We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, modern hotel - staff is a bit impersonal”
Review of Hilton Munich Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Munich Park
Ranked #58 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Nice, modern hotel - staff is a bit impersonal”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Overall, this was a fine, well-maintained property. Our room was clean, comfortable and spacious, and nicely furnished in a more modern design than we were expecting. In addition, both the desk and the bathroom included both standard 220 volt outlets, as well as adapted 110 volt outlets that would accept North American plugs. While power adapters are the first thing to go in my bag for any trip overseas, this was a nice touch. As we had not rented a car, the bus stop just outside the side door of the property allowed for a quick (5-stop) trip to a nearby U-Bahn station, which made it quite easy to get to and from the hotel on our daily excursions around town without the need for taking taxis everywhere. In addition, the location of the property a bit outside of the city center made for a quieter environment than we likely would have had at the Hilton closer to the city center, especially with Oktoberfest activities in full swing. Also, the daily breakfast offered in their restaurant was excellent, both in terms of variety and quality of food. All in all, no complaints about the property or the amenities, with the exception of room service; while it is offered 24 hours, their late-night menu (after 23:00) was extremely limited compared to other Hilton properties I have stayed at.

Our only issue with the hotel was that some of the staff members seemed a bit impersonal and not as helpful as I would expect at a Hilton flagship property. A few examples: At check-in, the desk clerk seemed to be somewhat annoyed by a few questions that we asked her, to the point where she flat out ignored one or two of them; she seemed like she just wanted to get us checked in and away from the front desk as fast as possible. On our first day, when we asked the concierge where the nearest bus stop was located, he simply said, “right outside,” without indicating which door or even asking where we were trying to go (we had to take a few moments to figure out for ourselves which side of the street we needed to catch the bus on). We stopped into their lobby gift shop on a few occasions to grab a few things during our stay (soda, pack of smokes, etc.). When we returned to the hotel one evening, the clerk (who had waited on us previously) refused to allow us to charge a few items to our room (as we had been doing for the past couple of days) and insisted, “cash only,” and was very indignant when I insisted on charging our purchases to our room (she ultimately refused to do so in the end) – this was just rather odd and never did understand why this was an issue on that one evening.

All in all, even with the few issues we had in our interactions with some of the staff (others were quite pleasant, by the way), this was a nice property in a great location. My actual rating here is 3.5 stars, which would be 4.5 for the hotel itself, minus 1 star for our less-than-positive staff interactions. We would likely stay here again on a future visit to Munich unless we had a need to be right downtown; we enjoyed the property itself to give the staff another chance.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tober138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa_Sude, Operations Coordinator at Hilton Munich Park, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Tober 138,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your impressions with other travellers regarding your recent stay at the Hilton Munich Park.

I am most delighted to read that the hotel with its location, facilities and services was according to your expectations.

We appreciate receiving feedback from our guests, even if it is of a critical nature, as this is the only way we can truly assess our guests’ needs, and continuously improve our service. For this reason I would like to apologize for the lacking friendliness of our front desk team. Usually our staff takes pride in servicing our international guests.
Our hotel shop in the lobby is operated from an external company. Nevertheless this is not the way we want our guests to be treated. Please rest assured that I spoke to the responsible in order to avoid reoccurrence in the future.

Dear guest, even though we could not meet your expectations entirely during this stay we would be delighted if we could welcome you on your future travels to Bavaria’s most charming capital.

Kind regards


Martin Soerensen
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,878 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    687
    773
    276
    95
    47
See reviews for
359
542
84
629
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

The hotel itself is ok -- ugly on the outside, but the rooms are comfortable and decent-sized. The bedding and beds are of good quality, and the bathroom was functional (good water pressure and nice-sized bath, though more counter space would have been nice). The sound-proofing was ok -- easy to hear voices from the hallway, though at least noise from other rooms was blocked out.

With my sister's diamond status, we were able to get the buffet breakfast free, which was pretty good. There was a varied selection, including "English" items such as baked beans, as well as made-to-order eggs and fresh fruit. There was also a good selection of breads and pastries, though I found the quality of the cheese and cold cuts to be lacking (many far less expensive hotels I've stayed in throughout Germany and Austria have higher quality here). Breakfast was enhanced by having espresso drinks available, and servers were generally quick in responding to requests for additional coffee.

Depends on why you're in Munich, but the location is not very convenient to get to the center of town. There is no direct S or U Bahn, so you either have to walk about five minutes to take a tram and connect, or go to the bus stop right next to the hotel and connect. I didn't find this a deal-breaker as Munich has very good public transportation, but this is something to keep in mind if you want to be in a more lively area.

The reason this property only gets two stars is the truly mediocre service. Said five-minute walk to the tram is not that obvious for someone new to the area, but the woman at the front desk made it sound like you just walk outside and it's there. Some more detail would have been helpful. I don't know what it is with the Hilton concierges we've encountered recently, but the concierge here was pretty much dismissive of our questions and only provided the minimum information to answer our questions. Once again, if you don't like helping people, then perhaps it's time to find another line of work.

What really annoyed us was the total lack of response to the internet outages. Yes, internet stopped working, and the front desk was dismissive and/or non-responsive on the phone. Also our room phone buttons didn't work so I had to call the front desk with my cell phone. No one ever came up to fix the phone, as we had been told. When my sister asked in person to have someone address the internet/phone situation, we were told by the trainee at the front desk that someone would get in touch with us to fix this, but no one ever did. If this is how loyal diamond members are treated, I shudder to think how lowly gold-level minions like I am would be treated.

Basically this hotel is an ok option if you don't need to do any work online or need any help from the staff. There are too many good options in Munich to stay somewhere like this, unless you have a lot of hilton points to use (which is the only reason we stayed here).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cillierabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa_Sude, Operations Coordinator at Hilton Munich Park, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your impressions regarding your stay at the Hilton Munich Park with other travellers.

While reading your review, I am pleased to see that you have overall enjoyed your stay with us but your points of critique are, of course, well taken as they help us in improving our service standards and possibly reveal the need for further training of our team members.
It goes without saying that I am disturbed to read our inconsistent service approach from our front desk staff. Our concierge and front desk team normally takes pride in servicing our international guests and I have truly to apologize for having you not provided with our usual high service. This is certainly not the norm and there is no excuse in not being consistent every day to each of our valued guests!

Dear guest, although your stay with us did not meet your expectations this time, my team and I would be very much looking forward to having the chance of welcoming you back to the Hilton Munich Park!

Kind regards


Martin Soerensen
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

It was a company jolly to watch the audi cup at the bayern munich stadium and they put us up at the hilton. Great 1st impressions and things stayed the same. The rooms were excellent even providing an english plug socket incase you had forgotten the adapter. Bar was excellenty stocked and service was brilliant if a touxh pricy but when staying in this level of accommodation it was to be expected. Only down point was that wifi was free in the lobby bit chargeable in the rooms. Come on hilton dont be so tight. Otherwise an enjoyeable 2 night stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanjay666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Hilton Park in Munich at the beginning of October 2013. After a ride on the S bahn from the airport we accessed the hotel by taking the U bahn to Giselastr and then a 15 minute walk across the English Garden. We were able to quickly access the city center the same way. There is also a tram line 18 that stops near the hotel about 10 minutes walk. The hotel allowed us to check in early which was welcome after our long flight. The staff at the reception were very kind in helping with directions and other questions we had. We mentioned our anniversary which we were celebrating and were surprised by champagne and fruit to the room later in the evening. The rooms are modern and newly renovated. We definitely would stay here again on a a return trip to Munich

Room Tip: Higher rooms in the executive area have a better and higher view of the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QueBootzGomez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I stayed at this hotel during Oktoberfest. It is not directly connected to a tram or train station, but the 3-minute walk was no hassle. However, if you are headed back to the hotel alone after dark, walking through the poorly-lit park between the tram stop and the hotel might be a bit of a harrowing experience - recommend using the flashlight on your phone.

The bar is small, but well-equipped.

With HHonors Diamond membership, I gained access to the Executive Lounge - complimentary breakfast / sodas / water / snacks throughout the day. The breakfast is a hot buffet with cereals, fruit, and pastries. On the 12th floor, it provides a great look of the city.

Concierge was very helpful - albeit quite direct - when giving instructions on taking public transportation to the airport. If you need this, it will take about an hour and cost 10.60 Euro.

For business travel, I feel this would be an ideal location. For personal travel, it was very good, but not ideal only due to location. However, the public transportation system in Munich is miraculous and makes going anywhere a breeze.

With all the comforts of a full-service American hotel, I look forward to staying at this hotel again sometime.

Room Tip: Request a higher room for the views and get a day pass for the Tram.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mammoth06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Stayed here 4 nights during Oktoberfest 2013. The hotel is located about 15 minutes by tram ride from the center of the city. Tram station is about 10 minutes walk from the hotel (not fun, if it's raining). Day pass for the tram is around 5.50 Euros. Taxi ride into town is about 12 Euros.

Location wise, this hotel is more appropriate for business travelers - aside from the beautiful park, there is really nothing in the immediate area, except for an Italian restaurant about 10 minutes walk away - so, if you are on an expense account, this place is fine. All the extras at the hotel are very expensive - breakfast is grossly overpriced at close to $40 a person; a six-pak of .5L bottles of plain water cost 18 Euros (around $22); internet was 25 euros a night but free in the lobby - which, in this day and age, is nothing more than highway robbery; taxi to the airport was about 60 Euros.

Getting to the hotel from the airport was not easy. You can either take a taxi, or you can take the complimentary Lufthansa Airport Bus from the airport to the central train station in the city center. From there, you either take the tram (No. 18) from the south side of the station, or try to find Bus 54 which will drop you off near the hotel. With luggage, those options can be a challenge. FYI, the Lufthanza bus passes right by the hotel (which we discovered fortuitously). We were lucky that the bus was empty, and when I saw the hotel while we were at the stoplight, I asked the driver if he would stop and let us out and he agreed.

If you want to be in the hustle and bustle of the city, I would suggest staying at one of the hotels in the city center - more expensive, but more convenient.

As for the rooms, they were larger than most European rooms, comfortable, clean and all that one could ask for. Plenty of plug outlets. No complaints.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lexizmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Lombardia, Italy
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Inside the Munich Park is a very nice and modern hotel with free internet in The lobby. I have been there in the Ocktoberfest period and I had to wait 2 hours for the room (I arrived at 10, I've got my room at 12 when chek in was allowed from 14.00, so for so good then. I think that outside Oktoberfest the early check in is not a problem).

Taxi are always available outside and breakfast is nice. Oh, i forgot! German are the best with fried potatoes! No doubts! I ordered a Club Sandwich, the sandwich itself got too much mayonnaise inside but the fried potatoes were VERY PERFECT!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaudioErba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.8 mi away
The Westin Grand Munchen
1.6 mi away
Hilton Munich City
Hilton Munich City
#80 of 383 in Munich
2,616 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#5 of 383 in Munich
670 reviews
2.1 mi away
Le Meridien Munich
Le Meridien Munich
#94 of 383 in Munich
2,554 reviews
1.6 mi away
Munich Marriott Hotel
Munich Marriott Hotel
#65 of 383 in Munich
1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Munich Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Munich Park

Property: Hilton Munich Park
Address: Am Tucherpark 7, 80538 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Munich
#10 Spa Hotel in Munich
#34 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#40 Business Hotel in Munich
#66 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#75 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Munich Park 5*
Number of rooms: 484
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only minutes from the Englischer Garten, the Hilton Munich Park hotel is a peaceful retreat in the city, located 15 minutes from the city center and 30 minutes from Munich airport. Many famous sights like the BMW museum, the Olympiapark and the Allianz Arena are just a short drive away. Unwind in this stylish Munich hotel and enjoy a new level of comfort and contemporary design. Every space has been designed to the highest standard, reflecting a fresh and modern, yet elegant look. Choose your own taste sensation in the Tivoli restaurant and take in the majestic views of the Eisbach River. Make use of the hotel's extensive leisure facilities to help you relax and rejuvenate. A fully equipped fitness center with a range of cardiovascular and resistance machines, an indoor pool (open to families with children daily until 7 pm) as well as a sauna and steam room give you the freedom to choose how you would like to unwind. The spa area offers a great variety of massage and beauty treatments as well as personal training and physiotherapy. Each guestroom is decorated in a modern style with sliding patio doors, opening on to a private balcony. For a touch of luxury, step up to an Executive Room or Suite, for exclusive access to the Executive Lounge offering complimentary breakfast and refreshments. Choose the Salon Marco Polo room on the 15th floor for stunning panoramic views of the city and the Alps. The charming roof terrace also sets a stunning backdrop for special occasions and evening events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Munich Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Park Munich Hotel Munich
Hilton International Munich
Hilton Munich
Munich Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing