We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Business Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Munich City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton Munich City
Ranked #78 of 381 Hotels in Munich
Natchez, Mississippi
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good Business Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Stayed here while on business, couldn't have been more pleased. I had an issue with the coffee maker two of them and finally after the third one I had one working from the maintenance staff, they even had hot water and coffe brought to me until they had a unit that would work. Great customer service.

Breakfast has a very good selection and very good meals are prepared as well. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Britt016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramona R, Executive Office at Hilton Munich City, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you very much for choosing to stay at Hilton Munich City and sharing your positive experiences on Tripadvisor.

We were delighted to read your comments regarding the great service you received and we are very pleased to pass on your warm words to our staff. Words like yours are always a huge motivation for every team member.

Once again we would sincerely like to thank you for your detailed feedback and do look forward to welcoming you back as our guest in the near future.

With nice regards from Munich

Floris Licht
HILTON MUNICH CITY
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    783
    1,111
    419
    154
    58
See reviews for
500
770
180
756
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Munchen, Germany
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

The hotel is well situated in Munich, close to the Deutsches Museum. Staff is friendly and the hotel is in general OK. However when some anoying things would be better taken care of the experience zould be very good instead of average. Staff in the breakfast area should pay more attention to the guest and their needs.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Rafel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramona R, Executive Office at Hilton Munich City, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all I would to take the opportunity to thank you for taking the time to complete our customer satisfaction questionnaire and providing us with your feedback about your stay.

I was pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and you found our staff to be generally friendly. I have already discussed your feedback regarding our breakfast team with our Restaurant Manager and we are taking steps to improve this. What would interest me to learn is the “annoying things” you experience so that we can learn from your experience and hopefully put them right for a future stay and our other guests. I hope that my private e-mail has already reached you.

I look forward to hearing from soon and learning how we can exceed your expectations and make it right for your next visit to Munich.

Best regards,

Philip Murray
HILTON MUNICH CITY
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa OK USA
Level Contributor
204 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

The location for this hotel is great, right above the s Bahn stop. We were promptly greeted at the reception desk and checked in quickly with our room being ready on our arrival at noon. Upgraded to the exec floor which includes wifi and breakfast, snacks during the day, and appetizers and drinks in the evening. Well worth it. Our room was very modern, apparently recently updated. Bed was wonderfully comfortable as was the easy chair. My only complaint was that the room was heated to the level of a sauna. We turned down the heat as far as it would go as soon as we arrived. We went out all afternoon and early evening. At 9 pm, the temp was barely tolerable, maybe about 85F. Unable to open the window. By midnight, it had cooled down enough that we could sleep. But I can't understand why the room was so overheated to begin with. A huge waste of energy IMO, though I did note that a lot of other places we went in in munich were overheated by my standards too, which is weird because I am usually freezing.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Feistyrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramona R, Executive Office at Hilton Munich City, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we like to thank you for your constructive review on Tripadvisor.

From your feedback, I could read that you enjoyed our great location and that you had a pleasant time in our hotel. Thank you for your kind words, especially regarding our Executive Lounge.
I was sorry, though, to learn that the unusually high temperature in your room caused disturbed nights. It is unfortunate we did not know as we would have done our utmost to rectify the uncomfortable situation you experienced.

Thank you once again for sharing your opinion with us. We do hope to welcome you soon back to Hilton Munich City.

Kind regards

Philip Murray
HILTON MUNICH CITY
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe
Level Contributor
72 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in October 2013 on a long weekend visit to Munich.

Arriving at around midnight on the first day we were dealt with politely and efficiently as we checked in and this set the tone for the generally good level of service we experienced during our stay.

In terms of location we were very pleased. The hotel is right above Rosenheimer Platz S-bahn station with regular trains to all areas of Munich (including direct to the airport). The hotel is also a 15-20 minute walk (with a 10 year old child) to Marienplatz in the city centre with a huge choice of bars & restaurants.

The room itself was fairly typical of a business chain hotel and was comfortable enough but is starting to feel very dated with large rips and scuffs in the wallpaper, cheap feeling furniture and a bathroom which looks like it's come straight out of your Grans house with a silly decorative shower curtain. The bedroom doors are also on a very forceful self closing mechanism which makes them slam shut so you can often here doors banging in the corridor when you're in bed.

Breakfast was excellent with a wide range of hot and cold food, fresh fruit juices and a sensible finish time (10:30) so you didn't feel like you needed to rush through it

The bar area is pleasant enough although hotel lobby bars always feel a bit like you're in an airport waiting lounge and again we found the service here perfectly acceptable. The food menu in the bar is a bit limited though (especially for kids).

The most annoying thing about the hotel is the Wi-Fi. There's free Wi-Fi in the lobby area (which just about reaches the bar) but if you want Wi-Fi in the bedroom you have to shell out an absolutely outrageous 25 Euros per day. How on earth can any hotel justify such an extortionate rate?

Just an additional point on Munich itself, I was very surprised at how suitable it is for children (unlike the hotel which appeared to have nothing in the way of kids facilities). From the huge Science Museum to the Olympic Park and the Allianz Arena where we saw Bayern playing there's plenty to occupy the kids.

Would I stay at the Hilton again? I think there's enough positives about the hotel to say yes to that question but only at a significant discount to the rack rate.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HighWycombeTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramona R, Executive Office at Hilton Munich City, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Let me take this opportunity to thank you for your honest review on your last stay at Hilton Munich City and also for sharing it on Tripadvisor.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your long weekend with your family in the Bavarian Capital. Thank you for your kind words regarding our Customer Service and also for your comment about our breakfast buffet, which I will gladly pass on.

However, I regret to see that you were disappointed by our Wi-Fi-Service. I can understand your annoyance due to the weak connection of free internet in the lobby area and the pricing in the room. I do apologise that this did not meet your expectations and will discuss these points with the relevant parties to see what can be done to improve.

Despite your mixed feelings about your experience during your stay at Hilton Munich City, we would be delighted to welcome you back to Munich in the near future and show you that we do care about your feedback.

Kind regards

Philip Murray
HILTON MUNICH CITY
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Beautiful hotel, international atmosphere. Not far from the center. The staff were very courteous and professional. The room very big and clean! The breakfast amazing and varied ... certainly enough for you all day! Highly recommended

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ely80Bia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramona R, Executive Office at Hilton Munich City, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to take the opportunity to thank you very much for choosing to stay at Hilton Munich City and sharing your positive feedback online with other travelers.

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your time in Munich as well as our room facilities.

Once again we would sincerely like to thank you for your kind words on Tripadvisor.

All the best

Floris Licht
HILTON MUNICH CITY
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Hotel has spatious rooms but they are a bit weary. My bathroom tiling had seen the best days in 1990's. Location is great, both to Old city and airport. Breakfast was good and Wifi functioned speedy enough. extra plus for well designed lighting.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KaisaEspoo_Finland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramona R, Executive Office at Hilton Munich City, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you very much for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor.

It was nice to read that you enjoyed your stay and the atmosphere in the Hilton Munich City.

We are looking forward to your next stay with us.

Kindest regards

Floris Licht
HILTON MUNICH CITY
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

I have visited Munich several times on work and had heard the Hilton City is a very good hotel. It was never available at a good rate, so I never got the chance. But while planning my recent trip, I was happy to see that it was available and immediately booked it. On hindsight, I realize the reason – I also wouldn’t want to stay here again on my next trip. While the hotel is a typical large chain hotel in a good location, it doesn’t work so well.
Check-in was smooth but I was horrified to hear they charge €25 per day for internet access in the room. In this day & age, most business hotels give internet access for free (at least in corporate packages like I had) as people need to be connected. Novotel and Holiday Inn in the vicinity charge a nominal fee. There is free wi-fi access in the lobby, but it works only in the lobby, not even in the entire floor or the restaurant where breakfast is served.
I asked for a non-smoking room with city view and I got a room on the first floor overlooking the street, certainly not the view I had in mind. While there was a non-smoking sign on the room, there was a very strong odour of cigarette smoke in the room. It diminished over the 3 days I stayed there but it was still very much there. A couple of tiles in the bathroom were cracked.
The breakfast was good and lavish, service there was good.
Access from the subway station is very convenient – so one doesn’t have to be outdoor if it is raining or snowing. But there is a short flight of steps, which is not convenient if one has heavy luggage coming or going to the airport.
The last surprise was that my credit card was charged for an unexplained reason after I had left the hotel. I had provided my card during check-in as guarantee but had paid cash while checking out. I wrote to the hotel and they replied saying it was a system error and they had reversed the charge.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sally_pgw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramona R, Executive Office at Hilton Munich City, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank for recently staying with us at Hilton Munich City and for informing us about your experience. Only due to guests who share their impressions with us, either positive or negative, we are able to look at our performances objectively and filter out the strengths and weaknesses of our hotel.

Regarding the smoky smell in your room please be assured that I will directly contact our executive housekeeper to prevent this happening in the future and would be very grateful if you contact me via Ramona.reisinger@hilton.com to receive your room number you stayed in. I understand that you expected a fresh, clean non-smoking room and take this opportunity to apologise for the room not meeting your expectations.

I was also able to learn that you thought our internet cost was too expensive. I would like to inform you for a potential future stay that we do also offer the type of rates including internet for a lower price that you mention. Unfortunately we did have a router issue in the restaurant during the time you visited which was been rectified to offer free internet in the restaurant as well.

Although you left with a negative impression, I still hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again to Munich.

If I can be of any further assistance to you, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at any time

With kind regards from the beautiful city of Munich

Ramona Reisinger
HILTON MUNICH CITY
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre
1.6 mi away
Hilton Munich Park
Hilton Munich Park
#59 of 381 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,755 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Munich City
Novotel Munich City
#53 of 381 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Munich City Center
1.6 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Munich City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Munich City

Property: Hilton Munich City
Address: Rosenheimer Str. 15, 81667 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#67 Family Hotel in Munich
#67 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#76 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Munich City 4*
Number of rooms: 480
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Munich City provides modern accomodation in the heart of Munich, with a direct train link to the aiport and the main station. The shopping mile at the Marienplatz ist just a ten minutes walk away. Business centre, 2 restaurants, café, bar, 24h gym, room service - the hotel offers the full range of services for the business and leisure guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Munich City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Munich City Hotel Munich
Munich Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing