We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location but accommodation small”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novum Hotel Munchen Am Hauptbahnhof
Ranked #199 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Harleston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Location but accommodation small”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Just returned from this hotel and would have to say that it is perfectly situated to explore Munich,but rooms are small and not particularly clean.Breakfast was good as long as you were up before 7.30am afterwards we found the breakfast buffet was very restricted ie not topped up.Overall very average

Room Tip: Get up early for breakfast to avoid dissappointment
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luton57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    306
    265
    89
    58
See reviews for
130
310
74
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

An "interesting" experience that can be summarised as follows:

CONS

1. Probably the strangest staff I've ever had to deal with!
Unnecessarily defensive even when you ask a simple question. The blokes are slow and lazy, the girls are wild cats! I wouldn't call them rude (it's hard to define beyond cultural differences), just weird.

2. Tiny and old bathroom!
The shower is so small (I am only 5 5', 1.65m), I could barely fit in it. Its base and curtain were meant to be white, but they were actually more closely resembled the colour of mustard! The water pressure was very good, which meant that the slimy curtain was drawn towards you, pushing you even further towards the grimy 1960's white-tile wall!

3. Small and smelly room, but I guess that's what you get opposite the central station.
I did know the rooms would be small, and that's fine. The smell, on the other hand, was unbearable. It wasn't actually dirt, but more like a combination of rotten beer and some industrial cleaning product. Even with the toilet door closed, I couldn't pleasantly stay in my room in the evenings. If you open the window you get all the pollution and noise yet there's no air-conditioning in the rooms at all! The corridors stink of fags too..

4. The internet is very slow.
It requires you to register and provide your e-mail and home address, telephone numbers, shoe size etc. Also, it wouldn't really work on my laptop (I've got a strong IT background), and had to tether through my phone!

5. Wrong place to be at night!
Around the area it's full of dodgy looking people, casinos and gentlemen’s clubs. Not quite as intimidating as it sounds, but certainly not nice.


PROS

1. Directly next to the S-line and 2 minutes across the U-line.

2. 5-10 minute walk from the main shopping area and central square.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Billy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Munich hotels

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The room was very small, location is very good to Hauptbahnhof and airport bus to Munich Airport, staff is OK...could be bit friendlier (even just bahnhof (station) hotel). Ibis is better value (5 min more distance from Winter Hotel) I pick up these hotel because I had to use my point from expedia.com (the chepest hotel around the area) I wont stay more than 1 nite or if have to pay full price I rather go to Ibis.

Room Tip: Very good for single budget traveller who has to catch very early morning flight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robertus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The hotel is located in the heart of the city and right at the main railway station. It is just about 10 minutes walk from the historic Marienplatz.

We stayed here for 4 nights and the price is affordable. Breakfast was good with wide selection of foods and of course fresh coffee.

The location is perfect as the hotel is directly opposite the main railway station and it makes our journey out of Munich to other places such as Salzburg very easy.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mork0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The breakfast was perfect - wide selection and fresh coffee. Yummy! Staff was very friendly in the breakfast room and at the desk - 24/7. Thanks guys/gals.

The room we were in was rather small and narrow, and I can't really say it was the cleanest room I have ever stayed in because the carpet looked dated and stained, but the bathroom was clean and sheets and towels were changed daily. The windows were to the street, but it was still quiet.

Would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLePispala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for four nights in April and I was shocked at the quality of the rooms compared to how much we paid. It worked out to about $45 each a night and the rooms were very modern and clean, the breakfast buffet was very good and it was right across the road to the main train station and bus station. Almost hostel prices but for a hotel! Will definitely be staying here again

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jessicamcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Absolutely fantastic location opposite the main station in Munich. The room was sparklingly clean with towels and even bed sheets replaced daily, despite our best efforts to show how unnecessary it was. Staff were superb manning the desk 24 hours a day and very helpful with transport recommendations. Breakfast was good with a range of jams, cereals, breads and meats. I can't recommend this hotel enough, great hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Amba
Hotel Amba
#324 of 383 in Munich
701 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alfa Muenchen
Hotel Alfa Muenchen
#183 of 383 in Munich
308 reviews
0.0 mi away
Creatif Hotel Elephant
Creatif Hotel Elephant
#195 of 383 in Munich
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vi Vadi Hotel
Vi Vadi Hotel
#133 of 383 in Munich
816 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Europaischer Hof
Hotel Europaischer Hof
#62 of 383 in Munich
783 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Muenchen Deutscher Kaiser
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novum Hotel Munchen Am Hauptbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novum Hotel Munchen Am Hauptbahnhof

Property: Novum Hotel Munchen Am Hauptbahnhof
Address: Arnulfstr. 12, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Winters Hotel Munchen Am Hauptbahnhof)
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #199 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Novum Hotel Munchen Am Hauptbahnhof 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bavarian state capital and high technology metropolis is a prosperous European city by the beautiful Isar and offers visitors a variety of interesting attractions such as the Frauenkirche, Pinakothek, Hofbräuhaus, Allianz-Arena or the famous Viktualienmarkt.The Winters Hotel München · Am Hauptbahnhof is located in the heart of the city and right at the main railway station. It is just a few steps away from the historic Marienplatz. The world-famous Oktoberfest can also be reached on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novum Hotel Munchen Am Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing