contemporary flair mingle with easy elegance. Its iconic Blue Spa, offering barbecues in summer and an unique ice bar in winter with views of Munich, was created by Andrée Putman. The latest restaurants, Atelier and Garden, are by interior designer Axel Vervoordt, who also devised the Cinema Lounge; complete with its own Night Club with live Jazz, five restaurants, six bars and the theatre, it is a self-contained haven that draws celebrities and heads-of-state. Guest rooms are in a variety of styles, designed by famous architects. Top-floor suites have breathtaking views, private spa access, terraces or open fireplaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Bayerischer Hof Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayerischer Hof Munich
Hotel Bayerischer Hof

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing