We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food Great price Great timing!”
Review of Nam Nam

Nam Nam
Ranked #1,341 of 3,747 Restaurants in Munich
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Campinas, SP
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food Great price Great timing!”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Really good and honest thai food, matched with a perfect ambience, free wifi for travellers and the thing that got me the most: the opening time. We were heading back home on a sunday night and this was the only place open for a nice meal as Munich is known for a ghost city on sundays when there are just a few places open.

Totally recomend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mucaslash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    58
    46
    28
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A let down”
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

The place looks comfy and a fun place to spend time. It's open 'till late at night and the menu is interesting with lots to choose from. But after tasting the food a real disappointment. Tastless, frozen lunch would be the real description for the food. It wasn't even close to authentic Thai food.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank EetuXx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great food and very good value for money”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Our hotel made us a booking and were we glad, it was packed and lively on a Saturday night. The waiter assessed quickly that we needed an English menu. Service was speedy and very accurate. We choose the mixed starters which were very tasty and plentiful. We tried a variety of main courses and all were greatly enjoyed. There was a good choice of wines and beers.No room left for desserts. With an age range spanning 40 years, the Nam Nam pleased everyone.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“great food and service”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Wonderful atmosphere, delicious food, value for money. The brownies were heavenly. Only critique would be if they had authentic asian desserts, I would go more often.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cheekopop21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I give this restaurant two stars for the food, and three stars for the service & atmosphere - I guess it depends on what you are looking for.

The service here is very friendly, quick (even on a Friday evening) and came with a smile.

I would not recommend nam nam if you are looking for authentic fresh Thai food.

The Tom Yam Gung soup was mainly mushrooms and TWO prawns in an oversweet broth.

The Panaeng duck curry consisted of a watery, coconut based sauce, soggy overcooked green beans and sweetcorn (I think the sweetcorn came out of a jar) and deep fried slices of duck breast. Too sweet, bland and not spicy (although according to the menu it should have been). No sign of any fresh herbs in either of the dishes.

The Hong Kong style crispy duck was also a disappointment - stringy and overcooked.

It is not difficult to obtain fresh Asian ingredients in Munich - I know of at least two stores that have fresh vegetables and herbs air-freighted in twice a week, so why cut corners?

Prices are reasonable but I would prefer to pay a bit more for better food (from somebody who knows how to cook Thai). Very disappointed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrspeaMunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nam Nam also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Nam Nam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing