We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for Oktoberfest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Munich-South
Ranked #171 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel for Oktoberfest”
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Pleasant staff, good rooms pool in the basement, smaller shopping mall for the necessities nearby and good prices.

The bad is the TV´s from the 80´s and that one have to travel by train to the city center (about 10-15 min.)-

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeWithBike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    282
    209
    48
    30
See reviews for
204
117
44
174
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Room was ok, convenient to public transit, but breakfast wasn't included and they wanted nineteen euro per person for breakfast, which in my opinion was crazy.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angeltil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Stayed here approx. 10th years ago and is now well jaded. This confirms Holiday Inn is no longer a viable first consideration for short breaks...had food in bar after family arriving later on from Regensburg...pizza was staggeringly bad a reheated supermarket pizza at 5 star prices....rest not better. No real effort to solve issue. Best not offering food HI if this is best you can do ... 5th rate...what a waste of money : ( Also warmth of welcome ??? totally missing...

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hearts74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

I stayed with Holiday Inn South, and it was a bit of dissapointment because I was not hoping for it to be soo far from the city, although you would be to the city centre by train in close to 35-40 mins.
Besides the staff was warm and the rooms were nice cosy.

The sorroundings are very calm and quiet, but if you are planning to travel everyday to the city centre or near arounds, i suggest you should pick a hotel near the city centre

but if you are planning a quiet holiday......... its a perfect stay

Room Tip: I suggest pick a room overlooking the green beer garden behind the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shrenik J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

I've stayed on this hotel on business in October and overall it was better than most Holiday Inns in US. The stuff is extremely courteous and willing to fulfill your needs and request in a timely manner. The bar at the lobby is great and the barman lady is very friendly. On site food was also very good. Considering that this hotel is located in the suburbs and mainly used by business travelers I'd rather see a wired high-speed internet access than the WiFi that was a bit slow for the price. Other than that, I had a very good experience. By the way, breakfast menu was great with fresh baked bread every morning.

Room Tip: The building is pretty lengthy so you might want to stay somewhere in between the elevator and the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LBDelray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

This property is located out of town but is a 5 minute walk from the U-Bahn station. Travel time to central Munich is about 15 minutes. The property itself was excellent. Staff were friendly and approachable. I was allocated an Executive Room and it was more like a suite. The room was large, had a separate lobby area, a balcony and a very comfortable king sized bed. As a Priority Club Platinum member the mini bar was complimentary (not a usual benefit). Overall a very good value for money hotel for those who do not mind being slightly further out of the centre.

Room, bathroom, etc were very clean.

Room Tip: Ask for an Executive Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tgsh2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astoria, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

Stayed here during Oktoberfest and the staff was wonderful, very accommodating. Everybody that worked there spoke perfect English (probably better than me) and the hotel was 1 block from the Machtlfinger Straße Subway station - this stop is 6 blocks from Poccistraße which is walkable to the Oktoberfest ground @ Theresienwiese (15 minute total travel time - walking and subway - with no subway exchanges) So overall the location was PERFECT for us. Breakfast was very good with a large international variety (pancakes, scrambled eggs, eggs over easy, sausage, veal sausage, bacon, cold cuts, cheeses, muffins and pastries). The bar at the hotel was nice and the room was spacious. Plus they gave us a special treat instead of pillow mints and I appreciated that alot.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cook7166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
10.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe
6.8 mi away
Mercure Hotel Munchen Ost-Messe
3.4 mi away
Leonardo Hotel & Residence Munich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre
9.5 mi away
Novum Hotel Seidlhof Munchen
6.9 mi away
Novotel Suites Munich Parkstadt Schwabing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Munich-South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Munich-South

Property: Holiday Inn Munich-South
Address: Kistlerhofstr. 142, 81379 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Luxury Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Munich-South 4*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 stars hotel Holiday Inn Munich South is situated in a quiet and central location in the suburb of Obersendling and it is only 15 minutes away from the city centre. Because of the good traffic connection to the A95, A8 and A96 and also the "Mittleren Ring", our hotel is very good accessible by car. The suburb station "Machtlfingerstrasse" line U3 is just 5 walk-minutes from the hotel Holiday Inn Munich South away and takes you fast in the Munich city center. All our 320 comfortable rooms are equipped with balcony/terrace, most of them offer a wonderful view over our courtyard, bathroom with tub, air-conditioner, SAT-TV, telephone, internet, mini bar and tea & coffee making facilities and also a pillow-menu. Enjoy international and Bavarian specialties at our restaurants, on the lobby-bar or during summertime at our quiet beer garden - terrace. We offer our business traveller guests a modern business centre as well as W-LAN (without fee) in the whole Hotel. Our conference area offers every comfort for a successful conference, workshop or meeting. All rooms are modern equipped for up to 180 people. Set the planning of the implementation of your event trustful in our hands. We ensure for creative and innovative ideas, the perfect logistic and the professional implementation of all events on basic of best conditions! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Munich-South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Munich South
Munich Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing