We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best farmers market that i know in germany” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Viktualienmarkt

Viktualienmarkt
Book In Advance
More Info
US$30.72*
and up
Bavarian Food And Cultural Experience in Munich: Food Walking Tour through...
Ranked #11 of 301 things to do in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The city's largest and most famous outdoor marketplace.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best farmers market that i know in germany”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

this place is located in the heart of munich and offer the best of organic high quality "schlemmereien" from farmers around munich. cheese, vegetables, bread, fruits, spices, jam & honey, cold cuts.. you name it. this place offers only the best of the best!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Denis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,267
    715
    128
    12
    3
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
135 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fun afternoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Walked around market area. Bought best cherries ever! (Although don't be looking for a deal,). Food was good. We sat at a roof top terrace and had fun looking down on all the crowds!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LibbyJ6789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cute and delish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Wide range of local stalls, offering mainly Bavarian specialties. There's a great little beer garden in the middle to stop at for a cold drink under the chestnut trees and some traditional Bavarian food. There is also a little stand which serves excellent sausages and sauerkraut at the periphery of the market near the road, run by a mother and daughter. These were the best wurst we had whilst in Munich! If you love food and love markets, this is a must whilst in Munich.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 174pennyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
295 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“First-Rate Marketplace, Great Ambiance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

After a long overnight flight and after getting settled in our Munich hotel, we set out to wander the city as we always do when arriving in a new European destination. We had walked around for a few kilometers and found the Viktualienmarkt to be the perfect place to relax, have a beer & some food, and make some new friends.

This place is a feast for the eyes, ears, nose and mouth. The visual appeal of the beautifully presented produce, cheeses, sausages, meats, seafood, chocolate, flowers, craft items; the smells and tastes of the wide variety of things to eat; the sounds of happy people laughing and conversing (in a variety of languages), and Bavarian beer combine for a happy sensory overload.

The area reserved for eating is well shaded by huge chestnut trees: tablecloths are on tables that get waiter service, uncovered tables are for those who picnic or purchase their own food in the market and have a beer there. For our first visit we sat in the area that was served by waiters, and were led to a picnic bench that was occupied by a group of German's, who politely nodded & welcomed us. Thankfully, one of the Germans spoke perfect English and she facilitated a great afternoon of stories and laughter (and more than a few beers!) In a few moments we were joined at the table by an elderly woman who was carrying a large mug of beer: turns out that she was 101, and she attributed her longevity to a daily visit to the Viktualienmarkt and lots of Augustiner Dunkel! Needless to say, we returned several times during our 10 days in Munich, and we always had a great experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ATLBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Classy open food market”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Excellent choices. Just thinking of this place makes me hungry. Fish, meat, beer and anything else you want. Not like other markets in tourist towns, this one has quality and class. My choices of Munich in one day are: Zoo, English Garden and Victualienmarkt.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank latiffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Viktualienmarkt also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Viktualienmarkt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing