We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfy, clean, a tub in each room!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Munich-South
Ranked #177 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Brisbane
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Comfy, clean, a tub in each room!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a contiki tour. Travelled solo and got a twin room with two single beds. Oh well.

Bed was very comfy, clean etc. Same with the bathroom which has a shower over a bath tub. Other people on my tour claimed the same boast. A good deep tub for a nice soak after a big day in Munich. Each room also has a private balcony which was nice.

Only gripe was due to being on a group tour, they segregated us from the normal dining room (no other hotel on our 20 day tour did this) and prepared our breakfast separately 15 minutes before leaving time each morning. Very annoying as I had got up early to enjoy a nice leisurely breakfast, and had to wait until it was put out and 52 people scrambled to cook toast or grab coffee on the way out.

At first I thought we must have just had an early start the first day, but when we purposefully delayed the leaving time on day 2 the hotel again adjusted breakfast until 15 minutes before we left. Very annoying.

Other than that, a great hotel. Good bar downstairs which stayed open late for a small group of us one evening for a quiet drink.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank celuloiddreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Munich-South, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear celuloiddreamer,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and it makes us happy to read of your kind comments. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    272
    208
    45
    29
See reviews for
199
111
44
169
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed here for one night with a contiki, wish we'd stayed a little longer as it was surprisingly v. Good.
Had a twin share with comfy beds, plasma tv, nice little balcony and a good sized bathroom with a bath as well- hair dryer didn't work but that's okay.
Found it to be quite nice considering it's not so great location but one doesn't go to Munich to spend the whole time in the hotel so it's all good!
I'd say worth the money for a couple of nights
Oh and the breakfast was by far the best, perfectly boiled eggs, wide range of cereals, actual coffee. I really enjoyed my time here

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tess C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicole j, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Munich-South, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Tess C., thank you for your nice feedback. Thank you for the big compliment to our Hotel! We are looking forward to welcome you again in our House. Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Found this hotel to be clean, comfortable and functional. Stayed here with wife and two kids ( 16 and 13 years) and found the room to be fine, two double beds (Queens?) and bathroom clean. Knew when i booked it that it was a little way out of the centre but it is very easy to get to and from. The UBahn is a 5 min walk from the hotel, just around the corner ( Machtlfinger Strasse stop) on the U3 line and it takes 10mins ( i timed it) to get into the centre at the Marienplatz stop - trains are very frequent, we never waited more than 5 mins for a train and usually not more than a couple of minutes. We took the S8 train to and from the airport to / from Marienplatz and that took 40mins. There are a number of tickets and prices for the SBahn and UBahn depending upon zones but we purchased an airport city day ticket to get to and from the airport on arrival and depature days as we crossed over several zones ( this cost just over 20 Euros but covers all 4 of us from time of purchase until 06:00am the next day for as many trips as you want to make on the system). On the remaining days when we were just staying in and around Munich ( inner zone) we purchased a partner ticket, again this covered all 4 of us from time of purchase until 06:00am the next day for as many trips as we required - cost 10 Euros 40 cents. Didn't eat in Hotel as breakfast was extortionately priced, just went into the centre and ate as much cheaper ( come on Holiday Inn you need to sort this out, i know you cater for business people, hence the high cost for breakfast as companies will just foot the bill but it's way way too much for tourists to pay, especially if paying for 4 people). Staff in hotel were fine, If you don't mind being a little out of the centre then i would recommend this hotel as centre is very easy to reach on UBahn.

Room Tip: Not a tip about a room but if you go to Dachau Concentration Camp it's worth going into Dachau i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hunterfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicole j, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Munich-South, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Hunterfamily, thank you for your feedback on tripadvisor. We are very happy that we have big bed in our family rooms. Yes you are right, 20 Euro for breakfast is not cheap but we have an exellent breakfast, fresh food, fruits, a lot of different chees etc. For you next stay book the beakfast in advance, thank ist not so expensive (Sometimes we have special arragements). We are looking forward to welcome you and your family again in our Holiday Inn Munich South. Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, Kent
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Stayed here for a few nights whilst sampling the delights of Oktoberfest.
We took the S-Bahn from the airport to Machtlfinger Strasse. Took us a few goes to master the trip. I'd recommend taking the S8 to Marienplatz then the U3 to Machtlfinger Strasse.
Check in was OK, the lady on reception was not overly friendly and our room wasn't ready. Not a big problem as we went straight to Oktoberfest. It's about a 15 minute U-Bahn ride, direct to Poccistrasse.
Later on we got back, checked in fine and had a beer in the bar and found our room. The room is not luxurious but comfortable and clean enough.
Breakfast was OK, the staff were either really friendly or miserable (the man) but we were hungover so ate and went back to the room for a sleep :-) The quality of the food was OK and there was enough. The usual scrambled eggs, fried eggs, mushrooms, potato etc.
The location of the hotel is fine, 5 minutes from the U-Bahn an local supermarket which stocks everything you need, including traditional Bavarian clothing if you need it.
Beer prices in the bar were pretty standard and the servers seemed friendly enough.
Next time (we hope we get a chance to go back to Oktoberfest) we will try and get somewhere a little more luxurious and closer to the festival.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scruffty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicole j, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Munich-South, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear scruffty, thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry for the not professional Check in. Our Hotel is a little bit older but it´s always clean. For the octoberfest it´s a good location here and it´s also quiet. We hope you had a good time here and on the octoberfest. We are looking forward to welcome you next year again! Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Location is at the edge of an industrial area with a fair amount of road noise out front (but mostly dies down during the night). Subway is a 5 minute walk, then 15 minute ride to the city center. Building is from the eighties - solidly uninspiring. Renovation must have been some years ago - hotel is reasonably well maintained, but could use some updating. Room was in decent condition and fairly clean, but nothing to write home about. Hotel staff was friendly but I had to ask 3 times for thinner blankets (the provided blankets are very warm). Wifi was very flaky and frustrating - kept disconnecting, and low transfer speeds. During part of our stay there were several groups of somewhat 'sketchy' guests - I wasn't concerned about safety, but the feel of the place was strange - more like a train station, with a lot of coming and going. Overall, our stay was just OK but I would not go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terrencebarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicole j, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Munich-South, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Lieber terrencebarr, thank you for your time to give us a feedback. We would like to apologize for not having met your expectations. We hope you give us a second chance and we will welcome you again in our house. Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaufort, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Visited this property on holiday but may be better for business travel as is some distance from major tourist sites. Rooms are adequate but show some wear. Staff was friendly and attentive and grill has a really good menu.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicole j, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Munich-South, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Dennis G., thank you for your time to write us a feedback. Yes our hotel is not in the city center but we have an exellent connection by underground. Thank you for the compliment to our hotel staff and the dinner. We are looking forward to welcome you again in our House. Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

While not located in the city center, this hotel is located a 5 minute walk from the metro which will take you right to downtown. In fact, the staff can sell you a transit pass that works very well if you are going out to Dachau, for example, and generally touring around the city. We merely left our car in their underground parking for 2 days while we went sightseeing. All in all, a good hotel and one that I would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GM-HIEKelowna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicole j, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Munich-South, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear GM-HIEKelowna, thank you for your great review on tripadvisor! Yes, we are not a city hotel but we have a great connection to the centre. The underground is 5 minutes walkin distance. Thank you for the compliment to our Hotel. We hope we welcome you again in our Holiday Inn Munich South. Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
10.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe
6.8 mi away
Mercure Hotel Munchen Ost-Messe
3.4 mi away
Leonardo Hotel & Residence Munich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Novotel Suites Munich Parkstadt Schwabing
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre
4.0 mi away
Hotel Nymphenburg
Hotel Nymphenburg
#188 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Munich-South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Munich-South

Property: Holiday Inn Munich-South
Address: Kistlerhofstr. 142, 81379 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Best Value Hotel in Munich
#78 Luxury Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Munich-South 4*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 stars hotel Holiday Inn Munich South is situated in a quiet and central location in the suburb of Obersendling and it is only 15 minutes away from the city centre. Because of the good traffic connection to the A95, A8 and A96 and also the "Mittleren Ring", our hotel is very good accessible by car. The suburb station "Machtlfingerstrasse" line U3 is just 5 walk-minutes from the hotel Holiday Inn Munich South away and takes you fast in the Munich city center. All our 320 comfortable rooms are equipped with balcony/terrace, most of them offer a wonderful view over our courtyard, bathroom with tub, air-conditioner, SAT-TV, telephone, internet, mini bar and tea & coffee making facilities and also a pillow-menu. Enjoy international and Bavarian specialties at our restaurants, on the lobby-bar or during summertime at our quiet beer garden - terrace. We offer our business traveller guests a modern business centre as well as W-LAN (without fee) in the whole Hotel. Our conference area offers every comfort for a successful conference, workshop or meeting. All rooms are modern equipped for up to 180 people. Set the planning of the implementation of your event trustful in our hands. We ensure for creative and innovative ideas, the perfect logistic and the professional implementation of all events on basic of best conditions! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Munich-South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Munich South
Munich Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing