We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great design for budget prices!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel One Munchen-Deutsches Museum
Ranked #31 of 389 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2014

At 69 Euros a night … it was less than the taxi from the airport!!! (which took nearly an hour in the peak time).
For that you got a clean, very nicely designed – both in layout and colours - basic room! No frills but everything you actually need for a sleepover –including a small desk and free WIFI - … and I have paid a lot more for a lot less.
I stayed there on the recommendation of the friend I was meeting for that evening – en route to Ljubljana. It was quite close to the centre of town and also where she lived, and she is an event organiser, so I knew it would be a good bet!
It was absolutely fine for crashing out for a few hours, but too small for spending any length of time – and I could not imagine how two people could stay in the space … but I am sure they do! I struggled to find space to put my large case without having to step over it!
The check-in was quick and efficient – you pay there and then, which also makes the check-out rapid.
The public areas – although I didn’t explore them apart from buying a bottle of water from the bar on my way back to the room after the night out – looked really good style wise. Good colour matching, funky shapes, imaginative lighting, etc. and a lot better than a few ‘style-on-a-budget’ options I have explored!
I would stay there again if I needed a good-value sleepover … but as I say above, not for any length of time!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne S, Front Office Supervisor at Motel One Munchen-Deutsches Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Anne Louise S,

we are very happy to read your super great review! That our concept could convince you is great!

Next time you could leave your empty bag with our colleagues at the front desk for more space, or book one of our sister hotels, which offer greater business rooms, if you should be traveling as a couple. We are happy to help with information and booking.

And of course we would be pleased to welcome you again in our "Motel One München-Deutsches Museum".

Best greetings from Munich sends
your Motel One-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

232 - 238 of 1,162 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

The rooms are small for american clients, and there really isn't a closet, but it IS everything you need for a comfortable stay in Munich. And while it's a bit of a stroll from the nearest metro, it's really in a great location for quiet and relaxation. The best parts are the price, and the breakfast!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaisertod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne S, Reservation Agent at Motel One Munchen-Deutsches Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Kaisertod,
thank you very much for your feedback!
We are happy to hear, that you like our breakfast and you are satisfied with our value for money.
Best regards
Your Motel One-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

You get what it says on the tin , Motel. The room although clean was tiny. The street noise was a nuisance especially the early morning bin men. At £71 per night I was expecting a little more. Ok for very short stays.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaerphillyWorthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne S, Front Office Supervisor at Motel One Munchen-Deutsches Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear CaerphillyWothy,

Thank you for your rating on TripAdvisor. We are very sorry, that the room size in our "Motel One München-Deutsches Museum" was not to your satisfaction.
Some of our sister hotels have business rooms, which are larger. Please do not hesitate to contact us for further information. We wish you all the best!

Greetings from Munich
Your team from Motel One

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Once again, staying at a Motel One. As always simple, tasteful décor, with highly efficient friendly staff. Room on 9th floor giving wonderful views over the city (and the alps). Brilliant position, only 5 minute walk to S-bahn station, or 15 minute walk to the centre of the city. Some great places to eat and drink nearby, but wonderfully quiet at night, even with windows full open.
Exactly what was wanted and expected for our week-long stay. But please be aware you get exactly what you pay for!

Room Tip: High floors have great view, and lifts are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisB11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne S, Reservation Agent at Motel One Munchen-Deutsches Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear ChrisB11,
thank you so much for your good review! We are very happy, that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel
and also in Munich. We would appreciate to welcoming you again!
Best regards
Your Motel One-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

After a very long travel schedule, I was looking forward to a hot shower and a nice bed. Shower was hot but only 1 small towel. Bed was firm but the blanket was for a single bed. I tried to call the front desk to get these things fixed but OOOPS - no PHONE. Room was a bit hot so I tried turn on the AC. (AC doesnt work). Opened the window to cool off - outside noise made sleeping a no-go. No PHONE, no FRIG, no COFFEE, no AC, no SPACE, etc. Come on guys! I could have done better with a tent and a sleeping bag! (now watch, there will probably be a standard response note - "dear guest 1234" we're sorry that you did not enjoy your tiny little room but we hope you will come back soon". Typical... rather than FIX the problem, just respond and say thank you, come back again. Nope. Not coming back here.

Room Tip: save the $$ & headache. Stay in a real hotel. Front desk tried to "spin" the lack of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Good location means only 15 minutes from city centery by walk, just over the great Deutsches Museum (to reccomend for visit!), it is in nice peacful surrounding, easy to reach by car, there is a garage (pretty expensive) and lovely lobby - bar with good prices of drinks. Not all staff knows English well, and on check in they don't ask for documents so my friend and his girlfriend were named the same as I because I booked two rooms on my name, of course... Room is not big, but is modern and cosy, with large comfortable bed and simple locker solutions, bathroom is nice with big shower cabin but the strange thing was that no hand soap was provided (?!), only shower gel. Cleanliness was ok.

Room Tip: probably rooms on higher floors have nice view over city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VedranSailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne S, Front Office Supervisor at Motel One Munchen-Deutsches Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear VedranSailor,

thank you for your detailed review and the time you have taken! We regret that not everything has been done to your satisfaction, but we would be very happy if the next time you decide to return for our "Motel One München-Deutsches Museum!"

Sunny greetings from Munich
Your Motel One-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Nice, clean, good value, good location. It is a "motel" because they don´t want to be in the star raiting system that hotels use, it does not have a few things that fancy hotels have but you get what you pay for and more.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StefanValberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne S, Assistant Front Office Manager at Motel One Munchen-Deutsches Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Stefan Valberg,

Thank you a lot for your positive feedback and 80 Points!

We are very happy that we measured up your expectations and more in our “Motel One München-Deutsches Museum”. We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

With kind regards
Your Motel One-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
1.3 mi away
Motel One Muenchen City Sued
1.1 mi away
Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor
0 mi away
Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre
0.1 mi away
Novotel Munich City
Novotel Munich City
#50 of 389 in Munich
2,732 reviews
2.6 mi away
Novotel Munchen City Arnulfpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel One Munchen-Deutsches Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel One Munchen-Deutsches Museum

Address: Rablstr. 2, 81669 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Munich
#30 Business Hotel in Munich
#44 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#47 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £72 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Motel One Munchen-Deutsches Museum 3*
Number of rooms: 469
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Motel One Munchen-Deutsches Museum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel One Munchen-Deutsches Museum Hotel Munich
Motel 1 Munchen-Deutsches Museum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing