We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location cannot be beat but the hotel itself is not appealing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Maritim Hotel Munchen
Ranked #111 of 382 Hotels in Munich
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Location cannot be beat but the hotel itself is not appealing”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Booked this through priceline.com looking for a 4-star and there is no way that this hotel is a 4-star. It is located very close to the HBF station within minutes walking distance and plenty of food can be found there if you are looking for a quick bite. Walking past the strip club "sexy land" though to get to this hotel is not comforting at all. I'd recommend it as an alternative to a hostel but in terms of a nice hotel this is not it.

If location is all you are looking for by all means, otherwise avoid. Check-in and service was straight forward and appreciated. After a long travel this was one of the highlights.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riskytrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaritimHotelMunich, Manager at Maritim Hotel Munchen, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Dear guest "Riskytrader",

Thank you for your stay at MARITIM Hotel Munich and for the time you have taken for the evaluation of our house. Especially remarks from our guests may help us to improve our services.

Your comment on the condition of the room we have taken note with regret. Certainly we are renovating the guest rooms as well as the public areas, step by step.
We started the renovations in August last year by renewing our main restaurant „Rôtisserie“ and our PianoBar. Since April 2013 we have implemented the new concept of living in our rooms on the 3rd, 4th and 5th floor.

In conclusion, we want to thank you for the interest shown towards our MARITIM Hotel Munich and would be delighted if you would give us a second chance.

Yours sincerely
MARITIM Hotel Munich




Richard Mayer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    380
    223
    66
    16
See reviews for
98
196
88
301
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Very nice hotel, super clean, modern, centrally located. There is a casino and an "adult" bar nearby, but those are all over and didn't affect us a bit, even walking home at night. Great shower (best bathroom of our trip through Central Europe), comfy beds. No free breakfast. Would definitely stay at again. Quick check in/out, but my husband had to wait a bit when he went back to retrieve a forgotten item. They did find it though, so we were happy.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaritimHotelMunich, Manager at Maritim Hotel Munchen, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Dear „Stacy B“,

Thank you for your stay at MARITIM Hotel Munich and for the time you have taken for the evaluation of our house.

We were very pleased to read your comments about our hotel and passed this on to our employees. But again thank you very much!

We are looking forward to welcome you again in our MARITIM Hotel in Munich.

Yours sincerely
MARITIM Hotel München



Richard Mayer
Regional Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Basic hotel , all rooms should be renovated. I got a room on the first floor , seemed like a hotel room from the nineties, it had no safe , the carpets were stained and the television was small. should be given a 3-star rating for these rooms , although the the renovated rooms live up to the 4 -star ratings. Breakfast was very delicious. Staff were very helpful. Dodgy area with a lot of sex shops and strip clubs around , but near the Hauptbanhof Station( Central Station ) which is a plus.

Room Tip: Take the renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GhaithJU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaritimHotelMunich, Manager at Maritim Hotel Munchen, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Dear "GhaithJU",

Thank you for your stay at MARITIM Hotel Munich and for the time you have taken for the evaluation of our house.

We were very pleased to read your comments about our hotel and passed this on to our employees. But again thank you very much!

We are looking forward to welcome you again in our MARITIM Hotel in Munich.

Yours sincerely
MARITIM Hotel München



Richard Mayer
Regional Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I stayed in this hotel for one night because of a business trip. It is conveniently located next to the Munich train station, and some meters away from an S-Bahn exit.

The room was big, with the expected ammenities of a 4 star hotel: flatscreen TV, modern bathroom, comfortable bed, minifridge etc. I was on the 4th floor with a view to a backyard, but I did not mind as I was there mainly for sleeping.

I don't know if they have internet connection available however, as I was using my smartphone the whole time. It seems they have spa available and some other facilities, but I did not use them.

There was a party going on at the hotel that night, because I saw many guests dressed elegantly but I did not notice any noise during the night.

Yes, it is located in the Sexshops area, but I arrived very late in the night, and I did not feel unsafe, nor harassed by anybody.

Overall a good experience, I would definetly stay there again if I get the same rates as I did this time. It is convenient to connect to the airport, but note that from the main station to the Airport is a 45 mins ride.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terence_Hill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaritimHotelMunich, Manager at Maritim Hotel Munchen, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Dear „Terence_Hill“,

Thank you for your stay at MARITIM Hotel Munich and for the time you have taken for the evaluation of our house.

We were very pleased to read your comments about our hotel and passed this on to our employees. But again thank you very much!

We are looking forward to welcome you again in our MARITIM Hotel in Munich.

Yours sincerely
MARITIM Hotel München



Richard Mayer
Regional Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermosillo, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The hotel has a central location with the stops of the S and U Bahns very near ( less than a block). The old town its very near too(about 5-10 min walking). The surroundings are not the best, but its not scary or anything. There is a 1 euro shop in the block where we buy water or other stuff.
The beds are fine, and the bathroom its a little bit small but OK.
There is a renovation for a building next to the hotel, and we hear some noise in the morning about 8:00 am. Nothing to complain because we were up at that time and leaving the hotel.
I liked the fact that its near to the trains and trams, so you can go wherever you want to go in Munich.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaritimHotelMunich, Manager at Maritim Hotel Munchen, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Dear „Cristina F“,

Thank you for your stay at MARITIM Hotel Munich and for the time you have taken for the evaluation of our house.

We were very pleased to read your comments about our hotel and passed this on to our employees. But again thank you very much!

We are looking forward to welcome you again in our MARITIM Hotel in Munich.

Yours sincerely
MARITIM Hotel München



Richard Mayer
Regional Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We spent one night here as part of a tour. Families, FYI, there seemed to be a lot of sex shops and there was strip joint next door .... didn't really seem like a seedy area. They were just there. The room was ok, kids were disappointed no free Wi-Fi. Of the five hotels we stayed at, this had the best breakfast though.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjd1267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaritimHotelMunich, Manager at Maritim Hotel Munchen, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Dear „mjd1267“,

Thank you for your stay at MARITIM Hotel Munich and for the time you have taken for the evaluation of our house.

We were very pleased to read your comments about our hotel. But again thank you very much!

We are looking forward to welcome you again in our MARITIM Hotel in Munich.

Yours sincerely
MARITIM Hotel München



Richard Mayer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013 via mobile

My hubby and I just spent 3 nights at this hotel. We could not be happier we stayed here! I thought I screwed up my booking when I got this hotel via bidding and got such a great deal...but it turned out to be the best experience!

The hotel upgraded us to a 5th floor room after I had requested a 3rd floor room (after reading other reviews that the hotel renovated floors 3-5). The rooms were modern and very clean...we were super lucky! And pretty spacious for European standards.

Downside is that the adjacent lot building is undergoing demolition and there is some noise early in the morning (we were in room 501)...but that didn't bother us at all. However, it can be bothersome for light sleepers. But we were pretty much out exploring Munich all day so the noise didn't affect us at all!

I was also worried about location as some reviews had negative comments on the sketchy area. I didn't did this at all! Sure there were some "shops" but hardly anything to worry about. If you walk 50 meters down the street, you will be at the crosswalk to get across te street to the main train station. This connects you to all of Munich and there's lots of fast food and coffee/pastry choices all around!

Get your free wifi at Starbucks (walk into the train station and it will be on your left) as the hotel doesn't offer wifi.

We were so happy to get this hotel and would highly recommend...especially if you have to get to other parts if Europe via train (we are now in Budapest). It was nice that we were able to leave our bags with the hotel and came back for them late in the evening as we had an overnight train ride...that gave us a full day for exploring Munich!

Highly recommend...especially floors 3-5!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2bucketlist2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaritimHotelMunich, Manager at Maritim Hotel Munchen, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Dear "mary w",

Thank you for your stay at MARITIM Hotel Munich and for the time you have taken for the evaluation of our house. Especially remarks from our guests may help us to improve our services.

We were very pleased to read your comments about our hotel. Certainly we have passed this on to our employees. But again thank you very much!

We are looking forward to welcome you again in our MARITIM Hotel in Munich.

Kind regards from Munich
MARITIM Hotel München



Richard Mayer
Regional Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Eurostars Book Hotel
Eurostars Book Hotel
#36 of 382 in Munich
1,105 reviews
0.0 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Munchen City Center
0.0 mi away
Aloft Munich
Aloft Munich
#23 of 382 in Munich
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
0.1 mi away
Drei Loewen Hotel
Drei Loewen Hotel
#103 of 382 in Munich
567 reviews
0.1 mi away
Conrad Hotel de Ville
Conrad Hotel de Ville
#122 of 382 in Munich
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Hotel Munchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Hotel Munchen

Property: Maritim Hotel Munchen
Address: Goethestr. 7, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Munich
#57 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#79 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritim Hotel Munchen 4*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maritim Hotel München is located in a tranquil inner courtyard in the immediate vicinity of the main railway station, the Stachus and the Theresienwiese. Even the attractive shopping and boulevards of the inner city can be explored comfortably on foot starting from here. The new Munich trade fair centre can be reached directly with the U-Bahn in 18 minutes. The central location makes the hotel the perfect address for business travellers, short holiday makers and conference delegates in the Bavarian capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Maritim Hotel Munchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Hotel Munich
Munich Maritim Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing