We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, lots of noise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novum Hotel Munchen Am Hauptbahnhof
Ranked #193 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Medicine hat
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good location, lots of noise”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The location can't be beat! It's right across from the main train station, and not that far from a shopping square. The breakfast was really good, they had what we consider breakfast in Canada with cereal and toast plus they also had breads, meats, cheeses, and salads. The rooms were pretty small, and it was hard to keep the window open because of the noise. I would stay here again though because it was pretty convenient.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ctthe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    311
    268
    90
    58
See reviews for
133
313
76
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed for 5 nights between 7th - 12th August and have no real complaints. We got a good price on a double room with breakfast. We arrived 2 hours earlier than stated check-in time and thought we'd just see if the room was ready. It wasn't, but they made sure it got cleaned asap and we were in our room after 45 minutes. The room was opposite the Haubtbahnhof which for us was great. We knew before arrival that there was no air-con but as we have no problem sleeping with road noise we were happy to keep the windows open which cooled the room well.

The room itself was pretty basic but comfortable, well lit and clean and gave us all we needed. We were there to see the city not stay in our room! The only thing I will say (which has already been said by a previous reviewer) is that the pillows were awful - I ended up putting towels under mine or folding it in half because they are so flat. I'm sure they would have given me another if I had have asked but I kept forgetting every day until bedtime!

WiFi is slightly dodgy and although I connected well most days, I had one night where I couldn't connect at all. But it is free so could hardly complain.

We thought that the breakfast was really good. Very good choice of hot and cold food especially if you get there during the first hour of service. Cereal, yoghurt, fruit, cheese, bread, various bread rolls, cold meats, cake, sausages, egg, choice of teas, fruit juice, coffee at the table. Don't understand those that complain about it.

Resident's bar is a little hit and miss late on (we like a last beer before bed when on holiday). It depended who was on night duty. Most were happy for you to sit all you liked and order as much as you liked with the main door shut yet we found one girl who told us that we would have to take our beer outside or go to our room! That's when we ventured back out to the main area again at nearly midnight. Like I said, we didn't go to Munich to sit in our room.

The staff overall were very friendly and would help wherever they could.

Augustiner Keller beer garden is just down the road from the hotel and well worth a visit. Turn right out of the hotel and walk about 3 or 4 blocks.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for a city stop. If you want bells and whistles, air-con, a gym or a bit of luxury then pay more. Otherwise you will have a fine stay in a fantastic city.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anaphase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The Winters Hotel was directly across from the main train station. It is a very easy walk. Upon check in at 10 am, the clerk at the hotel found us a room that was available immediately. There is no air conditioning, but we found that the room was cool without. The wifi worked ok. The room was clean and they insisted on cleaning daily. We had a room that faced away from the main street and was very quiet at night. All of the staff were extremely friendly. The breakfast was part of our package and had a good assortment of hot and cold foods.

There are some local beer gardens and restaurants in a close 10-15 minute walking distance. The other main tourist parts of Munich were only about 15-20 minutes by foot. This is a perfect location if you are interested in public transportation with the station being so close.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy_and_Jeremy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Vilniaus Apskritis, Lithuania
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Hotel "Winters" is located by the main train station on Munich with few red-light bars around. Unpleasant place indeed. Rooms are dark and poor, beds not comfortable. Bathrooms are very old. Breakfast not that bad, quite a big choice of meals. It's a hotel, which can be used if you need to sleep-over the night, but definitely NOT a place to enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skirmante V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Munich hotels

Peterborough
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is the perfect location for the train station; literally a thirty second walk. The hotel itself has a few issues, namely because of its location; it is very noisy and very hot, with no air conditioning, so it's either boil in your room with the windows closed or open the windows and curse the cars, honking taxis and trams. The hotel is old, with a bit of a refurbishment in the last ten years. Regardless, it's clean, comfy beds and a hot shower.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank d30hjg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Best location , just 100 meters from train station , secure area and lots of restaurants around ,

I stayed one night only, hotel itself is average to clean , the only problem was very small room , with a twin bed and 14 inches TV and small desk inside the room.

for one night was ok but more than that , I wont recommend .

and the last, it was expensive comparing to other hotels, If I had more time for sure I would find a better one.

Room Tip: Ask for Room size !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoupinG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Just ended our 3 night stay here, quite happy to leave.

The room was just big enough to be comfortable. My partner said he enjoyed the bed, I did not. The pillows are beyond soft, basically useless. The bathroom is small yet has all necessities and good water pressure and hot water. There is no mini fridge, no air conditioning and no space for storage of luggage. Worst of all, quite horrible wifi; it would disconnect at least 1 time every minute, making it virtually impossible to use. The no air conditioning is a big problem as there is no airflow, making it very stuffy. There are soundproof windows, yet they had to stay open all the time to get some sort of air through. Also making it hard to sleep as it is quite loud around this area. Perhaps much better suited as a winter hotel as you would have the windows closed and there is a heater, making it quite cosy and very quiet.

The location as most say is great, very convenient for all areas.

The breakfast is quite poor. There is a large selection of goods, hot and cold, yet the selection is of poor quality; overcooked eggs, undercooked bacon, etc.

The staff we encountered were nice and helpful when needed.

Overall, I would not recommended this hotel. I'm sure there is better value for money around the same area.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank leahhh17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sven F, Manager at Novum Hotel Munchen Am Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear leahhh17,

Thank you very much for taking the time to rate the Winters Hotel Muenchen am Hauptbahnhof. We appreciate our Guests feedback even if it is not so positive like yours. It helps us to improve our products and services. Rest assured that after thorough internal research, we take the necessary steps to correct the issue whenever possible!

with best regards from Munich
Sebastian Schwarz
Hotelmanager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Amba
Hotel Amba
#330 of 382 in Munich
708 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alfa Muenchen
Hotel Alfa Muenchen
#191 of 382 in Munich
311 reviews
0.0 mi away
Creatif Hotel Elephant
Creatif Hotel Elephant
#203 of 382 in Munich
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vi Vadi Hotel
Vi Vadi Hotel
#131 of 382 in Munich
823 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Europaischer Hof
Hotel Europaischer Hof
#60 of 382 in Munich
802 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Muenchen Deutscher Kaiser
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novum Hotel Munchen Am Hauptbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novum Hotel Munchen Am Hauptbahnhof

Property: Novum Hotel Munchen Am Hauptbahnhof
Address: Arnulfstr. 12, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Winters Hotel Munchen Am Hauptbahnhof)
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #193 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Novum Hotel Munchen Am Hauptbahnhof 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bavarian state capital and high technology metropolis is a prosperous European city by the beautiful Isar and offers visitors a variety of interesting attractions such as the Frauenkirche, Pinakothek, Hofbräuhaus, Allianz-Arena or the famous Viktualienmarkt.The Winters Hotel München · Am Hauptbahnhof is located in the heart of the city and right at the main railway station. It is just a few steps away from the historic Marienplatz. The world-famous Oktoberfest can also be reached on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novum Hotel Munchen Am Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing