We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the better Holiday Inns..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Munich-South
Ranked #191 of 387 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed 5 May 2008

While my company allowed me to stay in the Hiltons and any other hotel I wanted I grew to actually like this little Holiday Inn.

I first used it because my offices were literally around the corner, then, if I was traveling alone, I stayed for the sheer friendless of the management and bar staff. After a few visits I would begin to check in and the young barman would see me, pour out my first dunklesweiss and call the restaurant to bring along a real pretzel- mit sal! That is a welcome indeed!

I found – through my Intercontinental membership website – that there were 4 or 5 ‘executive’ rooms at the hotel. For a nominal amount members were allowed to upgrade to one of these rooms with a corner garden view, glass and steel furniture and a true office desk with PC hookup. The beds were great with fluffy duvets and the garden courtyard quiet and full of bird song in the mornings. In summer the bar open the outside deck and it is very pleasant to sit in the garden with a cool drink. The Bierstube downstairs is always lively and the food in this hotel is of very good (Bavarian) quality. I had no problems at all over a dozen visits over several years.

I would certainly stay there again with my wife when next in Munich - but then I guess our many friends there would not let us!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JohnandJudyFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (723)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

366 - 372 of 723 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2008

stayed at this hotel for two nights while on work in germany. the staff were very friendly and helpful. breakfast was very good and both the food in the restaurant and the bar were excellent. probably because of its location it was a bit un-lively and quiet at night in the bar. the room was smallish and the noise from the neighbouring rooms flushing their toilets could be heard easily. It is a bit of a distance out from the city centre but it is a very short walk to the underground which has you there within 15-20mins. if i was in munich again i would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank paulspoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2007

I stayed here 2 nights and it was a good room for European standards. It is a short walk to the subway but then you are in the middle of Munich in a short time. I did not eat t the hotel but a great Greek restaurant just down the street. Rooms were comfortable enough and staff was nice.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ATLAS313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2007

I cannot complain about this hotel as I got such a good deal for Oktoberfest time.

Location is about 15 minutes on U-Bahn plus 5 minutes walk from centre of Munich.

Hotel fine, staff friendly, brekfast good, forgot trunks so pool missed.

Does what most chain hotels do best.

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BandiB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2007

Stayed at this hotel as part of a tour group. The travel agent stated that we would stay in 4 star hotels so this hotel was a dissappointment. The hotel was located in a what appeared to be a lower class residential neighborhood. It was well out of town. The lobby was small and cramped and not suitable for the large groups trooping in and out. When we arrived admittedly very tired after more than 15 hours of travel there was no one to take the luggage to the room. The rooms were small and somewhat run down and lacking in ammenities, there was no soap in the soap dispenser, the tub drained sluggishly, we had a hard time finding the heat, which didn't work well. The worst part of this place was the restaurant. The staff obviously, dislikes Americans. We had to eat there, my spouse is a diabetic and needed food. It was lunch and we ordered an antipasto and carpaaccio. It took close to 45 minutes to produce the food. The antipasto had a little lettuce, about 20 olive from a jar, a few nice roasted vegtables. The carppacio was a piece of hammered raw beef. I warned my spouse not to eat it but he did and had lower tack distress for the next three days. The staff at the front desk was nicer but not very forthcoming with information about how to get into Munich. We ate there for two other meal, which were included on the trip. The dinner consisted of overcooked meat and frozen vegtables. The desert was out of a box mousse. Breakfast was not a lot better, they ran out of eggs and orange juice. If this hotel is on a tour iterary pick another tour provider.

Stayed: January 2007
6  Thank sageann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2006

The Holiday Inn Sud is certainly not in the center of Munich but it is about a 25 minute ride on the U-Bahn from the Marienplatz on the U-3 line from Machtfinglestrasse. This is a decent hotel. The rooms were very clean, small balcony (watch in winter as the balcony freezes) and has an ICE machine! The Bierstube was great-good food as well as the breakfast buffets. Alot of tours stay here with easy access to the highways for the buses but I was pleased with the hotel. About a 5-7 minute walk to the U-Bahn from the hotel with Wal-Mart and McDonalds close by??!!

  • Stayed: December 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wanderkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2006

We (2 adults, 1 teenager) stayed for five nights at the end of November and were absolutely pleased with this hotel. I looked at quite a few places and not too many in town offered family rooms, so we ended up a bit on the edge of town. We paid a reasonable rate (97 euros, including breakfast) for a large, clean room. The included breakfast buffet was excellent (lots of hot and cold entrees well prepared) and staff generally helpful. Note the bus tours received a lesser breakfast, so a review from someone on a tour would probably be different. While nothing touristy was close, the nearest U-Bahn station was 5 minutes walk and a partner card would get your whole family anywhere in inner Munich all day for 8.50 euros. The U-Bahn ran frequently and I didn't mind a 15 minute train ride in return for a lower cost yet very clean hotel in a quiet neighborhood. We found the Wal Mart (which was directly across the street from the U-Bahn station) with its associated bakery, food court and drug store quite convenient to get snacks and supplies. We found the staff helpful, but did not try the internet access or restaurant for dinner. I suspect they were pricey. We would definately stay here again.

The only downside of the hotel (other than it was outside the tourist areas) is it was just like staying in an American hotel (except you had pretzels available for breakfast). So, if you are looking for a really German experience, you probably should stay somewhere else. Otherwise, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank CorvairTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
10.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe
6.8 mi away
Mercure Hotel Munchen Ost-Messe
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich - Westpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Leonardo Hotel & Residence Munich
9.5 mi away
Novum Hotel Seidlhof Munchen
7.1 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Munchen Schwabing, by Comfort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Munich-South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Munich-South

Address: Kistlerhofstr. 142, 81379 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 Luxury Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £47 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Munich-South 4*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 stars hotel Holiday Inn Munich South is situated in a quiet and central location in the suburb of Obersendling and it is only 15 minutes away from the city centre. Because of the good traffic connection to the A95, A8 and A96 and also the "Mittleren Ring", our hotel is very good accessible by car. The suburb station "Machtlfingerstrasse" line U3 is just 5 walk-minutes from the hotel Holiday Inn Munich South away and takes you fast in the Munich city center. All our 320 comfortable rooms are equipped with balcony/terrace, most of them offer a wonderful view over our courtyard, bathroom with tub, air-conditioner, SAT-TV, telephone, internet, mini bar and tea & coffee making facilities and also a pillow-menu. Enjoy international and Bavarian specialties at our restaurants, on the lobby-bar or during summertime at our quiet beer garden - terrace. We offer our business traveller guests a modern business centre as well as W-LAN (without fee) in the whole Hotel. Our conference area offers every comfort for a successful conference, workshop or meeting. All rooms are modern equipped for up to 180 people. Set the planning of the implementation of your event trustful in our hands. We ensure for creative and innovative ideas, the perfect logistic and the professional implementation of all events on basic of best conditions! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Munich-South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Munich South
Munich Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing