We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Night in Munich”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Munich-South
Ranked #171 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“One Night in Munich”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Our hotel stay here was average. The beds were comfortable, but our room had an interesting smell to it. As we got there late and had to leave early, we didn't complain. The service was fine, but there wasn't really anything about this hotel that I remember was great. Also, our shower leaked onto the floor. Additionally, we had to pay for everything - wifi, parking, breakfast, etc. While I understand this isn't unusual, it seemed a bit excessive as the hotel itself isn't in an amazing location or in the budget price range. As for a short overnight, it was fine, but I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coffeegirl33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta T, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Munich-South, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Coffeegirl33, thank you very much for your feedback. We regret that our hotel had not been to your complete satisfaction.
We offer free Wi-Fi to all IHG Rewards Club members - the membership is free of charge and offers several benefits. Perhaps this can be convenient for your next stay with us or another IHG hotel.
For those, who do not wish to pay for parking in our garage, there is the possibility to park outside in the neighbourhood which is free of charge.
Kind regards - Patricia, Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    282
    209
    48
    30
See reviews for
204
117
44
174
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The best thing about this hotel is its location, located in a quiet neighborhood but one block from the underground metro. It has a parking garage (charge 13 eur/dy) restaurant in hotel is good and breakfast buffet usually included in rate is super!. The rates are way lower than other places because is in the suburbs, but metro tales you in 16 min to Marienplatz.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JorgeParada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta T, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Munich-South, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear JorgeParada, thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad, that you had a pleasant stay with us and in Munich. Kind regards - Patricia, Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Good hotel at accessible location. Stayed 2 nights there with the family. Rooms are bit cramped for space and we had difficulty in keeping the luggage. While booking, the picture shown in the IHG site does not match with the actual room.

However, the breakfast menu was excellent with ample choice even for vegetarians.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank RaviKesavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta T, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Munich-South, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear RaviKesavan, thank you for taking time to comment. We regret that you had not informed us directly, then we could check if you booked the same category as on the pictures or we could have changed your room. We are pleased that you enjoy our variety of breakfast options. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards from Munich, Mary -Guest Relation-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed here as part of a Trafalgar Package tour (Which was wonderful)
The hotel is tired but adequate
Our room had a nice outlook and all the cherry trees were out so that was very nice
The room was small but everything we needed for a night

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helenford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta T, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Munich-South, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear helenford, thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you had an enjoyable time in our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed our terrace with pond, cherry trees and relaxing area. Kind regards, Mary -Guest Relation-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

If you are looking for a value hotel for travelling to Munich with a family, this hotel does the job. There is a subway station about a 5 minute walk away that takes you directly into the heart of Munich within 10-15 minutes. The hotel was clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. We decided not to get the breakfast buffet, which costs 30 Euros, as there are many other options available.

There are also a few wonderful restaurants within walking distance, especially the GREEK restaurant down the road called, Kyano - highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khkummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta T, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Munich-South, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Khkummer, thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are glad, that our hotel was perfect for your family trip.
Perhaps there was a little misunderstanding concerning our rich American Breakfast Buffet - it is 20 Euros per adult, kids under 12 years are free and under 18 years pay just 50% - so it is a very good option to have a great start in the day as family.
We would be glad to see you again some day. Kind regards from Munich, Patricia, Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I stay in Holiday Inns at least twice a month while on business, so can benchmark this one quite easily.
It's clean, the staff are efficient, helpful and friendly and it's well situated for the U Bahn.

However without being dirty the room did feel a bit dated and jaded. Double bed was large enough and comfortable, nice touch was a small balcony. Eat in the beer garden, food was good and so was the service, reasonably priced for a Holiday Inn. Swimming pool is very small and likely to be crowded during the day and early evening. Sauna and Steam rooms. 5 minutes walk round the corner to the U Bahn in Machtfingerstrasse, Bank with cash machines opposite. Parking a bit pricey at 13€ per night considering it's not in the city center. There is on street parking nearby if your willing to look for it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lambrettaman1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta T, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Munich-South, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Lambrettaman1960, thank you very much for your positive Feedback. We are glad, that you enjoyed your time in our hotel, especially the friendly, professional service of our staff. The refurbishment of our rooms has already started, we have to do it step by step and it will need some more time.
We appreciate it very much that you are such a loyal customer to the Holiday Inn hotels and are looking forward to your next visit with us or another Holiday Inn. Kind regards, Patricia, Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Clean room with what are pro-ported to be two double beds. If they are doubles then they are the smallest I have ever encountered and we spent three nights with fitful sleep, fearing we may fall out!! The room did have a kettle, a welcome but not usual addition in European rooms. The hotel is only a five minute walk to the nearest tube and it is a direct line to Marienplatz, in the Centre of Munich. If you can find parking on the street, then do so, as the hotel charges €13 per night for their underground car park

Room Tip: Ask to overlook the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LollSol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta T, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Munich-South, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear LollSol, thank you very much for taking time to give us your feedback. The opinion of our guests is very much appreciated and helpful for us to still get better. Kind regards from Munich, Patricia, Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
10.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe
6.8 mi away
Mercure Hotel Munchen Ost-Messe
3.4 mi away
Leonardo Hotel & Residence Munich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre
9.5 mi away
Novum Hotel Seidlhof Munchen
6.9 mi away
Novotel Suites Munich Parkstadt Schwabing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Munich-South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Munich-South

Property: Holiday Inn Munich-South
Address: Kistlerhofstr. 142, 81379 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Luxury Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Munich-South 4*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 stars hotel Holiday Inn Munich South is situated in a quiet and central location in the suburb of Obersendling and it is only 15 minutes away from the city centre. Because of the good traffic connection to the A95, A8 and A96 and also the "Mittleren Ring", our hotel is very good accessible by car. The suburb station "Machtlfingerstrasse" line U3 is just 5 walk-minutes from the hotel Holiday Inn Munich South away and takes you fast in the Munich city center. All our 320 comfortable rooms are equipped with balcony/terrace, most of them offer a wonderful view over our courtyard, bathroom with tub, air-conditioner, SAT-TV, telephone, internet, mini bar and tea & coffee making facilities and also a pillow-menu. Enjoy international and Bavarian specialties at our restaurants, on the lobby-bar or during summertime at our quiet beer garden - terrace. We offer our business traveller guests a modern business centre as well as W-LAN (without fee) in the whole Hotel. Our conference area offers every comfort for a successful conference, workshop or meeting. All rooms are modern equipped for up to 180 people. Set the planning of the implementation of your event trustful in our hands. We ensure for creative and innovative ideas, the perfect logistic and the professional implementation of all events on basic of best conditions! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Munich-South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Munich South
Munich Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing