We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value and Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre
Ranked #74 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good Value and Great Location”
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We stayed in Munich before but we were on a tighter budget this time and got a great deal on this room (about €70 per night for the room) The location is very good - comfortable walking distance to town (less than 10 mins to centre, 15 mins to Marienplatz) and literally right beside a metro stop - the metro station is part of the same complex as the hotel. The airport train stops here which is very handy altogether. Staff were very friendly and helpful on check in - we didn't experience any queue or delay. Room was basic but not too small and was clean and comfortable. Having air con was brilliant. There was space in the minibar fridge for you to put your own food in. Environment was very quiet. Bed was very comfortable. Only complaint is expensive internet especially as a lot of places have free wifi nowadays. Will definitely be recommending this hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MishaBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    698
    1,250
    446
    123
    67
See reviews for
564
740
139
692
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, ontario
Level Contributor
113 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in September and found that although we paid quite a bit for the room E220we didn't get the room or the service that should go with it. The front desk is constantly lined up at all times of the day. The reservation staff seem overwhelmed and understaffed. The wireless is E6 / hour!!!!!! And only available in the lobby. We were never able to connect. It seemed everything was a hassle, although that is not a very specific comment it seems to sum up our stay.20 minutes walk to Marienplatz .

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lemorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
302 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

this is a great place to stay if you want to get a train direct from the airport into town and then arrive in your hotel without coming out the underground. The hotel is above a small shopping centre and close to the city centre. The hotel informed me that I had been upgraded to superior and free internet access. However on arrival was told that "superior" meant "heigher" and the internet access was via a network cable only and not the wifi that was provided by another company. As all my details were on smartphone and my only option was to pay €22 a day!

There were small niggles, beds not made up properly, no room safe as asked, (although free safe deposit in lobby - but you have to wait in a queue as staff have to open it) sheets not changed, tea and coffee facilities not refreshed, shower is above a bath with a low ceiling and I'm over 6 foot tall.

Probably no worse than other Holiday Inns I've stayed in but other than location there is little to recommend it. Staff were attentive, breakfast good.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andy_scot_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Small basic rooms. Rooms quite outdated. Not very comfy bed and pillows. But good thing they had water boiler. No bathroom slippers though. 20 mins walk to Marienplatz.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StefanieLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Decent hotel, OK location, very good buffet, but totally lacking character.

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CareyZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Me and my friend stayed at this hotel couple months ago. Holiday Inn Munich - City Center really deserves their 4*. The rate was excellent, great value for 4* hotel standard in Munich. It has indoor swimming pool which is very nice. Receptionists were super friendly, they gave us free breakfast for 2 people, which makes us feel more comfortable. The twin bed room was super clean, rather small but OK. An iron is also available in the room (good for business traveler). Location is very central, just right at the S-Bahn station, which is very great. There are supermarkets, fast foods, etc just near by. We just can highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barakdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Como, Italy
Level Contributor
475 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 367 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Hotel is located in very good location, 10 minutes walk to downtown or you can take the subway. Quality is good, breakfast offer wide chance of choice. There is garage which is quite expensive, but this is quite common in many cities. As I usually book on Holiday Inn website, depending on availability and events in town you could find sometimes very good rate, or sometimes expensive rate, so I suggest to book weeks in advance.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex_Europe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Munich City
Novotel Munich City
#53 of 383 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,512 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Munich City
Hilton Munich City
#79 of 383 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,587 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Novotel Munchen City Arnulfpark
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Munich City Center
1.5 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre
Address: Hochstrasse 3, 81669 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#56 Business Hotel in Munich
#57 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#57 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre! Just over a quarter mile from the Deutsches Museum, this hotel in Munich offers comfortable rooms. The S-Bahn Station 'Rosenheimer Platz'is only 55 yards away, just 2 stops from the 'Marienplatz'.Located in a shopping complex, the Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre has air-conditioned rooms with comfortable beds, pillow menu, a spacious desk, free Internet, satellite TV, minibar and and tea/coffee facilities. Please be aware that we are a non-Smoking Hotel! Bavarian and international specialties are served in Restaurant Grat³. Snacks and cocktails are available in the newly renovated open lobby. The front desk is open 24 hours a day. Computers in the business Center in the lobby provide free internet access.Covered parking spaces are available in the public garage in the same building complex(against extra charge. The Munich Central Station can be reached in 10 minutes by S-Bahn, Munich's Airport (Josef-Strauss Airport)in less than 40 minutes. Important Information: Our pool is closed until further notice! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, IHG, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre Hotel Munich
Munich Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing