We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A big hit with us”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Maritim Hotel Munchen
Ranked #104 of 389 Hotels in Munich
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Let's get the obvious out of the way. The location is not the best in the world but it is central and it's not like there are "ladies of the night" accosting you or "bad" types hanging around outside the hotel. Further there are both a best western and an Accor Mercure nearby.
The hotel is set back from the road and has a very attractive foyer. Booking in was easy and as we had won the trip as a prize were pleased that breakfast was included given the price otherwise. Having done my homework I asked for one of the refurbished rooms and was delighted at the décor. My wife loved the shower controls, being touch activated. We have stayed at the Maritim in Riga and so were aware of the standard and to be honest this branch just slightly edges it over her sister in Riga.
Breakfast was of the usual buffet style with everything you would expect, including copious coffee refills. The bar was very well stocked and the staff friendly and efficient. Fortunately we had no course to have any further interaction with staff, complaints etc.
The ease of access to S, U, trams and buses is amazing and is another mitigating factor to the street scene nearby.
All in all a great place to stay and explore the city.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the refurbished rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaritimHotelMunich, Manager at Maritim Hotel Munchen, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Dear Mr. "Mark B",

Thank you for your stay at MARITIM Hotel Munich and for the time you have taken for the evaluation of our house. Especially remarks from our guests may help us to improve our services.

We were very pleased to read your comments about our hotel. Certainly we have passed this on to our employees. But again thank you very much!

We are looking forward to welcome you again in our MARITIM Hotel in Munich.

Kind regards from Munich
MARITIM Hotel München



Richard Mayer
Regional Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (875)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

243 - 249 of 875 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2013

We bookended our trip through Austria and Bavaria with stays at the Maritim.
As others have stated, the location can *seem* rough, but it really is fine. It is in the 'turkish' area near the train station and there are 2-3 topless bars and casinos around but it isn't like there are hookers pimps drug dealers around. Its really fine and safe once you get over your American sensitivities. We found the location to be prime for getting around on the all the trains and streetcars as well as only being about a 10-15 minute walk to the Marienplatz and the center of town.
The hotel itself is a very prime property. The lobby is nice, and the bar is very well stocked with many fine scotches and is very comfortable. We didnt eat here as there are much better options than a hotel in Munich we wanted to try.
The staff all speak English well and were very accommodating with early check ins both stays.
The rooms we fantastic, large and clean and well appointed. The internet is reasonable at 5E/day.
There is a building nearby being demolished which makes a lot of noise but the insulated windows kept it out entirely.
Our only speed bump was that I paid in advance for my room and they charged me again when I checked out. This was resolved with an email but with the exchange rates I was still out a few bucks. They made it up to us with some free drinks in the bar which was very nice.
All in all I can recommend this hotel with complete confidence.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PHXTrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaritimHotelMunich, Manager at Maritim Hotel Munchen, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Dear Mr. “PHXTrainer”,

Thank you for your stay at MARITIM Hotel Munich and for the time you have taken for the evaluation of our house. Especially remarks from our guests may help us to improve our services.

We were very pleased to read your comments about our hotel. Certainly we have passed this on to our employees. But again thank you very much!

We are looking forward to welcome you again in our MARITIM Hotel in Munich.

Kind regards from Munich
MARITIM Hotel München



Richard Mayer
Regional Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Good basic clean hotel smack in the middle of "entertainment"district....surrounded by lap dancing clubs......a real joy...not!!!! Close to the main train station but its a zoo. Helpful reception staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaritimHotelMunich, Manager at Maritim Hotel Munchen, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Dear Mrs. "Elizabeth G",

Thank you for your stay at MARITIM Hotel Munich and for the time you have taken for the evaluation of our house.

We were very pleased to read your comments about our hotel and passed this on to our employees. But again thank you very much!

We are looking forward to welcome you again in our MARITIM Hotel in Munich.

Yours sincerely
MARITIM Hotel München



Richard Mayer
Regional Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Booked this through priceline.com looking for a 4-star and there is no way that this hotel is a 4-star. It is located very close to the HBF station within minutes walking distance and plenty of food can be found there if you are looking for a quick bite. Walking past the strip club "sexy land" though to get to this hotel is not comforting at all. I'd recommend it as an alternative to a hostel but in terms of a nice hotel this is not it.

If location is all you are looking for by all means, otherwise avoid. Check-in and service was straight forward and appreciated. After a long travel this was one of the highlights.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Riskytrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaritimHotelMunich, Manager at Maritim Hotel Munchen, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Dear guest "Riskytrader",

Thank you for your stay at MARITIM Hotel Munich and for the time you have taken for the evaluation of our house. Especially remarks from our guests may help us to improve our services.

Your comment on the condition of the room we have taken note with regret. Certainly we are renovating the guest rooms as well as the public areas, step by step.
We started the renovations in August last year by renewing our main restaurant „Rôtisserie“ and our PianoBar. Since April 2013 we have implemented the new concept of living in our rooms on the 3rd, 4th and 5th floor.

In conclusion, we want to thank you for the interest shown towards our MARITIM Hotel Munich and would be delighted if you would give us a second chance.

Yours sincerely
MARITIM Hotel Munich




Richard Mayer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Very nice hotel, super clean, modern, centrally located. There is a casino and an "adult" bar nearby, but those are all over and didn't affect us a bit, even walking home at night. Great shower (best bathroom of our trip through Central Europe), comfy beds. No free breakfast. Would definitely stay at again. Quick check in/out, but my husband had to wait a bit when he went back to retrieve a forgotten item. They did find it though, so we were happy.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stacy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaritimHotelMunich, Manager at Maritim Hotel Munchen, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Dear „Stacy B“,

Thank you for your stay at MARITIM Hotel Munich and for the time you have taken for the evaluation of our house.

We were very pleased to read your comments about our hotel and passed this on to our employees. But again thank you very much!

We are looking forward to welcome you again in our MARITIM Hotel in Munich.

Yours sincerely
MARITIM Hotel München



Richard Mayer
Regional Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Basic hotel , all rooms should be renovated. I got a room on the first floor , seemed like a hotel room from the nineties, it had no safe , the carpets were stained and the television was small. should be given a 3-star rating for these rooms , although the the renovated rooms live up to the 4 -star ratings. Breakfast was very delicious. Staff were very helpful. Dodgy area with a lot of sex shops and strip clubs around , but near the Hauptbanhof Station( Central Station ) which is a plus.

Room Tip: Take the renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GhaithJU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaritimHotelMunich, Manager at Maritim Hotel Munchen, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Dear "GhaithJU",

Thank you for your stay at MARITIM Hotel Munich and for the time you have taken for the evaluation of our house.

We were very pleased to read your comments about our hotel and passed this on to our employees. But again thank you very much!

We are looking forward to welcome you again in our MARITIM Hotel in Munich.

Yours sincerely
MARITIM Hotel München



Richard Mayer
Regional Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I stayed in this hotel for one night because of a business trip. It is conveniently located next to the Munich train station, and some meters away from an S-Bahn exit.

The room was big, with the expected ammenities of a 4 star hotel: flatscreen TV, modern bathroom, comfortable bed, minifridge etc. I was on the 4th floor with a view to a backyard, but I did not mind as I was there mainly for sleeping.

I don't know if they have internet connection available however, as I was using my smartphone the whole time. It seems they have spa available and some other facilities, but I did not use them.

There was a party going on at the hotel that night, because I saw many guests dressed elegantly but I did not notice any noise during the night.

Yes, it is located in the Sexshops area, but I arrived very late in the night, and I did not feel unsafe, nor harassed by anybody.

Overall a good experience, I would definetly stay there again if I get the same rates as I did this time. It is convenient to connect to the airport, but note that from the main station to the Airport is a 45 mins ride.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terence_Hill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaritimHotelMunich, Manager at Maritim Hotel Munchen, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Dear „Terence_Hill“,

Thank you for your stay at MARITIM Hotel Munich and for the time you have taken for the evaluation of our house.

We were very pleased to read your comments about our hotel and passed this on to our employees. But again thank you very much!

We are looking forward to welcome you again in our MARITIM Hotel in Munich.

Yours sincerely
MARITIM Hotel München



Richard Mayer
Regional Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
0 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 389 in Munich
1,766 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eurostars Book Hotel
Eurostars Book Hotel
#44 of 389 in Munich
1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
2.9 mi away
Munich Marriott Hotel
Munich Marriott Hotel
#76 of 389 in Munich
1,267 reviews
0.7 mi away
Eurostars Grand Central
Eurostars Grand Central
#45 of 389 in Munich
1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Hotel Munchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Hotel Munchen

Address: Goethestr. 7, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Munich
#56 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#79 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £86 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritim Hotel Munchen 4*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maritim Hotel München is located in a tranquil inner courtyard in the immediate vicinity of the main railway station, the Stachus and the Theresienwiese. Even the attractive shopping and boulevards of the inner city can be explored comfortably on foot starting from here. The new Munich trade fair centre can be reached directly with the U-Bahn in 18 minutes. The central location makes the hotel the perfect address for business travellers, short holiday makers and conference delegates in the Bavarian capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maritim Hotel Munchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Hotel Munich
Munich Maritim Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing