We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre
Ranked #74 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed 22 January 2014

The Hilton city center is located in a very convient location. The metro station is just below the hotel and is only two stops from the city center. I would definitely stay here again whenever I m in Munich.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chi l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,757)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,015 - 1,021 of 2,757 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2014

This Holiday Inn is perfect. We stayed 5 nights celebrating r 30th wedding anniversary. It's just a short walk thru the underground from SBahn stop Roseheimer Platz (buy a train ticket before u get on train) or just two stops from the hotel to Marien Platz the town center or continue on to the main train station. R reserved superior room (changed from 830 to 1124 - better view) was super clean, bed comfy, mini fridge, tea kettle, ironing board, hair dryer, and flat screen TV. Bathroom amenities r sparse and r not replaced unless u ask. However in most European hotels u will find a soap/shampoo dispenser in the shower stall for body and hair so if u need hair conditioner bring it. Also at this property a sewing kit will cost u 2.00 euros. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The breakfast buffet was excellent and included in r rate. U can also order fried eggs or omelette. If u don't want to pay for the BB u will not be disappointed with the bakeries, grocery stores or Subway located in the underground. Would recommend this holiday to family and friends. Recommend taking the Hop-on-hop off Grand circle tour bus - cost 20.00 euros. Pay the driver directly - choose either the 6 or 10 stop site seeing. Also recommend the Third Reich walking tour. Pick up local guides in town center at Marien Platz. Pay guide directly. Also recommend visiting Dachau Memorial. Take a guided tour from Marien Platz or take the SBahn towards Petershausan, get off at the Dachau stop, then take local bus #726 to concentration camp. No entrance fee. Plan on 3-4 hrs. Closes at 5:00. Tours r given at the camp at 11:00 AM and 1:00 pm. Same bus back to train station. Don't forget to check if u vacation dates fall on a European holiday and if the sites/places u want to visit r open for the season. Stores will be closed on holidays - museums will be opened till 5:00 pm - most charge a fee and r closed on Monday. Munich is a fun town a lot to see and the beer is fabulous.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Traveler2012asia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RituAgni, Guest Relations at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Dear Traveler2012asia,
Thank you for your valuable feedback with useful tips for our future guests. It is our pleasure to host you. Thank you once again for staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you with greater enthusiasm in the days to come.
Best regards
Ritu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Our first experience at this hotel. We found the staff very helpful. They took time to explain all the ins and outs of the hotel and all about the underground etc. From the hotel you simply go through some doors and you are in a small shopping mall. If you walk down the mall you will arrive at the underground. The trains are a bit tricky - stations etc but we found a very helpful person who explained train directions to us and we were on our way. When we arrived we weren't sure which meal we were up to and asked if we could share. The staff were happy to accommodate this and we were given our food on our own plates (half portions each) but each plate was still presented in a lovely way. The room - twin - was small but clean. We didn't eat breakfast because you have to pay the full price for the full buffet and we only wanted a bowl of cereal but we can't complain because everything else was great. As we only had an overnight stopover before catching a train, I can't comment on the proximity to sights etc but with the underground so close I think this hotel is good value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RituAgni, Guest Relations at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear Jenrk,
Thank you for your kind words for our team members. It is our pleasure to provide all our guests with the quality service and comfortable accomodation.
Thank you once again for staying with us. I look forward to welcoming you once again with greater enthusiasm in the days to come.
Best regards
Ritu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

The location of the hotel is great as it is right above the underground station and a small shopping mall. As we flew in from Tanzania, this was so convenient as we could pick up boots and warm clothes from there. There was quite few lovely restaurants a short walk from the hotel. The front office staff were great. We reached the hotel at 9am and they kindly gave us our rooms even though check-in is at 3pm. Really appreciated this considering we were traveling with 2 young kids. Our rail passes were delivered to the hotel a few days before we reached-very helpful. We booked a family room which was basically 2 interconnecting double rooms- the rooms were small but comfortable and clean. Breakfast was decent, can't complain.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank urvi_devani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RituAgni, Guest Relations at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear Urvi_devani,
Thank you for your full points for our location, staff and service. I am pleased to read that you had a comfortable stay. It is our pleasure to be your host and we appreciate your positive comments and valued business.
Thank you once again for staying with us and for recommending us further. Look forward to welcoming you with greater enthusiasm in the days to come.
Best regards
Ritu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

The staff at the Holiday Inn were very helpful and understanding when we needed assistance finding a doctor. A day into the stay, a cyst appeared on my shoulder which had to be drained immediately as it was putting too much pressure on the nerves in my arm. The hotel very quickly gave us a list of doctors from their directory which was in the vicinity of the hotel. After no luck with the first batch of numbers, the hotel rang around for us until they could get me into a doctor, which was only a block away. Both efficient and understanding of the situation, the hotel has definitely earned many many stars from me.

As an added bonus, it is connected underground to the U-Bahn (two stops from the City centre) with Aldi conveniently next door for any needs. The rooms are much more spacious than the standard European size with tea and coffee making facilities and a bath (wonderful for someone who can't get their shoulder wet because of a trip to the doctor!)

I definitely recommend this hotel for a stay in Munich

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Cass F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RituAgni, Guest Relations at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Cass F,
Thank you for taking time and leaving us your encouraging words. It is our sincere effort to make all our guests feel home away from home and therefore we strive to take good care of you. I am pleased to read that you feel better now.
Thank you once again for staying with us. I undersatnd it was a rough start in the new year however I wish you and your loved ones happiness and health in the days to come on behalf of entire Holiday Inn team. Look forward to wlecoming you with greater enthusiasm next time you visit us.
Warm regards
Ritu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Well located above the metro, getting to the hotel was a breeze with the metro directly from the airport.

Facilities well maintained. Enjoyed a warm swim in the middle of a German winter.

Clean and relatively spacious rooms . Good value for money.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank loicbellet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RituAgni, Guest Relations at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Loicbellet,
Thank you for your lovely feedback. It is our pleasure to provide you with the quality service and comfortable accomodation. S8 coming from the airport comes staright to the Rosenheimer Platz, teh stop for the hotel, and like you said is certainly very convenient.
Thank you once again for choosing us and for recommending us further. I look forward to welcoming you with added enthusiasm in the days to come. On behalf of our entire team, I wish you a very happy and prosperous new year.
Best regards
Ritu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Yeah, this is Munich! For 90 euro you can stay in Intercontinental Berlin, but have to pay 140 for Holiday Inn Munich. Btw, good 3-starred hotel with very good overcrowded breakfast within 15 minutes away from historical part of the city. I love their rooms, not so loud, quite spacious. Can recommend as a base for visiting the stunning city!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexzhdanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RituAgni, Guest Relations at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Alexzhdanov,
Thank you for your most valuable feedback. I am pleased to read that you liked the rooms, the central location and enjoyed our breakfast buffet. I believe that with execuitve floor you probably mean our high floor city view rooms. These rooms certainly provide a marvellous view of the city and include the internet access too. Please feel free to ask one of our friendly reservation agent when you need to reserve a room next time you visit Munich.
Thank you for staying with us. I wish you and your family a happy start of the new year and look forwrad to welcoming you once again very soon.
Warm regards
Ritu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Munich City
Novotel Munich City
#50 of 385 in Munich
2,681 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Munich City
Hilton Munich City
#79 of 385 in Munich
2,700 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich - Westpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
0.7 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#14 of 385 in Munich
2,033 reviews
1.5 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#7 of 385 in Munich
1,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre

Address: Hochstrasse 3, 81669 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#56 Business Hotel in Munich
#57 Family Hotel in Munich
#57 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £52 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre! Just over a quarter mile from the Deutsches Museum, this hotel in Munich offers comfortable rooms. The S-Bahn Station 'Rosenheimer Platz'is only 55 yards away, just 2 stops from the 'Marienplatz'.Located in a shopping complex, the Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre has air-conditioned rooms with comfortable beds, pillow menu, a spacious desk, free Internet, satellite TV, minibar and and tea/coffee facilities. Please be aware that we are a non-Smoking Hotel! Bavarian and international specialties are served in Restaurant Grat³. Snacks and cocktails are available in the newly renovated open lobby. The front desk is open 24 hours a day. Computers in the business Center in the lobby provide free internet access.Covered parking spaces are available in the public garage in the same building complex(against extra charge. The Munich Central Station can be reached in 10 minutes by S-Bahn, Munich's Airport (Josef-Strauss Airport)in less than 40 minutes. Important Information: Our pool is closed until further notice! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Odigeo, IHG, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre Hotel Munich
Munich Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing