We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Saturday Night”
Review of Ambiance Rivoli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ambiance Rivoli
Ranked #145 of 390 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We got into this hotel on a Saturday evening after several hours on the road. We were greeted warmly and professionally. The room was gorgeous. There was a Jacuzzi in the lovely bathroom which had a great hair dryer and counter space which was not the case for other places I have stayed for similar payment. Did I say the decor was beautiful? I wish I had not been quite so tired, I would have taken pictures. Breakfast the next morning was excellent. I appreciated being given a pot of coffee instead of running over to a machine or flagging down wait staff for more. There were wonderful huge windows to watch the falling snow. Breakfast lasted until 11 am which was delightful if sleeping in, and I was appreciative of the noon check out time. This is in a convenient location for public transportation and we had no trouble with parking. I would definitely choose this hotel again.

Room Tip: This was near an elevator. It was convenient. Although on the street side, it was quiet.Whether this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 411MarianH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (354)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 354 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2014

Initially we had booked into the Rivoli down the street, however when we arrived we had to walk through a building site to get there. (There was NO mention of this when the booking was made). The smell of smoke from the builders downstairs was overpowering. The room was ok for a budget hotel room and seemed clean enough. However, we could not cope with the smell of smoke and went to the Ambiance Rivoli (the partner hotel) to complain. The receptionist was less than friendly or accommodating and banged her way around the front desk in anger and frustration raising her eye brows and shaking her head. We made our way again through the building site to check our new allocated rooms on the 6th floor. The smell of the smoke and dust from the builders downstairs continued to be overpowering (especially with health conditions in the lungs).
We returned to the desk and were prepared to find alternative accommodation as this was NOT as advertised. After much banging around and more disgusted behaviour the receptionist spoke to the manager who gave us a room in the Ambiance Rivoli. The room was what we would have expected the first time. A no frills accommodation. The rest of the staff were helpful and pleasant throughout the rest of our stay. The staff member who served us on the first day was supposed to be the face of the hotel as she was out first contact. She was rude and had no understanding of customer service or controlling her behaviour.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

we were very happy with the room and the location of the hotel(only a few steps away from the subway). the rooms are comfortable and clean and well equipped and also soundproof so that you dont hear anything from other rooms at all.. The staff especially the ones at the reception were very friendly and willing to help. It was great to have safe parking facility at a reasonable price. the breakfast was rich and they serve it until 11am, which is very convenient. We would definitely go for it in case we visit Munich again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank H K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights. Rooms are reasonable with nice bathrooms, be aware there are no tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms. We requested a quiet room and inevitably got one facing the main road! Breakfast is of a decent standard but the dining room is far too small and they struggle to cope with seating guests. The bar area is also very small and they managed to run out of draft beer for 2 days, in Munich of all places! one evening there was a drunk asleep at the bar and staff just left him there, not a great advert for the place!! The local area has little to offer but public transport is close at hand and central Munich is only about 10 minutes away.The last 4* I stayed at in Germany was a Marriott in Bremen, this hotel in my opinion is NOT 4*! Would I stay here again? probably not!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

If you look from the map, this hotel might seem a little off from the city center (Marieplatz), but honestly it's less than 15 minutes away. Subway is only 4-5 stops away and when you walk up to the street from Harris station, this hotel is honestly 1 minute walk away.

We had a great welcome at check-in after a delayed travel. Receptionist welcomed us nicely and we also were offered a free glass of sparkling wine (maybe a Friday treat only?). Our room had been upgraded to a bigger one with bath tub. Room was spacious, nice and clean. Good start :-)

Breakfast was very nice. It's basic in the end, but selection is good between quality products, some "homemade" stuff too, also a chance to squeeze your own fresh orange juice (though the normal orange juice isn't automat stuff either). Looking at the people at breakfast, all age groups and family formats were present. In our opionion this hotel could very well be more popular around 30-40 years olds too looking for a place to stay for city holiday: it's good value for price, easy to reach and nice quality all around. For example, sleep quality, we had 4th floor room facing the inner yard. We never heard a noise in the room.

Two minor flaws though. The bathtub we had wasn't all clean. If the "airbath" was used, some dirt came through the bottom holes. That was nasty, but if the system wasn't used, it was ok. Still, maybe a little attention wouldn't hurt. Secondly, on our check-out day, we had to leave before breakfast. We asked and were promised "a lunch box", but the info never went through. However, we were served improptu a coffee, yogurt and fruits, just what we needed, so no problem.

Well recommended!

Room Tip: Room facing inner yard should have less of street noise = completely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Palmu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

Located within easy walking distance of Harris u-bahn underground station and only a few minutes from the city centre. This hotel is clean, modern and offers a great choice for breakfast. The rooms are spacious and air conditioned and the ensuite clean and with good quality fittings. The only suggestion I could make for improvement would be to add a bean to cup machine for coffee to the breakfast, not that there was anything wrong with the filter coffee provided. The staff were very friendly offering up a WiFi code that worked flawlessly throughout our stay. The trip was a special birthday treat for one member of our party and the hotel made the stay even more special with a personal letter and hand delivered gift on arrival. Would recommend to others and would stay here again. A real find and a great base to explore Munich.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank RavenTouring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

The staff at this hotel are amazing. I left my valuable watch by accident in my hotel room and it was found by the hotel staff and posted to me in the UK. They would not accept money for this. It makes you realise there are genuinely lovely people out there, and in particular at this hotel.
The room was great, the hotel was handy for transport links and I cannot believe it was not more expensive. It was fine to be able to check in early and check out late, and all my questions about wifi and directions were answered quickly.
Great hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SeedsOfAmpthill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0 mi away
Rivoli Hotel
Rivoli Hotel
#202 of 390 in Munich
284 reviews
1.9 mi away
Eurostars Grand Central
Eurostars Grand Central
#46 of 390 in Munich
1,506 reviews
4.9 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
K+K Hotel am Harras
K+K Hotel am Harras
#38 of 390 in Munich
878 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich - Westpark
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Munchen Westpark Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambiance Rivoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambiance Rivoli

Address: Albert-Rosshaupter-Str. 22, 81369 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Munich
#70 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#74 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £57 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambiance Rivoli 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ambiance Rivoli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambiance Rivoli Munich
Ambiance Rivoli Hotel Munich
Clarion Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing