We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable with SUPER Fresh Donuts”

Schmalznudel - Cafe Frischhut
Ranked #1 of 15 Bakeries in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
71 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Enjoyable with SUPER Fresh Donuts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

We stopped here, based on the recommendations from TripAdvisor. Fried doughnuts were fresh and very good. Only problem? We didn't know to ask for them to be dipped in cinnamon sugar. We noticed locals coming in and ordering with sugar - AFTER we already ate. So, they were fresh and warm, but could have been better. Hot chocolate was outstanding however. So, while these weren't the best donuts I ever had, still worth a stop.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SCB711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    76
    11
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“yummy, yummy, yummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

The most scrumptious "Schmalz" pastry ever. So so so delicious! Try the Schmalznudeln!!! You won't regret it. Deliciously light and ever so pleasing to the palate. Such a lovely little cafe. The Virkutalien market across from it is a must!!!!! You can eat your way through it.....delish delish!!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travellersalike83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Traditional cafe with amazing donuts!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

I was walking past and noticed a guy frying dough, when cooked they look like flying saucers dipped in sugar. They are lovely though and even better with nice cup of coffee. Not good for the waistline but if you're on holiday the that's OK. Loved the cafe and will take friends who visit for a real German experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FionaC08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Simply the most delicious fried dough I have ever had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

I'm not sure what else to say. For those who said it was "average" I am not sure what they ate?!

In the front window they make the plain flat donuts and the jam filled ones all day long. They are always warm and fresh.

Incredible. We stopped by to take them out every time we passed by the market whether we were hungry or not. I had been on a previous trip and nothing had changed. Maybe it isn't worth it if you sit down and order the "wrong item"? I don't know as I've never tried

  • Visited February 2013
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank d w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A local top tip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

Early in the morning is the best time to meet the locals from the market. Be prepared, you might encounter all sorts of characters. And have a go at the menue. For one day do not worry about the calories!!!!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cd_lavender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Schmalznudel - Cafe Frischhut also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Schmalznudel - Cafe Frischhut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing