We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a nice stay in Munich”
Review of Hilton Munich City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Munich City
Ranked #81 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Had a nice stay in Munich”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Although this is not the most updated Hilton I have stayed in, it was quite comfortable. The hotel staff was very accommodating and the breakfast was very good. We are Hilton Gold members so breakfast and wifi were free. There were many issues with the wifi and having to restart many times during our 5 night stay.
The concierge was also dry helpful, we had booked a tour of Salzburg and the tour company messed up and put us on the wrong bus, we got a tour of the Royal Castles for free and the concierge arranged our next 2 tours at no charge also ! Very impressed with their service!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Roseann E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca S, Executive Office at Hilton Munich City, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a feedback about your stay.

I was happy to read that you enjoyed your time at our hotel and that you were satisfied with our service as it is the biggest asset in creating an unforgettable stay for our guests.

I am sorry you found the internet unstable. We did have a system update at the end of last week and do expect to see a dramatic improvement from nom on.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Munich City in the near future.

Best regards,

Philip Murray
HILTON MUNICH CITY
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    825
    1,141
    429
    163
    63
See reviews for
522
798
183
787
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
160 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stayed here for one night and was grossly disappointed with how things went. Have never seen worse wi-fi at a hotel ever. When I arrived, the wi-fi would work for three minutes at a time; very important, since I was trying to get work done. I'd have to disconnect from the network and then re-connect to get back on. After a couple hours of that, the wi-fi just stopped working altogether for the remainder of the evening. I called down to ask whether there was any solution and was told that there wasn't without any rhyme, reason, or offer of compensation. I was tempted to ask for a refund of my room and move to another hotel, since having wi-fi was critical to getting my work done, but it was so late that I decided to just leave it for the morning, when I would be moving to a hotel which hopefully had working internet.

Other problems abounded. The executive lounge (where I tried to decamp in the hopes of finding working wi-fi) was disappointing, with the woman in charge offering no assistance with the wi-fi problems and seemingly spending her time ensuring that hotel guests didn't bring their family members into the lounge, which started a loud argument with another party. The front desk routinely didn't answer the phone (the phone would automatically disconnect after four rings, so over the course of the three different times calling downstairs, I had to ring the desk three times each before somebody would pick up). Hotel staff were also audibly complaining to each other at checkin about how frustrated they were. I am not sure if the hotel is understaffed or if the people working at this hotel are not happy, but this was not a pleasant experience.

The hotel itself is in a very good location, attached to a S-bahn stop that makes accessing the city very easy. It's a very easy trip from the airport as a result. The room I was placed into was adequately sized and comfortable for a European hotel. (The bed was extremely stiff, which was not to my liking, but understandably that may suit some.) The one exception to the poor service was in the hotel restaurant, where I went for a late dinner because everything near the hotel was closed after 9 PM or so. While I did not enjoy the food at the restaurant, the service from the women working at the restaurant was wonderful and deserved mention.

I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank latrell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca S, Executive Office at Hilton Munich City, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hilton Munich City and for taking the time to give us a feedback about your stay.

Please do allow me to apologize for not being completely satisfied with your stay.

I was sorry to read your comments about the internet. We have had some problems recently but had a system upgrade at the end of last week so expect to see a dramatic improvement. I do apologize you did not get a proper answer when you called.

I was very surprised to read that you were not satisfied with the service. Normally our hotel staff are highly praised by our guests. However I already passed your feedback on to our Front Desk Manager in order to make sure that this remains the exception.

It would be great if we get the chance to welcome you back to Hilton Munich City in the near future in order to show you our product and service in a more positive light.

Best regards,

Philip Murray
HILTON MUNICH CITY
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I checked in quite late. I was givena warm welcome by a trainee I think and she did very well in informing me that my details were correct and that I had been given an upgrade

It was no ordinary upgrade, it was a suite. It wasnt just any suite either, it had a kitchen a bar a sofa and 2 armchairs a desk a dining table a bathroom and nice bedroom. Wow!!

I went to the lounge and had great room service whilst I was there. check out the veg stir fry, simple and good to eat at 10.30pm.

Breakfast was Pretty good, nothing special. It would be nice if they would serve you and have Breakfast tea to hand.

Nice people in the lounge too.

Reason for not giving full marks was that housekeeping entered my bedroom before 8.00am without knocking and a guy came in later whilst I was on a conference call.

LOOK AT WHO HAS CHECKED OUT FIRST!!!

I will return and hope to be looked after again, and left in bed!

Room Tip: Put a do not disturb BEFORE you go to bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca S, Executive Office at Hilton Munich City, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a feedback about your stay.

I was delighted to read that you had a great stay at our hotel and that we reached our goal of creating an unforgettable stay for our guests.

Please do allow me to apologize for the inconvenience caused. I already passed it on to our Front Desk Manager and Housekeeping team in order to make sure that this will not be repeated.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Munich City in the near future.

Kind regards,

Philip Murray
HILTON MUNICH CITY
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I stayed at the Hilton Munich City for a couple of days as an opportunity for my brother to fly in from London while my wife and I visited Munich. The main point is that the staff were very friendly (especially on the executive floor) and the hotel is on top of a subway. Although if you get good weather you can walk into town no problem - it is not too far from some trendy areas that are more local focused and less touristic. A little renovation is needed, but if you get a good price for a room and are happy to get the train then the hotel is a good choice. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Fifth floor is the executive level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca S, Executive Office at Hilton Munich City, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hilton Munich City.

I was happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. At the moment we are planning our renovation and we hope to get started it as fast as possible.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Munich City in the near future.

Best regards,

Philip Murray
HILTON MUNICH CITY
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We have very mixed feelings about our stay here. The staff were very good and helpful. However the hotel fell below Hilton standards. First, when we checked in they told us the room was ready but it was not. We booked a room for three yet there was sleeping only for two and towels for two! Further, the room was quite shabby - the carpeting was badly stained and the wallpaper falling off the walls! The positives were the helpful staff and the breakfast which was included in our rate. We booked through a discount online site. Had we paid full rate with no breakfast we would have been quite angry.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank jerryman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca S, Executive Office at Hilton Munich City, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a feedback about your stay.

I was sorry to read that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. I can share with you that we are planning our renovation at the moment and we hope to realize it in the near future.

It was great to read your positive feedback about our hotel staff as they are our biggest asset in making our guests feel cared for, valued and respected.

I do hope to welcome you back to Hilton Munich City in the near future.

Best regards,

Philip Murray
HILTON MUNICH CITY
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Forest, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The Hilton Munich City was my third hotel in 5 nights. All I can say is that it was by far the best. The staff was fantastic, the room was clean and inviting and the location was perfect for my visit to Munich.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca S, Executive Office at Hilton Munich City, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a feedback about your stay.

i was delighted to read that you had a great time at our hotel.

We look forward to being able to welcome you back to Hilton Munich City in the near future.

Best regards,

Philip Murray
HILTON MUNICH CITY
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
107 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is well located in the heart of Munich. A lot of sights are close by.
Our room was spacious and bright - but a little touch up wouldn't hurt.
The lobby looked a bit dark and not a welcoming as I expected.
If you just over night, its perfectly fine.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tokyowife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca S, Executive Office at Hilton Munich City, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hilton Munich City.

We always want our guests feel cared for, valued and respected and it´s great to know that you experienced this. Thank you for your comments about our lobby, we believe the arrival and first impression is very important so we will look into this.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Munich City in the near future.

Kind regards,

Philip Murray
HILTON MUNICH CITY
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre
0.2 mi away
Novotel Munich City
Novotel Munich City
#51 of 383 in Munich
2,542 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton Munich Park
Hilton Munich Park
#60 of 383 in Munich
1,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Munich City East
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Munich City Center
0.5 mi away
Hotel Admiral
Hotel Admiral
#72 of 383 in Munich
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Munich City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Munich City

Property: Hilton Munich City
Address: Rosenheimer Str. 15, 81667 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#67 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#67 Family Hotel in Munich
#76 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Munich City 4*
Number of rooms: 480
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Munich City provides modern accomodation in the heart of Munich, with a direct train link to the aiport and the main station. The shopping mile at the Marienplatz ist just a ten minutes walk away. Business centre, 2 restaurants, café, bar, 24h gym, room service - the hotel offers the full range of services for the business and leisure guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Munich City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Munich City Hotel Munich
Munich Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing