We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hope a tour isn't due when you need your room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre
Ranked #74 of 383 Hotels in Munich
ohio
Level Contributor
230 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“hope a tour isn't due when you need your room”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I am platinum elite and booked this hotel largely on the strength of reviews here but also because I could hop a train at the airport and get off almost inside the hotel. Location is everything with this hotel and nothing else is special about it. Rooms are smallish. There is actually less than a foot between the tiny round table/chair and our bed. Large closet. Reasonably sized bath. Hard towels. No bar soap or shampoo. Having a grocery store next door was a great help in avoiding the astronomical charge for breakfast. If it is Sunday, there is food in the gas station across the hotel lot. Terrible pizza close by. Terrible Asian restaurant, Subway, bakery, Arab restaurant in adjoining mall. Hop a subway to anyplace in Munich. So all that is great.
Remember we are platinum elite? We arrived at the hotel at 11:45. The clerk said we'd be in a room at 1:30. 1:30 gone. 2:30 gone. Then she tells me no room til all 47 rooms for tour coming through were saved. The tour arrived 3-5 hours after I did. They had plenty of time to clean my room and get me taken care of. That stinks. So much for Platinum elite.

Room Tip: Don't accept a double unless you like sleeping enmeshed. They say it is a queen ours was not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yearbook1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HI_Guest_Relation, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear yearbook1,

we thank you for taking the time to evaluate your recent stay with us in the Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre. Our apologies that we could not meet your expectations. Please be assured that we highly value your loyalty to the IHG hotels and therefore do our best to ensure you an enjoyable stay.
I am sorry that your room was not ready when you arrived at the hotel. Our normal Check-In time is 3 pm. However we always try to serve earlier arrived guests first. I can only apologise that this time we did not succeed.
Great to hear, that you did enjoy the central location of our hotel and the facilities in the surrounding. We hope that you allow us to welcome you again here in the Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre. We would be glad if you gave us the chance to revise the negative impression of our hotel!

Best regards,

Franka Henke
Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,591 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    702
    1,251
    448
    123
    67
See reviews for
564
744
139
692
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Stay'd here for a mid-week trip. Good spacious room very clean, nice comfortable bed.The breakfast provided a great selection an catered for various diets excellent. Will make a return trip... very central to city center an public transport.

Room Tip: I would recommend people to try the deserts in the bar yummy.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HI_Guest_Relation, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Louise G.,

thank you for your nice words! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in the Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre and are already looking forward to welcoming you here again!

Kind regards,

Franka Henke
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Ten to fifteen minutes walk to the Christmas Markets so good location. Excellent Italian round the corner called Ponte Vecchio, don't listen to hotel staff recommendations they're too expensive and always fully booked. Gorgeous breakfast at Riskart a cake shop on Marienplatz, very popular place.
The room was clean though a double room should have more towels and two water glasses on the table not one. The toiletries are not good so bring your own.
The beds are comfortable and the breakfast is fine.
No one greets you at the door and the lack of bell men feels odd.
The desk staff are always busy but are pleasant and treated my husband well due to his platinum status ie, they checked us in early and let us leave late.
The staff in the corridors on the Sunday morning made a right racket so no relaxing lie in.
It will never be as good as a Crowne Plaza but was pleasant enough.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank mrshpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HI_Guest_Relation, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear mrshpink,

we thank you for evaluating your stay at the Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre and are glad that you liked it!
We are sorry to hear that you prefere Crown Plaza hotels and that we could not completely convince you of our Holiday Inn. We hope you give us another chance!
The restaurant tips are useful for all our other guests. Thank you very much for sharing your experiences!

We hope that you allow us to welcome you again here in the Holiday Inn Munich – City Centre!

Best regards,
Franka Henke
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

Everything is OK about this hotel... And that's it. Nothing special about anything there. Standard holiday inn style. Good city center location. Room was in good size. But, it didn't feel clean at all. The shower curtain was stained. Same where the sheets. The clean folded towels had hair on them. So some attention is required to the cleaning and maintenance of their rooms. And, beware of their electronic minibar !!! They charge 7 euro !!!! For a small bottle of water. This is a pure rip off. Overall reasonable hotel. Not sure I will be back.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Erannn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HI_Guest_Relation, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Erann,

thank you for taking the time to write an evaluation on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. We highly appreciate the feedback of our guests and take them very seriously.
Please be assured that the cleanliness of our hotel and our guest rooms is our highest priority. I will pass your concern to the responsible department in order to make investigations.

Good to hear that you enjoyed the central location of our hotel. We would be very happy to welcome you in the Holiday Inn Munich – City Centre again!

Best regards,
Franka Henke
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
131 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Stayed over for three nights for the Christmas markets. Upon our late arrival, our room had a small issue which despite the late hour was attended to within two minutes of request. A later minor issue was dealt with in the same manner. Impressive. All front desk personal were friendly and efficient but both Vanessas deserve special mention. The bar staff were also good but a little obvious in trying to obtain tips. The staff in the breakfast area were again, friendly and efficient and cleared quickly . However, though plenty of choice, being a buffet breakfast not everything is over hot although things are replenished quickly. If you can get a deal on breakfast [approx. 11 euro] take it ,otherwise look elsewhere. Our room on the 11th Floor was excellent with both bath and shower with good views over the City. Having stayed here once before in Feb I think the hotel has raised its game, with the service being outstanding.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank klammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RituAgni, Guest Relations at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Klammer,
Thank you for your encouraging words for all our team members. I will certainly share your love with both Vanessas. It is our pleasure to be at your service and to make you feel home away from home.
Thank you once again for your further recommendation. I look forward to welcoming you with greater enthusiasm in the days to come.
Wishing you and your family a happy holiday season ahead.
Best regards
Ritu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glos
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

This is a good hotel in all respects except it doesn't have a gym. I visit hotels all over Europe and vast majority have some kind of fitness suite. Not here. A hotel of this size should address this matter.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlosAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RituAgni, Guest Relations at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear GlosAndy,
Thank you for your candid feedback. Unfortunately we do not have our own fitness center but we do have now the sling trainer available at the reception. Please ask our friendly reception next time you visit us. Alternatively we have an agreement with the fitness studio in the same building. It is 2 minutes walk from the hotel lobby. It is located in the shopping center adjacent to the hotel. The guest enjoy reduced entry when they show the room key.
Thank you once again for staying with us. I look forward to welcoming you with enhanced service standards in the days to come.
Best regards
Ritu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

hotel is very nice and fairly central to central munich...just a couple of stops on the underground. The hotel is very easy to get to from the airport , go down the steps at the airport to the s-bahn and buy a ticket to Rosenheimerplatz..train takes about 20 minutes...do not leave the platform at Rosenheimerplatz until you find the big sign showing the way to the Holiday Inn / Ibis hotel...you may well get lost if you exit from the wrong side of the platform . The correct way is through an underground shopping centre...this takes you straight to the entrance door for the hotel. We didn't eat at the hotel as it seemed a bit expensive and we also enjoy eating out. If visiting in the summer the English Gardens was a good visit...beer garden and oompah band , if with children take swimming costumes...fairly rapid flowing man made rivers with sandy bottoms and areas for kids to jump in and get out ok...safe . Hoffbrau House breakfast and beer....lunch and beer..worth a visit...really nice place

Room Tip: we were given a large room , we didn't ask for it. See photos some show this particular larger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arniebudgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Munich City
Novotel Munich City
#54 of 383 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,513 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Munich City
Hilton Munich City
#78 of 383 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,591 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Novotel Munchen City Arnulfpark
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Munich City Center
1.5 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre
Address: Hochstrasse 3, 81669 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#56 Business Hotel in Munich
#57 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#57 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre! Just over a quarter mile from the Deutsches Museum, this hotel in Munich offers comfortable rooms. The S-Bahn Station 'Rosenheimer Platz'is only 55 yards away, just 2 stops from the 'Marienplatz'.Located in a shopping complex, the Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre has air-conditioned rooms with comfortable beds, pillow menu, a spacious desk, free Internet, satellite TV, minibar and and tea/coffee facilities. Please be aware that we are a non-Smoking Hotel! Bavarian and international specialties are served in Restaurant Grat³. Snacks and cocktails are available in the newly renovated open lobby. The front desk is open 24 hours a day. Computers in the business Center in the lobby provide free internet access.Covered parking spaces are available in the public garage in the same building complex(against extra charge. The Munich Central Station can be reached in 10 minutes by S-Bahn, Munich's Airport (Josef-Strauss Airport)in less than 40 minutes. Important Information: Our pool is closed until further notice! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, IHG, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre Hotel Munich
Munich Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing