We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Munich City Hilton”
Review of Hilton Munich City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Munich City
Ranked #81 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Munich City Hilton”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

This is conveniently located hotel, you are either a short walk to Marienplatz ( 15 minutes) or link to the U Bhan or tube adjacent. Staff attentive and friendly. Internet is not free in the rooms, you have to pay or stick in the lobby to check your emails.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hussainalqemzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca S, Executive Office at Hilton Munich City, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Guest,

You seem to have really enjoyed your stay with us. We are delighted to hear this!

It was great to read your feedback about our hotel staff as they are our biggest asset in creating an unforgettable stay for our guests.

We look forward to welcome you back to Hilton Munich City in the near future.

Best regards,

Floris Licht
HILTON MUNICH CITY
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,625 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    827
    1,143
    429
    163
    63
See reviews for
524
799
183
788
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Staff extremely helpfull. Facilities are great and concierge goes out of his way to help you.Location is walking distance away from the old town. Parking is available on site.It is a pity that internet facilities are charged for for a certain catagory of guests.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank 398harmv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca S, Executive Office at Hilton Munich City, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Hi,

You seem to have really enjoyed your stay, delighted to hear this!

We do offer free wifi in all public areas of the hotel and since mid april we reduced our internet prices to €10 per day or €5 per hour as a result of guest feedback.

We look forward to welcome you back to Hilton Munich City in the near future.

Best regards,

Philip Murray
HILTON MUNICH CITY
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janesville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Boy, where do we start with this place. We stayed at this hotel with a group from Globus. Upon arrival, our tour guide said that there were no porters to transport our luggage so we all had to unload our suitcase ourselves.

Our tour guide sent this hotel a fax the morning of our stay reminding them to make sure that families were given rooms adjoining each other.

Wonders of wonders-Hilton ignored the fax and families were given rooms on separate floors. This was unacceptable so our guide told the front desk to make it right. One desk clerk worked to get rooms adjusted while the 2 other clerks stood there doing nothing. So unreal. While awaiting our room for 40 mins, we sat on the completely filthy lobby furniture.

Finally given rooms and had to come back down to a request another room as one was completely filthy. Rooms had dirty carpet, old outdated furniture falling apart.

Suitcases were to left outside room by 6:45. Porters never came to pick up our luggage so again, we had to bring our own luggage down.... Concierge (older gentleman) was gruff and acted as though we were annoying him. Tell him to smile. His day will go by faster.

The only thing good about this place was the included breakfast. It was good and had a good selection of food.

This Hilton needs a complete overhaul of its furnishings and it's staff. To think that the price of this old outdated, poorly staffed hotel was about 200 euros is more than I can fathom. I really want my money back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alwaystosagirl1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca S, Executive Office at Hilton Munich City, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Hello,

I am really sorry and surprised you did not enjoy your stay.
Its important to us the guests leave happy and with this in mind I would be grateful if you could contact me directly via Bianca.steppan@hilton.com to discuss this personally.

I hope to hear from you soon.

Kind regards,

Philip Murray
HILTON MUNICH CITY
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, United States
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This hotel was really easy to access from the train. We took the train from the airport directly to the train station adjacent to the hotel. This saved us the high taxi fare both ways. Location of the hotel was fabulous and very close to the city center and shopping, restaurants, etc. Very nice!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Louise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca S, Executive Office at Hilton Munich City, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Hello,

Thanks for telling us about your stay. Delighted to read that you enjoyed the location of our hotel.

We are looking forward to welcome you back to Hilton Munich City in the near future.

Best regards,

Philip Murray
HILTON MUNICH CITY
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
103 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The best part of Hilton Munich City is its close proximity to the Rosenheimer Platz S-Bahn station. You can get to the city center or the airport easily. There is an elevator near the bar that will take you close to the station level. You only have to carry your luggage a few steps.

Our room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was very good. The neighborhood is quiet. I am very happy with my stay. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TXwonderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca S, Executive Office at Hilton Munich City, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Hi,

You seem to be very satisfied with your stay, delighted to hear it! Great to know that you had a nice visit to Munich and were happy with your hotel choice.

We are looking forward to welcome you back to Hilton Munich City in the near future.

Kind regards,

Philip Murray
HILTON MUNICH CITY
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

First the good bits: location was great and extremely easy to get to, and my room was back facing so no road noise. But that's about it really.

I booked this hotel extremely last minute and the day before a business trip and as I was pushed for time I just saw that this was very near where I needed to be and assumed a certain standard that I've experience with previous Hilton hotels. I won't make this mistake again.

I paid almost 200EUR for room only for one night and was pretty appalled that wifi in the room was another 10EUR per 24 hours, but since I needed to do a fair amount of work and couldn't really perch in the lobby for hours for free wifi, I paid up. I didn't bother with the breakfast because it was a staggering 29EUR and frankly there are a couple of bakeries right around the corner.

My main issue was the condition of the room. The décor was pretty beige/drab but I guess that's a matter of taste - but the state of the room was awful. I just checked in and got to work and only a couple of hours later as I got ready before dinner did I start noticing that the side of the bath was all scratched up, the tiles were pretty mouldy and grouting cracked/missing, the bathroom door was all worn and chipped etc etc, As I was on my way out I noticed some of the wallpaper had been torn and was hanging off, and the carpet was stained.

I got back from dinner and my key card didn't work (no I didn't put it in a wallet with anything magnetic etc, it was in my coat pocket and well away from my bag) so as I went back down to reception to sort it out I mentioned to the night duty person that there were a few problems with the room - not to complain or ask to be moved, I just mentioned it in passing. Their opinion was to apologise and thank me for pointing it out, as they would never know these things if they weren't told by guests.

I got back up to the room and thought hold on, wouldn't the cleaning staff perhaps notice wallpaper hanging off? Does no-one inspect the rooms ever? So I had a further look around and near where the wallpaper was hanging off, there were loads of other chunks missing too. There's no way you could miss that if you actually looked at it.

In the morning when I checked out (which took way too long - only one person was checking a long queue of people out) and was asked if I had a good stay I mentioned the room again in passing but got a bit of a blank "I didn't really want an answer to that question" stare, though she did remove the wifi charge from my bill.

Still though, I paid almost 200EUR for a room here, when a colleague stayed at a lovely hotel just down the road for 69EUR. Lesson learned.

So this isn't just whinging I've put up a few photos to show exactly what I am talking about (and not even all of them). I've never taken/put up photos of a hotel room before, but that's how strongly I feel about this place!

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Morgie111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca S, Executive Office at Hilton Munich City, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Hello,

Thanks for telling us about your stay. I am really sorry you were not satisfied.
Based on guest feedback we reduced our internet prices to€10 per day or €5 per hour in mid of April.

Whilst it is not cheap we do receive very good feedback about breakfast, it is very popular to our guests and the variety is often praised. You could also enjoy a snack at our Café Cino or you could use our a la carte service if you don´t want to pay for the full breakfast buffet.
My apologies you were not satisfied with the condition of your room. I would appreciate if you could let me know the room number via Bianca.steppan@hilton.com so we can rectify this issues without relay. I am glad to share that we are planning our renovation at the moment and we hope to begin it in the near future.

I do hope to welcome you back to Hilton Munich City in the near future.

Best regards,

Philip Murray
HILTON MUNICH CITY
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

very nice hotel in a perfect location with the metro station just outside the hotel.. very easy to get to from the airport ... big supermarket and bakery just across the road .. and just a 10 minute walk to the city centre

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank andreas t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca S, Executive Office at Hilton Munich City, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Hello,

You seem to have really enjoyed your stay with us, delighted to hear this!
Great to know that you had a nice visit to Munich and were happy with your hotel choice!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Munich City in the near future.

Best regards,

Philip Murray
HILTON MUNICH CITY
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre
0.2 mi away
Novotel Munich City
Novotel Munich City
#50 of 383 in Munich
2,546 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton Munich Park
Hilton Munich Park
#60 of 383 in Munich
1,881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Munich City East
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Munich City Center
0.5 mi away
Hotel Admiral
Hotel Admiral
#74 of 383 in Munich
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Munich City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Munich City

Property: Hilton Munich City
Address: Rosenheimer Str. 15, 81667 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#67 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#67 Family Hotel in Munich
#76 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Munich City 4*
Number of rooms: 480
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Munich City provides modern accomodation in the heart of Munich, with a direct train link to the aiport and the main station. The shopping mile at the Marienplatz ist just a ten minutes walk away. Business centre, 2 restaurants, café, bar, 24h gym, room service - the hotel offers the full range of services for the business and leisure guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Munich City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Munich City Hotel Munich
Munich Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing