We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow...nice!”
Review of Hilton Munich City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Munich City
Ranked #81 of 390 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We got a great deal here and the stay was fabulous!
Literally, over the train station! Yahoo! So easy to get around. The rooms were VERY large.
The movies were almost first run, not free, but reasonable (10.00 give or take). Clean as a whistle. Helpful concierge and good (though a bit pricey) breakfast. Definitely would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlottebea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina_Fiebig, Executive Office at Hilton Munich City, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

Dear Charlottebea,

Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback. It is a great pleasure to read that you had a great time in Munich and felt comfortable in our hotel.
Please be assured that we are very delighted to share your comment with our concierge.
We are looking forward to welcome you back soon to the Hilton Munich City

With warm regards

Nina Fiebig

Executive Office
Hilton Munich City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,744)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,401 - 1,407 of 2,744 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2012

It was a nice location as it was in easy walking distance of the main Munich centre and also ideally located above the S bahn station. It worked well with us as we had access to the executive lounge which gave us free snacks and happy hour. The room was the standard, up-to-date Hilton decor and the bathroom was big and clean. We traveled with our 15 year old son and had a standard room. It was big enough for our king sized bed, a separate single bed and plenty of space to move around.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

This hotel is a real business hotel located in a rather quiet area of Munich. Service is Hilton level, room was comfortabel and bright.
Public transport makes it easy to reach the more busy area in the area of the Marienplatz or the Hauptbahnhoff.
Deutches Museum is on walking distance.
Personally I was a little disappointed by the service and the quality of the food in the restaurant both for breakfast and dinner. Other Hilton hotels have a higher level of quality and service in the catering area.
But in general, good value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raf D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina_Fiebig, Executive Office at Hilton Munich City, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

Dear RafD,

I am really delighted that you have had a pleasant stay at our hotel and enjoyed the comfortable location.
Unfortunately, I had to read that you haven’t been fully satisfied with our service and food quality. Please be assured that I will share your comment with our Restaurant Manager, to make sure that our guests receive the excellent service and quality they deserve.
Thank you very much for your valued feedback and I hope to welcome you back at the Hilton Munich City soon.

With kind regards

Nina Fiebig

Executive Office
Hilton Munich City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

This hotel was very nice, the rooms were beautiful and well appointed. The breakfast was delicious. The hotel is centrally located with a train station directly below the hotel. You can take a train from the airport directly to the hotel in 30 minutes for 10 Euros. It is only 3 stops from the City Center. Staff was friendly and allowed us to check in early.

Room Tip: Call ahead for early checkin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJT_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina_Fiebig, Executive Office at Hilton Munich City, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

Dear PJT_NJ,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your recent stay at the Hilton Munich City and for taking the time to share your valuable feedback on your experience with us.
It is indeed very much appreciated and a huge compliment for our whole team and therefore we are happy to share.
It would be our pleasure to hopefully welcome you back to our wonderful city very soon. Most of all, back to the Hilton Munich City.
Until then, we thank you once again for your feedback and remain.

With best regards

Nina Fiebig

Executive Office
Hilton Munich City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Let's get the positives out of the way first: this hotel has a good gym, with new equipment; the breakfast is tasty and waiters efficient; and the concierge is helpful.

However, sleep will not come easy...

The rooms are decorated in the Hilton-bland style, nothing special but not offensive either. Bathrooms are small but OK, with limited toiletries. The problems start with the beds. Mine consisted of two singles pushed together to make a double, with single sheets laid horizontally and two single duvets. This was topped off with two crappy youth hostel pillows. Plus, the rooms are stuffy and the plumbing at night comes alive in Dolby stereo.

A final gripe: internet in the rooms is a complete rip-off at 22 euros per day.

Overall, I'm sure there are much better options in Munich in the same price range.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EmilRio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina_Fiebig, Executive Office at Hilton Munich City, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

Dear EmilRio,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to write this feedback for us and I hope you have had a safe trip back to your home.
With great concern I had to read that you have not been fully satisfied with your stay and I really apologize for that. It would be a great help for us if you could send me your room number, so we can double check the plumbing. You can contact me at nina.fiebig@hilton.com.

Regarding the two single beds which were pushed together I will contact our executive housekeeper to figure out what the reason for this issue was.
Thank you also for the pleasant words regarding our breakfast team and the concierge, we will happily share with our team.
Dear EmilRio, I really hope that you will give us the opportunity to prove to you, that we do care about your feedback, during your next stay at our hotel.

With kind regards

Nina Fiebig

Executive Office
Hilton Munich City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

My wife and i recently stayed at the Hilton for four nights during Oktoberfest. We were upgraded to an Executive floor room with access to the lounge. The staff were extremely helpful, breakfast was wonderful. Fresh fruit and great pastries and bread. Hotel is ideally located as it basically sits above a S and U train station.

The only concern we had was the fact we could not leave the lounge with a coffee or anything else for that matter. This rule was not consistant. We noticed several guest leave with water or coffee and nothing was stated to them. Our recommendation to the management is to make the rule consistant. Overall an outstanding hotel.

Room Tip: Our room faced the interior courtyard so it was extremely quiet. We never heard street noise in this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina_Fiebig, Executive Office at Hilton Munich City, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

Dear Opusone1,

Thank you very much for your pleasant feedback. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast at the executive lounge fully and we will inform our executive lounge staff about your kind words.
Regarding the rule that it is not allowed taking food or drinks outside the lounge, please be assured that I will talk to the responsible manager to make sure that every guest will be treated the same way. I am very sorry that you had to experience something different.
I really hope to welcome you back soon - maybe to one of Munich´s traditional Christmas markets in December.

With kind regards

Nina Fiebig

Executive Office
Hilton Munich City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

This hotel is located perfectly. As other have pointed out, it is a piece of cake to come from the airport to this hotel. If you plan to do anything on the day of your arrival, be sure to buy the special ticket that lets you ride public transportation after you arrive at the hotel. Also, the hotel is easy to get to from the main train station using the S-bahn.
Yes, the hotel is walking distance from the center of Munich, but more importantly is the neighborhood that it is in. Right across the street, which you can walk to safely using the S-bahn station, is a shopping center, with bakeries and grocery stores (HIT is very good). Also across the street and to the left is a very nice flower shop if you want to brighten up your room.
The hotel breakfast is incredibly expensive. When you check in, they say that there is a special if you decide right then, and the 28 Euro breakfast is only 20 Euros! That is per person! You can get very nice pastries from the lobby and use the electric kettle to make coffee or tea in your room, or go across the street for baked goods.
Go left when you leave the hotel, and you come to an area of nice little restaurants. We really enjoyed the first one, Bella Italia. Continue on a little farther, and you come to a delightful round plaza that locals are enjoying.
Make sure you walk around behind the hotel, where two fountains in the shape of huge musical instruments grace the plaza near a musicians union (?) are located. Also look for the plaque set in the pavement that describes an attempt to shorten Hitler's life made by a courageous German.
Our first impression of the hotel was not good. The hallway carpets were soiled, and our room, which overlooked a quiet courtyard, had two large stains on it. However, we soon were won over by the friendly and helpful staff. This hotel host large tour groups, which results in a lot of wear and tear, but still I would return in a heartbeat because of the employees and the location.
If you arrive at the hotel from the S-bahn, signs direct you to the Hilton. When you go in a double door, you come to stairs before you arrive at the elevator that takes you to the hotel. If you have a lot of luggage, the stairs are not fun. In good weather, instead of going up the stairs, take the escalator that is to the right of the doorway that is marked for the Hilton. The escalator will take you almost to the front door of the Hilton.
A nice touch in the room was a mini-bar with a small space for the guest's personal items. (A couple of cans of beer from HIT, for example.)

Room Tip: Rooms that overlook the courtyard are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JandJ67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina_Fiebig, Executive Office at Hilton Munich City, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

Dear JandJ67,

We would like to thank you for choosing the Hilton Munich City as destination hotel for your last trip. It is great to read about your experience and your kind words about the great service encountered – especially the comment regarding our staff makes us very proud and we are happy to share with them. Thank you also for the detailed description about the hotel area and our unique S-Bahn connection.

We are really delighted that you had such a satisfying stay and look forward to welcoming you again.

With kind regards

Nina Fiebig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
1.6 mi away
Hilton Munich Park
Hilton Munich Park
#61 of 390 in Munich
2,118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre
0.2 mi away
Novotel Munich City
Novotel Munich City
#50 of 390 in Munich
2,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Munich Marriott Hotel
Munich Marriott Hotel
#73 of 390 in Munich
1,282 reviews
1.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Munich City Center
1.7 mi away
Eurostars Book Hotel
Eurostars Book Hotel
#44 of 390 in Munich
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Munich City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Munich City

Address: Rosenheimer Str. 15, 81667 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Munich
#44 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#67 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#76 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £86 - £292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Munich City 4*
Number of rooms: 480
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Munich City provides modern accomodation in the heart of Munich, with a direct train link to the aiport and the main station. The shopping mile at the Marienplatz ist just a ten minutes walk away. Business centre, 2 restaurants, café, bar, 24h gym, room service - the hotel offers the full range of services for the business and leisure guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Munich City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Munich City Hotel Munich
Munich Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing